English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 27 June 2016, 20:50   #1
CHRIS-F

PC Joypad mod/hack for Amiga

Hi Guys,

I recently found an old pc gamepad in the loft and an old Atari compatible joystick wire, so I decided to make a gamepad for the Amiga, I have seen devices that let you use psx pads but I already had the bits and wanted a little challenge, so I thought I would share my experience in the hopes that I might inspire others to have a go. I'm no electronics expert, but the finished pad works well.

From what I could work out the Amiga joystick port just grounds each wire for up/down/left/right/fire, so first thing I needed to do was remove all the unnecessary components (Ic, diodes, caps, resistors etc) next step was to find the ground wire on the joystick wire (just searched for Atari compatible pinout), next because of removing the components some continuity was lost between the common ground on all the button/direction pads, so a few wire jumpers were needed, then I decided to map buttons A+B to up on the D-pad because some games are awkward when walking/running to press up so I added a jumper wire to connect up to A+B buttons I did the same for the fire buttons and the shoulder buttons, then I just carefully removed the old collet from the pc joy pad cable and slid the thinner diameter cable through it, tying a not in the cable so it wouldn't pull out, I also decided to leave the old wiring plug in place and just solder and heat shrink the new wires to the old. and lastly I checked for continuity before plugging into the Amiga.

A couple of things I could have done but didn't was,

1. I left out the auto fire option. (not really needed games like project x have an auto fire option anyway if you hold fire).

2. I left out the option to have a 3rd button, some games require a mouse click to start etc, I could have found an old mouse cable which has extra wires in but didn't have one to hand so just left it out.