English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 02 March 2014, 11:31   #1
Wonderer

How do you package your Amiga boxes for posting?

Probably sounds like a silly question but I have LOTS of Amiga games and software for sale ( I have a job lot in the classifieds) and am contemplating selling individual titles. I have never posted games before and am aware that the boxes etc are usually more valuable than the game itself so can anyone let me know how they go about packaging and sending their games in the UK? What postal service etc?

Im a complete novice regarding these things as I only joined the forum to part ways with my fathers old Amiga collection.

Thank you all in advance

Old 02 March 2014, 13:42   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!

Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
For single Games if they are a strong and rigid box I wrap them in bubble wrap and then thick brown paper, the package is then protected from any shock damage. Anything under 1kg will go as 'small parcel' with Royal Mail which is £2.60 second class or £3 first class + £1.10 if you want it signed for at the other end.

For soft boxes/cartons you need to find a small box or wrap them secure in card, it can be a bit of a pain to be honest and no one likes to pay extra for a box on top of the postage price for single item (unless it's particularly rare/expensive)

I recently sold off half my games collection and I sold them mainly in sets of 5-10 games until all the best titles were cleared and then the last lot of 75 games as a job lot for £3 each.

It's easier selling in bundles as you can use a nice strong box and pack them all up safe, I wrap each individually in bubble wrap and pack them tight in the box so they don't move around in transit and also some packing material inside each of the game boxes so the contents don't move around.