English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2017, 13:49   #1
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 654
64 Door & ColorTerm 2.2

Guys, I'm looking for these two apps:

1. 64 Door
2. ColorTerm 2.2

These are terminals that can emulate C64 PetSCII. Anyone? Anything?
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 15:22   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
64Door:
Amiga Library Disk #0937 (1993)(Fred Fish)(PD)[WB].zip
ColorTerm 2.1:
Topik - Disk 07 - Communications (19xx)(Topik Public Domain)(PD)[WB].zip

on the ftp - maybe use an ftp client, since fish link does not work using webbrowser
emufan is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 17:24   #3
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
64Door:
Amiga Library Disk #0937 (1993)(Fred Fish)(PD)[WB].zip
ColorTerm 2.1:
Topik - Disk 07 - Communications (19xx)(Topik Public Domain)(PD)[WB].zip

on the ftp - maybe use an ftp client, since fish link does not work using webbrowser
Thank you. I've just found another source of these apps.
https://amigalove.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=188
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 17:30   #4
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
Cool.
Is there a way to access C64 BBSes that run on IP addresses nowadays, using either of these?
Akira is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 21:52   #5
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
Thank you. I've just found another source of these apps.
https://amigalove.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=188
thanks too for the link.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Cool.
Is there a way to access C64 BBSes that run on IP addresses nowadays, using either of these?
here is a guide on Amigalove, using TCPSER - A Hayes modem emulator for PC.
emufan is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 22:04   #6
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
I was reading up on that WiFi modem too, I want one! In the meantime, your link helps a lot, thanks!
Akira is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 22:23   #7
jdryyz
Registered User

jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 123
Anyone find a way to get 64Door working in something newer than Workbench 1.3??
jdryyz is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 01:30   #8
intric8
AmigaLover

intric8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 75
@jdryyz

If you are running something higher than 1.3, you have to load 64Door off the floppy. It has some sort of magic that loads 1.3 libs or something. You can run it off an A1200 on 3.1, but only off the floppy drive on boot.

What's cool about it - if you run 1.3 - is you can even install it to the HDD. As such, I wound up creating a custom tool icon for it, so I don't have to look at the wrench.

Good times. 64Door is awesome. And if you're hitting BBSes that are hosted on C64s - essential IMO. It looks great in 80 col mode, too, if that BBS supports it (like off a 128).

intric8 is offline  
Old 29 December 2020, 23:56   #9
rsquared
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Vista, CA USA
Posts: 2
would love to use 64Door, but...

Anyone know how 64Door works internally? I just returned to the Amiga after a couple decades (found a dead A2000 in the classifieds and resurrected it) and 64Door is one term I can't get to work. It seems to start OK but if I hit any key, it sends that single char 14 times at 2400 baud then seems to hang. It also leaves the DF1: LED for some reason after loading from it. It doesn't actually hang because it can still receive chars from the remote system and displays them on the screen. If it hit HELP first instead of a random key it goes to the config menu and hangs there. I suspected an even-CIA problem but both CIAs seem fine and A-Talk, Color Term, JR Comm all work. Tried PAL, NTSC, 3 different kickstarts. I'd like to look at the source code if it exists to try to determine if this is a hardware problem (e.g. timers, interrupts)...too many other retro project right now to reverse engineer the executable

North American A2000 rev 4.1, 8372A, 1MB chipram and nothing else
rsquared is offline  
Old 06 January 2021, 22:40   #10
kamelito
Zone Friend

kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,427
What is the problem when using it with an OS greater than 1.3?
I’ve looked at the code and it is using the system just to allocmem/freemem and for saving the WB copperlist then it bang the HW.
kamelito is offline  
Old 10 September 2021, 03:50   #11
rsquared
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Vista, CA USA
Posts: 2
64Door problem solved (A2000 with Cherry G80 keyboard)

After almost a year I decided to look into why 64Door wouldn't run on my A2000, locking up after any keypress. I couldn't find anyone else with the same problem, but it's because I have that rarer early keyboard with the Cherry switches. 64Door doesn't really handshake with the keyboard well, it simply does this to send the pulse which acknowledges the receipt of a keypress
Code:
moveb  #-16,0x00bfec01    ;output byte to serial data register
bset   #6,0x00bfee01      ;CR-A, set port direction to output
nop
nop
nop
nop
bclr   #6,0x00bfee01     ;CR-A, set port direction to input
On a stock A2000, those 4 NOPs result in an effective wait or pulsewidth that I think was around 9us on my oscope--not enough for the early keyboard rev to recognize (the HW ref manual says > 80-something microseconds needed for compatibility with "all keyboard models" IIRC). Because the keyboard never sees an acknowledgement, the keyboard controller just loops for ever trying to resync communication by repeatedly clocking out a single bit "1" and 64 Door has no code to handle that either. The controllers in the later revs I think can see pulses down to 8us or less.

Luckily the fix is simple because there is just enough space taken up by the NOPs to patch in a delay loop. I went in and edited the file on disk, replacing those 4 NOPs with a little loop of around 64*10 cycles (move.w #64, d0 / dbf d0, -2) and now it all works just fine. So if you have the same problem, maybe this fix will work for you.
rsquared is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BBSs and Door Games Belgarath Retrogaming General Discussion 30 26 June 2015 23:26
Trap door & expansion cover Solid Snake request.Other 0 30 August 2014 16:16
ColorTerm 2.2 hessie request.Apps 6 23 March 2013 09:52
Wanted: A4KT Door desantii MarketPlace 2 04 August 2010 16:44
The Door's Demo? Jimbo Retrogaming General Discussion 3 30 October 2006 11:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08477 seconds with 15 queries