English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2021, 18:49   #1
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
qemu Pegasos2 test

A small video about a test carried out with qemu that emulates Pegasos2
currently booted on morphos iso 3.15

does anyone know how to boot directly to the hd?

via the Pegasos firmware command prompt my HD is marked as:

HD0
Thank you here the test:
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by White; 25 July 2021 at 12:27.
White is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 12:24   #2
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
Resolved
after installation
the command to be given at the prompt:
boot / pci / ide / disk @ 0,0: 0 boot.img
this allows you to boot directly from hd
White is offline  
Old 26 July 2021, 17:29   #3
Prober
Registered User

Prober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 16
Perfect. It looks usable
Prober is offline  
Old 27 July 2021, 16:34   #4
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
@Prober
@All
yes I like to rehearse
even if at the moment it is only a beginning
even the developer would need help for those who can help him.

I'd like to try the pegasos version of 4.1
to see if I can boot and how far it can be used

The command is this:
bootloader_prepare
boot cd amigaboot.of

currently I don't have the pegasos version to be able to try it,

I would very much like to see what is recognized :-)
White is offline  
Old 27 July 2021, 16:53   #5
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 313
Hello,
Can you provide the settings file and if possible link to the needed firmware files?
Thanks in advance.
drHirudo is offline  
Old 27 July 2021, 17:06   #6
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
@drHirudo
currently this command can help:
tail -c +85581 up050404 | head -c 524288> pegasos2.rom

see here to learn more:
http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/
https://osdn.net/projects/qmiga/wiki/SubprojectPegasos2

if you have any difficulties, you can contact me
White is offline  
Old 04 August 2021, 12:51   #7
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
Tried qemu with Pegasos2 for 4.1
currently loads the kickstart but does not go further
probably due to the lack of ati card and more (hopefully this will be supported soon).

Eventually it is possible to "modify" the ISO supporting sm501 but it is not worth it given the performances with sam460ex.

here the pegasos2 boot:
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 12 August 2021, 22:51   #8
waldiamiga
morphos.pl

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
A small video about a test carried out with qemu that emulates Pegasos2
currently booted on morphos iso 3.15

does anyone know how to boot directly to the hd?

via the Pegasos firmware command prompt my HD is marked as:

HD0
Thank you here the test:
[ Show youtube player ]

Hi. Can you provide the syntax to run QEmu with Pegasos 2 emulation? When I run with the command -device ati-vga, romfile = "" ,QEmu won't start, so instead of. I typed -device ati-vga, romfile = vgabios-ati.bin. Now it starts, I can see it in serial0, (configuration, Abox and others) unfortunately I have a black image in ati-vga. Need some other rom or bin file for the emulated ati-vga graphics card than the one in QEmu?
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 13 August 2021, 10:54   #9
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
@waldiamiga
it is probably due to the ram chosen
with 1024 it should work:

qemu-system-ppc -machine pegasos2 -rtc base=localtime -m 1024 -device ati-vga,guest_hwcursor=true,romfile="" -cdrom /home/white/Scaricati/morphos-3.15.iso -bios /home/white/Scaricati/pegasos2.rom -serial stdio -device ide-hd,drive=hd-drive,bus=ide.0 -drive file='/home/white/Scaricati/morphos.img',if=none,id=hd-drive,format=raw

then:
boot cd boot.img

once the hard disk boot installation is done:

qemu-system-ppc -machine pegasos2 -rtc base=localtime -m 1024 -device ati-vga,guest_hwcursor=true,romfile="" -bios /home/white/Scaricati/pegasos2.rom -serial stdio -device ide-hd,drive=hd-drive,bus=ide.0 -drive file='/home/white/Scaricati/morphos.img',if=none,id=hd-drive,format=raw


boot hd: 0 boot.img

Last edited by White; 13 August 2021 at 11:32.
White is offline  
Old 13 August 2021, 13:01   #10
waldiamiga
morphos.pl

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 86
Thanks! I start testing while I'm on vacation.


It works! Even in my language. Now it's time to install the system. Thanks for helping White.


