English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2018, 19:46   #1
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Opticks-3D Program

Opticks is an old 3D package. there are two version, the link goes to the older 1.0.
in the zone is an updated version (no new version string):
Opticks2-3D.package.BS1.zip

I'm not able to start some parts of this program - "Build Your World".
tested different setups WB/Kick 1.2/1.3/3.0 OCS/ECS - nothing.

I only get a "flash" after click on "build your world".
with the 2nd version (the one in the zone) I cannot even start the "Generate Image ..." part.
snoopdos did not help here.

you can boot the disks, no need to install.
with the version in the zone, use df0 and df1.

in the main window, click on "Working Scene Name" and load a scene file,
done so, click on "Build your world ..." or "Generate Image ...".

2nd image shows the quad view of the Build part.
if you see this, tell me how you did that

can anyone try to make it work?

#1) It does work on my WB/Kick 3.1 VideoToaster setup.
(030/882 AGA 8 MB Chip 128M Z3 Fast)

#2) the real troublemaker is the PAL mode, it does work only in NTSC. now it does run on WB/Kick 1.3 too.
I should set this as default for the emulator.

#3) example scene rendered in 1280x720 - 24 bit tga. downsized and color reduced.
not so bad, i think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	opticks.png
Views:	138
Size:	8.3 KB
ID:	56953   Click image for larger version

Name:	opticks3.png
Views:	119
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	56974   Click image for larger version

Name:	Room.png
Views:	122
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	56976  

Last edited by emufan; 23 February 2018 at 22:04.
emufan is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 19:50   #2
Nautilus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Hi emufan, I'm glad to see you got it going! Nice job editing a camera and rendering to TGA.

About PAL, IIRC that is dependent on the hardware (or emulator settings?) to use HAM display, and possibly need to make a camera to suit. I wasn't able to test PAL originally.

>2nd image shows the quad view of the Build part.
>if you see this, tell me how you did that


What were you wondering about? Orthogonal views of the scene and a bunch of gadgets.
Nautilus is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 21:20   #3
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,727
Could someone rezone this app please?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 21:48   #4
Nautilus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Could someone rezone this app please?

Not sure what that means ... re-upload? I'm working on an updated copy (not much changes but I'm working on a simplified startup, see my post in support.Others about that).
Nautilus is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 03:23   #5
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,727
Yes, reupload pretty please.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 07:21   #6
Nautilus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
I'm trying to sort out a few things before posting.

I'm having trouble getting the prompt command to display %S (as posted in support.Other "Help with Startup files"). Something simple is holding me up.

Naming the .adf's and .zip file - is there a convention for this? I was hoping to see how others are named by looking in The Zone!. I get the message "...you do not have permission...". I think that's the place you're talking about, and you can help me with that.

Thanks!
Nautilus is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 05:39   #7
Nautilus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Yes, reupload pretty please.
AH! I figured out how to join The Zone. It looks like files only last 60 days there?

Still wondering if there's any naming convention for the .adf and .zip files for apps.
Nautilus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What program is this? Leffmann support.Apps 4 14 November 2015 17:24
External windows program communicating with program running inside WinUAE xxxxx support.WinUAE 10 19 February 2013 09:27
Paint program or program....... amigagenie request.Apps 2 29 January 2013 19:56
For a beginner what Program and Program language would you recommend? amigang New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 27 March 2012 13:06
Calling another program from a compiled Amos program...? andyr support.Apps 3 24 October 2004 23:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08650 seconds with 16 queries