English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2006, 08:43   #1
Jinxed
 
Posts: n/a
Elvira 2 winuae startup problem

I've searched the net for answers but came up short. It was either freezing or crashing on startup, so I started searching everywhere for a solution. The best I could do is find a configuration file on this forum for an outdated version of winuae that works.

Alas, the sound using this winuae config is not 100% faithful. I tried to reproduce these settings into the new version of winuae but once successful, it turned out that the problem is the same. It seems to skip certain instruments, making the music lacking.

How do I know this? Well, I've got the mod files to listen to, and I also managed to make this game work once on 1.2.0 perfectly, but I have no idea how.

I beg for mercy on my soul. If anyone has any idea how to make this game run with proper sound please share this information.
 
Old 12 May 2006, 20:16   #2
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,449
I think your adf image is messed up. I tried few versions and they all worked. Use a quickstart A500 config.

Not too sure about the sound part.
demoniac is offline  
Old 12 May 2006, 22:00   #3
quahappy
Born again WinUAE user

quahappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,667
I had problems with sound and music on Cannon Fodder and one other, which for the life of me, can't remember what! Sound effects and music were about half second to a second behind, in other words out of sync.

I managed to sort it by changing the Frequency settings to 48000 and switched Stereo mode to 4 channels, within WinUAE Sound tab.

Nothing like fiddling around to get the results ya want!

Hope this works for you

If not, maybe demoniac could upload Elvira 2 to The Zone?
quahappy is offline  
Old 13 May 2006, 02:56   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,830
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
actually try to play with the audio settings !!! it will solves your problems ^^.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 May 2006, 03:47   #5
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,449
There are 7 variations of English Disk 1 readily available on the web (see FAQ). I imagine at least one of them will work.

On a slightly different note regarding this game. It seems that the commonly found Skid Row docs http://www.skepticfiles.org/cowtext/...~1/elvira2.htm is missing the introduction before the "don't pick your nose" header. I found the French docs containing it at http://atariforce.free.fr/st/docs/elvira2.zip . Can anyone confirm if this exists in the actual English manual? Thanks.
demoniac is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hired Guns & Elvira/Elvira II/Waxworks Kada project.Sprites 20 25 September 2013 23:07
Elvira the Arcade in WinUAE angelshade00 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 April 2013 16:54
How2Code7 Startup problem Blip Coders. General 2 18 July 2007 11:10
Elvira Arcade in WinUAE Muzkat support.Games 3 08 January 2004 03:35
Elvira - problem disk 4 thedude support.Games 2 28 December 2001 12:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10952 seconds with 13 queries