English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2003, 22:31   #1
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 46
Posts: 431
Free to a good home (A500 Hard Drive)

Does anybody want to rescue this? Essentially it's a sidecar hard drive for the A500. It's a 40Mb SCSI drive in a seriously tough metal box. This is NOT a Commodore unit.

Please see this thread for more information, including the realisation that we don't have the drivers for it!

When powered up the drive spins up and appears to initialise (you can hear the heads moving around). But sadly it didn't come with any driver disks so I've never been able to get it working. There's a chance it doesn't work at all.

I live in Wigan, Lancashire. Due to weight posting is going to be an issue so you'll need to pick it up or I can prob. meet you within a 15 mile radius.

The chances of getting this thing working are slim, but I know how some people hate to see things like this thrown away so thought I'd see if anyone has a use for it
Parsec is offline  
Old 01 January 2004, 18:54   #2
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,589
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Any Takers on this m8?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 01 January 2004, 21:40   #3
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 46
Posts: 431
Fraid not, it went to the skip with the Christmas rubbish after being sat around for a couple of weeks

It's bad to throw away Amiga hardware which is why I offered to give it away before it met it's doom. But it seems like a totally obsolete unit without drivers...
Parsec is offline  
Old 02 January 2004, 03:24   #4
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,589
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
DAM I havent been using the forums recently so i didnt see it!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 02 January 2004, 13:14   #5
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,141
Antiriad is offline  
Old 02 January 2004, 13:24   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763


You should have warned us with a going, going, gone!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 January 2004, 15:34   #7
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
If he was in the USA he wouldnt have had to warn anybody because I would have snagged it.

Finding a HD for my A500 that doesnt cost an arm and a leg here in the US isnt easy.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 03 January 2004, 01:21   #8
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 46
Posts: 431
Quote:
You should have warned us with a going, going, gone!
that was the purpose of the post

Seriously though, I tried to get this working before I got my 1200, depsite all the expert help from the forum we got nowhere with it back in March. It wouldn't function as a generic drive using Commodore drivers etc. and the original drivers are nowhere to be found.

But it's sods law timing to get a reply after two weeks, the day after I took it to the tip. Sorry fellas.
Parsec is offline  
Old 03 January 2004, 14:16   #9
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,589
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
No worrys m8! thats life i suppose lol

seems strange how the drivers for this thing are so hard to get tho? i wonder how many of these hard drive units were sold....
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 03 January 2004, 20:44   #10
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 46
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally posted by ElectroBlaster
No worrys m8! thats life i suppose lol

seems strange how the drivers for this thing are so hard to get tho? i wonder how many of these hard drive units were sold....
Not very many at all. The serial number on the unit was very low, can't remember exactly but it was definitely in the low hundreds
Parsec is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free to good home alewis MarketPlace 8 19 September 2012 00:01
free to a good home - 512kB ram expansion for A500 Paul_s MarketPlace 6 12 October 2010 23:02
Free to a good home Travis MarketPlace 2 20 February 2009 20:15
Free to a Good Home Arnie MarketPlace 7 07 January 2007 01:32
Free to a good home in the UK DeCreator MarketPlace 5 08 August 2003 00:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09164 seconds with 15 queries