English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 October 2014, 21:30   #1
dirk_the_daring
Registered User

dirk_the_daring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alicante / Spain
Posts: 138
CD32 troubles streaming data

Hi,
I found a forgotten CD32 some days ago in my old room... The console seems to work only with original and "good" burnt CDs (but I'm quite sure before work also with low quality one, as I have tons of copies that remember work before). Anyway I have notice that although a CD loads, if a CDXL stream (Tower Assault intro, Pirates intron) is playing the console seems is not fast enough on reading (also Microcosm seems can't read data so fast), the videos get frozen, noise, heavy glitches... I've tried to adjust lens, but not good results for now, anyway there is not much info what exact position is the best for the 4 potentiometers in the guide at http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/Pa...32_Info/index/ , I mean I can get the drive working ok with an audio CD but still I got the same problem after adjust... So maybe is another kind of problem. Any ideas?
dirk_the_daring is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 11:38   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,895
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk_the_daring View Post
Hi,
I found a forgotten CD32 some days ago in my old room... The console seems to work only with original and "good" burnt CDs (but I'm quite sure before work also with low quality one, as I have tons of copies that remember work before). Anyway I have notice that although a CD loads, if a CDXL stream (Tower Assault intro, Pirates intron) is playing the console seems is not fast enough on reading (also Microcosm seems can't read data so fast), the videos get frozen, noise, heavy glitches... I've tried to adjust lens, but not good results for now, anyway there is not much info what exact position is the best for the 4 potentiometers in the guide at http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/Pa...32_Info/index/ , I mean I can get the drive working ok with an audio CD but still I got the same problem after adjust... So maybe is another kind of problem. Any ideas?
You do not need to follow that guide, it could screw your machine up completely if you do not know what your doing.
Are the discs scrtached / marked, as this can cause streaming problems like you described.

Also, dust built up on the lens. First thing to do, is clean lens. Have you checked the two through hole caps, that on some machines were inserted the wrong way. These can cause issues as they allow AC ripple on the DC for 12v and video circuit if I recall.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 17:53   #3
dirk_the_daring
Registered User

dirk_the_daring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alicante / Spain
Posts: 138
Hi, thanks for the answer.
I've cleant the lens, no effect
About the caps, you mean this 2 I shown on the attached pic? Do you think are wrong placed?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0904.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	460.7 KB
ID:	41889  
dirk_the_daring is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 20:00   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,895
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk_the_daring View Post
Hi, thanks for the answer.
I've cleant the lens, no effect
About the caps, you mean this 2 I shown on the attached pic? Do you think are wrong placed?
Those caps look fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 20:45   #5
dirk_the_daring
Registered User

dirk_the_daring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alicante / Spain
Posts: 138
Sad then, again no idea about this problem (cause discs are clean and ok)... Do you think could be the laser head? I found a cheap (reasonably) one on ebay... Is a pitty cause system works, but those "heavy loading games" get loads of problems.
dirk_the_daring is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 20:57   #6
dirk_the_daring
Registered User

dirk_the_daring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alicante / Spain
Posts: 138
Another poss ... Could be the data cable? It seems a little folded and bent for me... but never seen another one...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0906.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	425.6 KB
ID:	41894  
dirk_the_daring is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 21:32   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,895
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk_the_daring View Post
Another poss ... Could be the data cable? It seems a little folded and bent for me... but never seen another one...
That cable looks battered. However you already said it plays shop bought discs and audio discs fine, then its ok. Dont destroy it trying to get it to play cd-r's.

At most, you could try replacing the laser. If you have messed with the pots on the cd mech board, then you may have already messed it up.
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amplifier internet radio streaming blitter1 support.Apps 2 30 October 2019 10:34
Streaming Radio Darkseid Retrogaming General Discussion 14 04 August 2015 20:18
Streaming WinUAE to tablet. FOL support.WinUAE 3 10 July 2014 21:01
I need some advice from experienced coder regarding A/V hdd streaming please ImmortalA1000 Coders. General 3 24 December 2011 20:02
CD32 Saving Data Djay support.Hardware 3 06 August 2011 13:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08882 seconds with 16 queries