English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Tutorials

Old 21 April 2011, 15:41   #1
jman

ASM: why "banging the metal"?

Hello,

while I'm waiting for some spare time to start up again the Amiga emulator o_0 I was thinking about the last bit of (huge) help provided by Stingray concerning the startup code needed in order to have something to work reliably while banging the "metal" (btw thanks again to everyone for your ever useful contributions).

When I started fiddling with ASM I said to myself - no custom chip hitting, I'd like to understand how things work without ending up hacking the hardware (I'm think I'm no experienced programmer for such a task). Nonetheless I've found myself doing it that way.

To be honest, manually fiddling with the hardware is *fun*, but back in the day, did really any game developer did it what way?

My question (after this boring stream of conscience): is there an alternate way to program the Amiga in ASM without resorting to manually defined copperlists and strobe register triggering?

Thanks for whoever would like to share his thoughts on this topic and please excuse my naive question in advance.
Old 21 April 2011, 17:42   #2
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman View Post
To be honest, manually fiddling with the hardware is *fun*, but back in the day, did really any game developer did it what way?
Most commercial games shut down the OS and bang the hardware. It's a good way to ensure games work properly on unexpanded machines. It basically used to be the norm.
Quote:
My question (after this boring stream of conscience): is there an alternate way to program the Amiga in ASM without resorting to manually defined copperlists and strobe register triggering?