English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2006, 14:49   #1
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 52
Posts: 510
REQ: Squirrel PCMCIA SCSI manual

Hi all,

does anyone possibly have a scan of the Squirrel PCMCIA SCSI card manual (in English)? I've got the v2.04 software, but it's not recognising my SCSI CDROM, so I want to double check with the manual if I've configured everything correctly or not.

quick summary:
I'm attempting to get an external SCSI CDROM working with my 3.0 KS A1200, using a Squirrel PCMCIA SCSI interface (actually a Power Computing SCSI CDROM 'set' which uses a rebranded Squirrel PCMCIA card).

While installing it with the supplied floppy disc, the installer gets to the stage where it finds my cd drive under the squirrelscsi.device and then says a reboot is required to finish. On reboot I edit my CDO: tooltypes to:

DEVICE=squirrelscsi.device
UNIT=5
FILESYSTEM=L:CDFileSystem

(the CDROM is jumpered as SCSI unit 5)

Still no CD0 icon on the desktop although when I double click the mountfile icon in devs: it says CD0: is already mounted. In the supplied SCSImounter program the drive appears in unit 5 as "not ready" but when selected and mount is clicked it says "device is not of required type."

There is a readable CD in the drive, I've tried powering on with the PCMCIA installed as well as plugging it in later - both with no success.

CDFileSystem is in the DH0:L drive


Any suggestions most appreciated.

Regards,
Gizmomelb
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 13 January 2006, 18:17   #2
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
you can try some scsi tools from aminet, there are some for testing communication with device.
(fun playing with motor off, eject etc
Chain is offline  
Old 13 January 2006, 23:08   #3
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 1,417
I have the manual, might scan it at work next week on the photocopier...

However in Appendix A there is this: "For SCSI devices attached to your Squirrel SCSI interface most mount files will have at least DEVICE=squirrelscsi.device and UNIT=<SCSI-ID> (with the specific exception of your first CD drive on anA1200 which will use cd.device and UNIT=0)

I've just checked the tooltypes on my CD0: and there are:

ACTIVATE=1
DEVICE=cd.device
UNIT=0
FLAGS=1

For the record I have an NEC 6X external drive which is set to SCSI id 6

hope this helps...
Galaxy is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 07:42   #4
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 1,417
The manual has been scanned and is now available in the Zone.

BTW: shouldn't this thread be in prb.hardware?
Galaxy is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 12:16   #5
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 52
Posts: 510
Thanks for helping Galaxy - I spent most of Sunday trying to get the sodding thing working and I'm now starting to think the SCSI CDROM itself is faulty (not recognising/reading discs). I'm hoping to see a mate tomorrow night, who has a SCSI CDROM I might be able to borrow so I can test out the Squirrel interface with it. I tried the Squirrel with an external SCSI HDD I have and it recognised/mounted it.. so I think my problem is hardware related. Will let you know.
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 17 January 2006, 12:23   #6
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
@gizmomelb
Did you check the termination of the CDRom drive? I had a problem with it. I had to change it to passiv IFAIR.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 20 January 2006, 05:07   #7
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 52
Posts: 510
lopos - I was wondering about termination, as there isn't one on the back of the CDROM - however I read a review of the Power Computing CD-ROM (which is what I have, which uses a re-branded Squirrel PCMCIA SCSI interface) and it said the drive was terminated inside the case.

How would I check please? also how do I passiv terminate it?

thanks,
Gizmomelb
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 20 January 2006, 09:23   #8
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I have DIP switches on my AIWACD-Rom case. It's says TERM on/off , Parity, Test and Auto. All are in the OFF position. On my other external CD-Rom ,which is a LACIE one, it has a switch at the back with TERM on/off. It's in the off position and it is working. But one of my external CD-Rom case the DIP sitch connector was not connected to the Drive itself so it wasn't working. Maybe that was happened to your drive.

Last edited by lopos2000; 20 January 2006 at 09:39.
lopos2000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The scsi interface metc vs squirrel scsi conflict rampartsagain support.Hardware 29 24 June 2012 17:50
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 12:13
Squirrel SCSI Manual rave request.Other 8 16 March 2007 13:30
Squirrel SCSI PCMCIA Card tjvy MarketPlace 0 19 March 2006 21:37
Squirrel SCSI PCMCIA BinoX support.Hardware 7 20 December 2004 01:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10384 seconds with 13 queries