English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2021, 20:04   #1
suppah
Registered User

suppah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Tuscany countryside
Posts: 33
Post Amiga 1200 graphic corruption

Hello,

my friend just bought an Amiga 1200 (motherboard revision 2B) which behaves very strangely. We have tested some games and in the games it works perfectly but as soon as we use a display resolution like DBLNTSC or DBLPAL after 15-20 minute the Amiga is powered on the display gets corrupted.

The way the corruption happens very is very similar to this:

[ Show youtube player ]

But happens ONLY in "advanced" resolutions like DBLPal or DBLNTSC. When the corruption manifests if we switch to PAL, PAL-HIRES, etc etc, it works perfectly, if we get back to DBLPAL/DBLNTSC the corruption starts again.

The motherboard still has the two evil caps E123C and E125C installed but apart from not letting one ACA accelerator board work im not really sure if these caps can also cause this display graphics corruption...

Lisa chip gets mildly hot, you can put your finger on it and feel some heat but it's not very hot, you can keep your finger on it without problems.

Have any idea ? We are not sure if to send it to recapping and timer fixing or giving the Amiga back to the seller.

Last edited by suppah; 02 July 2021 at 20:19.
suppah is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 20:51   #2
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 466
Mine does that. It's an Escom model. I leave it for 10 minutes and it is fine.
frank_b is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 21:56   #3
Krashan
Hardware Designer

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bialystok/Poland
Age: 48
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by suppah View Post
as soon as we use a display resolution like DBLNTSC or DBLPAL after 15-20 minute the Amiga is powered on the display gets corrupted.
Try this: https://rastport.com/techblog/removi...splay-trashes/
Krashan is offline  
Old 03 July 2021, 22:58   #4
suppah
Registered User

suppah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Tuscany countryside
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krashan View Post
Yes, thanks! This thing is sooo absurd... I remember reading it ages ago but I forgot about it. Told my friend and he changed the palette to darker the colors and no more corruption. The mobo fix looks easy enough.

It was a shame because the 1200 is REALLY MINT, on the outside, the inside, the floppy is in an awesome condition too. The original seller used it for weeks and put it away since now...

Last edited by suppah; 03 July 2021 at 23:07.
suppah is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 graphic corruption Mclane support.Hardware 15 13 October 2020 20:50
A1200 Radeon Mouse Graphic Corruption! Knight94 support.Hardware 19 04 September 2013 14:22
A1200: Graphic corruption on Workbench Akira support.Hardware 21 30 May 2009 17:12
Fighter Duel Pro Graphic Corruption formater support.Games 0 08 June 2007 21:38
WinUAE graphic corruption? Critter support.WinUAE 13 08 February 2004 15:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06711 seconds with 13 queries