Last edited by waldiamiga; 13 August 2021 at 13:30.
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 13 August 2021, 15:26   #11
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
if for various reasons you have problems with the network
you can opt this way use the "g4" you need a fresh install

qemu-system-ppc -machine mac99, via = pmu -rtc base = localtime -m 2048 -device ati-vga, guest_hwcursor = true -cdrom /home/white/Scaricati/morphos-3.15.iso -boot d -prom-env 'boot-device = cd:, \ mac_ppc32 \ boot.img' -bios /home/white/Downloads/openbios-qemu.elf -vga none -serial stdio -device ide-hd, drive = hd-drive, bus = ide .0 -drive file = '/ home / white / Downloaded / morphos', if = none, id = hd-drive, format = raw -net nic, model = rtl8139 -net user

then without cd

qemu-system-ppc -machine mac99, via = pmu -rtc base = localtime -m 2048 -device ati-vga, guest_hwcursor = true -boot d -prom-env 'boot-device = hd:, \ boot.img' - bios /home/white/Downloads/openbios-qemu.elf -vga none -serial stdio -device ide-hd, drive = hd-drive, bus = ide.0 -drive file = '/ home / white / Downloaded / morphos. img ', if = none, id = hd-drive, format = raw -net nic, model = rtl8139 -net user

edit the user-startup with ED and add this at the end:
ikill temperature.sensor

then you can add the m crysalis-pack like this (you will need a bigger partition):

qemu-system-ppc -machine mac99, via = pmu -rtc base = localtime -m 2048 -device ati-vga, guest_hwcursor = true -boot d -prom-env 'boot-device = hd:, \ boot.img' - bios /home/white/Downloads/openbios-qemu.elf -vga none -serial stdio -device ide-hd, drive = hd-drive, bus = ide.0 -drive file = '/ home / white / Downloaded / morphos. img ', if = none, id = hd-drive, format = raw -net nic, model = rtl8139 -net user -cdrom /home/white/Scaricati/Chrysalis_3.15.iso

at the moment there is no audio I am doing some experiments with a USB-AUDIO STICK that morphos recognizes with the real hardware.

I would like to provide zbalaton with my tests to see if it is possible to activate it in some way and be helped thanks to its abilities

happy holiday :-)
White is offline  
Old 14 August 2021, 10:16   #12
waldiamiga
morphos.pl

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 86
System installed. The lack of support for the network card is a bit of a bother. What magic command do you need to use in SF to make the system start automatically? setenv boot-file boot.img ramdebug and setenv auto-boot? true doesn't really work. I have had MorphOS on mac99 for several years.
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 14 August 2021, 12:59   #13
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,195
currently i don't know if this feature is implemented and working.
I have not succeeded
these are the standard commands:
setenv boot-file boot.img ramdebug "
"Setenv boot-device / pci / ide / disk @ 0,0: 0" <- check that the drive is the correct one!
“Setenv auto-boot-timeout 3000” <- automatic boot after 3 seconds
“Setenv auto-boot? true "

ls / pci / ide / disk @ 0,0: 0 to see your partition
boot / pci / ide / disk @ 0,0: 0 boot.img bootdevice = dh2 dh1 etc. your boot partition
printenv the various parameters

if you find a solution let me know :-)

this you can use it:
boot / pci / ide / disk @ 0,0: 0 boot.img
instead of:
boot hd: 0 boot.img

if you want to test

Last edited by White; 14 August 2021 at 13:12.
White is offline  
Old 14 August 2021, 14:06   #14
waldiamiga
morphos.pl

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 86
It doesn't work anyway, console spits: no / bad nvramrc - preforming default startup script.
I also fought with network cards, the two for which MorphOS has drivers are not supported by QEmu-ppc, because at startup I have this message:

warning:requested NIC (#net057, model sungem) was not created.
(not supported by this machine?)
waldiamiga is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QEmu: Emulation MorphOS AMIGASYSTEM support.OtherUAE 76 30 August 2021 06:19
Req: '240p Test Suite' similar test software for Amiga? c0dehunter support.Hardware 10 22 February 2021 21:38
WinUAE QEMU PPC Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 555 24 April 2020 09:05
QEMU Released AMIGASYSTEM News 12 17 July 2018 00:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08519 seconds with 14 queries