English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > Amiga websites reviews

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2010, 22:13   #1
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
Bitworld Offline ?

Hi Gents,

Since yesterday i can't reach Bitworld....
Anyone know something about this?

I really need this site to be online for Demobas Amiga.

Regards
Sjakie43
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 31 May 2010, 09:06   #2
menace
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bjørkelangen, Norway
Posts: 30
The server that hosts BitWorld (and a number of other projects) is currently experiencing some problems, but should be back in the not too distant future.

Sjakie, you should really start hanging out in #amigaexotic
menace is offline  
Old 31 May 2010, 14:37   #3
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
Thanx Menace !

#amigaexotic?
Explain me plz...

Regards
Sjakie43
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 31 May 2010, 14:41   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjakie43 View Post
#amigaexotic?
Explain me plz...
Quote:
You are welcome to the IRC channel #amigaexotic on IRCnet...
Here you find some NL servers for IRCnet : http://www.ircnet.com/index.php?PHPS...2cc&p=5&cur=nl
TCD is offline  
Old 31 May 2010, 15:05   #5
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
Thanx TCD
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 31 May 2010, 23:49   #6
Asle
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Paris/France
Age: 49
Posts: 493
might be a dumb question, but, just, what is "demobas" ?
Is there an URL somewhere ?
Asle is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 08:42   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asle View Post
might be a dumb question, but, just, what is "demobas" ?
Is there an URL somewhere ?
It's 'Amiga Demobase' actually Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=44444
TCD is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 19:32   #8
Asle
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Paris/France
Age: 49
Posts: 493
I did and the question remains : what is demobas ?
A database, ok, what format, how is it fed, why Kestra must be online, etc. I don't plan to download a 136Mb archive just to know what it is
Just curious is all. Won't bother you with that.
Asle is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 22:17   #9
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
Hi Asle,

Demobase Amiga uses the Gamebase frontend to play Amiga Demos!
Its about 4gb and contains about 18000 entries of which Approx
6000 demos are playable(seeable).

So just see it as a HUGE database to see Amiga demos.

I am still working on it and there will be Some WIP info on it very soon.

@TCD,

I have tried to use the Irc Link from the dutch servers,not working here,cannot connect to server,errr

Regards
Sjakie43
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 02 June 2010, 08:36   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjakie43 View Post
@TCD,

I have tried to use the Irc Link from the dutch servers,not working here,cannot connect to server,errr

Regards
Sjakie43
Will check it later mate Never tried to get on IRCnet yet, but guess it isn't that hard. Which IRC client do you use? If you use FireFox you could use Chatzilla.
TCD is offline  
Old 02 June 2010, 22:04   #11
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
Hi TCD,

I am using Mirc atm...not familiar with it tho

Bitworld is back btw !

Regards
Sjakie43
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 12:43   #12
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
And Bitworld is OFFLINE again....

Sjakie43
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 19:35   #13
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 45
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Back now, but there may well will be more downtime. Our external HD has been causing problems and I need it replaced (or at least the cabling/enclosure). (And the failure last week was another problem).
BuZz is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 22:07   #14
sjakie43
DJ
sjakie43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Holland
Age: 50
Posts: 445
Thanx for the info Buzz.

I hope there will be no more probs for you after that...

I really depend on Bitworld for Demobase Amiga you know

Regards Sjakie43
sjakie43 is offline  
Old 04 August 2010, 12:49   #15
Asle
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Paris/France
Age: 49
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjakie43 View Post
I really depend on Bitworld for Demobase Amiga you know
That's where I have a problem.

Hi

First, sorry to raise this this late.
Ok, how do you use Bitworld ? I'm asking because I spend quite some time on Kestra, by renaming, updating, changing things, etc. (and I'm far from alone doing this). I don't see where you can be accurate.

Sylvain
Asle is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kestra / Bitworld demo database is now V2.0 Photon News 8 15 August 2013 01:51
Bitworld sjakie43 Amiga websites reviews 5 06 June 2009 01:41
Offline? Eclipse project.ClassicWB 2 08 August 2008 18:49
Downloads offline for now... killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 37 21 May 2008 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09755 seconds with 13 queries