English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 July 2006, 15:08   #1
JimC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Age: 47
Posts: 14
PAL Mode softkick

I'm sorry if this has been answered, but I've an Amiga 3000.
I can use early startup to get PAL mode, but it seems to only work with disks based on AmigaDOS.
Also, while in PAL mode, if I softkick to 1.3, it reverts to NTSC.

I know WHDLoad kickemu with a PAL option.. is that part of the slave, or is there somethinkg else I can do to boot non-dos floppies or kick into PAL mode?


Thanks
JimC is offline  
Old 11 July 2006, 15:56   #2
Secret Vampire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham UK
Age: 40
Posts: 214
If you only need to run in PAL mode, then there's a jumper on the motherboard to select NTSC/PAL, it should be J200 according to stuff on the net, I don't have an A3000 to verify this though. You could probably fit a switch to it and mount it on the rear somewhere if you need to change modes often, just be careful not to flip it while the machine is on, they probably don't like that.
I can't think of any way to force PAL otherwise, maybe with some kind of degrader disk?
Secret Vampire is offline  
Old 11 July 2006, 17:40   #3
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 807
Get "Degrader" from Aminet. You can switch back and forth between PAL and NTSC without rebooting and also works with non-DOS. It has a GUI when run from WB, but you can also use command line without GUI (for adding to scripts or buttons). I have a couple buttons in my filemanager (ABCdir) - one for NTSC, one for PAL (eg. command for PAL "degrader 50hz 50hzsystem noeditop").
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 11 July 2006, 18:00   #4
JimC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Age: 47
Posts: 14
Degrader

Thanks.. I was playing with degrader last night and when I'd select the button that I forgot the name of.... basically stays after restart(s)... the screen would flash colors and then just sit there.

Perhaps I should boot without startup-sequence and try the command line.

Or I could just stop beating myself up and just use WHDLoad... but ya know.. I like the floppies!!
JimC is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 02:30   #5
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret Vampire
If you only need to run in PAL mode, then there's a jumper on the motherboard to select NTSC/PAL, it should be J200 according to stuff on the net, I don't have an A3000 to verify this though. You could probably fit a switch to it and mount it on the rear somewhere if you need to change modes often, just be careful not to flip it while the machine is on, they probably don't like that.
I can't think of any way to force PAL otherwise, maybe with some kind of degrader disk?
I did exactly this on my A3000. I used to keep it in PAL mode so games/mod timing was correct. All you need is a SPDT switch, some wire, and a pin header and pins. (I spent maybe $3 back in 93).
adolescent is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is NTSC mode so much slower than PAL? mr_a500 support.FS-UAE 3 07 December 2012 20:28
PAL-Mode without scaling Ratte request.UAE Wishlist 8 24 October 2008 10:06
Visage in PAL mode... Ranthalion75 project.ClassicWB 2 03 June 2005 02:48
NTSC as default mode on a PAL Amiga12oo oldpx support.Hardware 31 13 September 2002 21:43
Amiga screen mode on PAL TV Drake1009 support.Hardware 4 02 August 2001 01:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07057 seconds with 13 queries