English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2008, 22:12   #1
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 181
A1200 cc_reset fix won't stick

I've just got one of those devices that clips on over gayle to fix the reset bug on my A1200.

Problem is it won't stay on the chip. How to people keep these devices on?

Any helpuch appreciated!
alphonsus is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:05   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphonsus View Post
I've just got one of those devices that clips on over gayle to fix the reset bug on my A1200.

Problem is it won't stay on the chip. How to people keep these devices on?

Any helpuch appreciated!
Two approaches, neither nice.

1- use a small dual-face adhesive. Use one "not-so-strong", to make it removeable;

2- Using a small, sharp screwdriver, make some lateral indentations over the Gayle's pins. Bad if you don't have a steady hand, or is faint of heart. Be cautious to not broke some Gayle's pin!
rkauer is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:29   #3
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 70
Posts: 681
a couple ov`e dabs with a hot glue gun
twizzle is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:36   #4
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by twizzle View Post
a couple ov`e dabs with a hot glue gun

Maybe difficult to remove the adapter if you need to without damaging Gayle with the old Hot Glue

How about double sided foam tape????
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 23:47   #5
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 181
Duct tape?
alphonsus is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 04:19   #6
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphonsus View Post
Duct tape?
No. Like I (and Thecorfiot) say, some adhesive pad with glue in both faces.

Foam tape is better, since you pull the hardware out without pulling the soldered chip with it. Look for one with a not-so-strong glue.
rkauer is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 06:53   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,484
Hot glue is not very permanent after all. It usually just peels off.. Fine for sticking down the reset fix, only use a little bit.
Jope is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 10:19   #8
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,689
Another vote for hot glue, but use only a small amount, and get a couple of different brands... Some are really, really crap and melt on a hot day (various cheap/non-branded ones), and others would give superglue a run for its money (notably Bostik in my experience which held some black parts of my car's dash together in hot sunlight without melting)
chiark is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 10:20   #9
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
vote for solder it directly to gayle
Chain is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 10:27   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
had the same prob with a fastata... it just would not stay in place... never actually solved this prob, I got an idefix express and it is great
keropi is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 10:33   #11
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 531
I haven't heard of either the A1200 reset bug, or this device before. Can someone briefly explain? I'm intrigued.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 10:54   #12
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...reset_fix.html
Chain is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 11:53   #13
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 531
Thanks for the link. Interesting. Does this affect all motherboard versions, including the Escom/AT A1200? I guess it's not even an issue if the PCMCIA port isn't used?
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 12:50   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,484
All revisions, not an issue if you don't use the pcmcia port.

It can be fixed by software too, I haven't even bothered to do the reset fix on my machine.
Jope is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 17:37   #15
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion

DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 530
It is really better and easier to use the software fix. No need to waste money for any hardware crap.

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CardReset
http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CardPatch
DJBase is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 20:21   #16
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 676
Velcro is my preferred method for this kind of work as it's very easy to remove and very strong.



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 20:25   #17
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@Macca,

I love Velcro.... One of the top 50 Inventions of all time...

On a serious note..........Software fix does it for me.

TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 22:32   #18
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 676
If you have the hardware you may as well use it I guess - otherwise it's a waste of money. I do love Velcro though and I think I have pieces of it in pretty much most of my hardware to hold cables, etc.


M.
Macca is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 23:48   #19
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 181
Well it only cost me 4 quid at the same time as I got a Winner/Elbox Z-IV zorro board for 35. Velcro sounds good - I like velcro. Most of the extra bits I've put in my car (smart Roadster - highly recommended!) are stuck down with velcro.
alphonsus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 2B mb. Timing Fix, Indi MKII and others. Retrofan support.Hardware 33 20 March 2019 15:53
What sort of funny fix/mod is this? (A1200 1D.4) Mr B support.Hardware 5 10 June 2012 22:10
ide fix 97 killed my a1200! jimmer78 support.Hardware 11 19 May 2010 17:55
Will someone fix my A1200 accelerator board? bigfoot support.Hardware 37 18 December 2008 16:37
A1200 Rev. 2b motherboard fix Npl support.Hardware 2 05 October 2004 17:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10587 seconds with 15 queries