English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2006, 11:36   #1
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
REQ: Broken Cyberstorm MKIII / PPC

If there is anyone out there that has any broken Cyberstorm MKIII(s) or PPC(s) I am making a request for some.

I work for a semiconductor company (Oxford semiconductor) http://www.oxsemi.com and we recently got some new SMD equipment that could be used for repairing these boards.

I am on the lookout for some (more) broken boards, preferably with some form of diagnosis (but not essential).

I'd be interested in either buying them or borrowing them.

Worse case you get back the board in the same non working condition you sent it.

Best case you get some money for your old board or a working board back.

The only servicable part on the board is the 060 which you can keep (I've got loads here).

This is really only for people who have already looked into repairs before and either had their part returned or decided that it wasnt worth it.

If I can develop the skill in diagnosing problems, sometime in the future I may offer a scheme to repair them commercially.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2006, 11:43   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice one Alexh! I wish u the best of luck!
keropi is offline  
Old 25 July 2006, 11:46   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
Please note this is for 100% DEAD boards. If yours is working but the SCSI doesnt work, I cannot help (just now) as I dont have any spare SCSI chips.

The idea is to perfect the diagnosis and repair skills for these two boards. Work out how long it takes (on average) per board. That way I can work out how much I would have to charge.

I am only interested in Cyberstorm MKIII and PPC. It would take me too long to learn all the aspects of all the different problems of all the different accelerators. These were the best two "CPU SLOT" accelerators and the most susceptible to damage.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2006, 17:29   #4
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 37
Posts: 831
U think u'll be able to do upgrades at some point in the future?
(i.e. putting an 060 on a blizzard ppc 040) since if I remember right, after u change the CPU over you just have to set something to use the other voltage...
BinoX is offline  
Old 30 July 2006, 22:31   #5
multivac
 
Posts: n/a
Hope the project goes well and you can offer repair solutions.

Have you thought about offering repairs for A1200 and A4000 motherboards?
 
Old 30 July 2006, 22:37   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
hey alexh, if the scsi is broken , and someone provides another card that has the same chip, can you do a "transplant" ?
keropi is offline  
Old 31 July 2006, 00:24   #7
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 54
Posts: 598
Or just source LSI 5C770 chips and send him one with the chip...
alewis is offline  
Old 31 July 2006, 01:05   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinoX
U think u'll be able to do upgrades at some point in the future?
(i.e. putting an 060 on a blizzard ppc 040) since if I remember right, after u change the CPU over you just have to set something to use the other voltage...
Not interested in 1200 stuff as I dont have one.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 July 2006, 01:06   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
hey alexh, if the scsi is broken , and someone provides another card that has the same chip, can you do a "transplant" ?
Possibly. It really depends on a supply of chips and the time it takes to solder such a large QFP and demand. I wouldnt do "just one".
alexh is offline  
Old 31 July 2006, 10:24   #10
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 432
Hi Alex,

I have a defective CSPPC604e/233 from DCE and I`m very interested to repair this card. The PPC is unstable. The WarpOS-system crashes very often and after this I can`t reboot the system with amistart-Taskbar, which indicates a problem with the ppc normally. I haven`t the equipement and knowledge to find the failure and to repair the card. Maybe you can help. I`m very often in oxford. My next business-trip from germany is in 3 weeks. Maybe we can organize a meeting and I bring the defective hardware with me?

CU

nujack
nujack is offline  
Old 31 July 2006, 19:49   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,656
You board is (unfortunately) not dead enough.

You want to send it to AmigaCenter France. http://www.amigacenter.com/Homer.html
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cyberstorm PPC hardware mod: 060@72MHz/PPC@396MHz stachu100 Hardware mods 7 30 April 2010 15:26
Cyberstorm MkIII overheating logic chip whaka support.Hardware 4 26 April 2010 14:48
FS: Cyberstorm MKIII 060 webmany MarketPlace 0 28 August 2009 13:26
? How much would you pay for a Cyberstorm MKIII ? lopos2000 MarketPlace 20 21 September 2008 09:55
Cyberstorm MkIII problem BinoX support.Hardware 4 30 September 2005 11:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10723 seconds with 15 queries