English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 July 2021, 07:11   #1
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 42
Posts: 4,375
Aaargh! on A500+ Issues

Can someone make a fixed ADF to work on a real Amiga 500+ ?

I have tried all versions from the tosec set, and also gamebase but they all crash on the loading screen

Thanks in advance
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 23 July 2021, 21:16   #2
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 280
the fakemem routine contained in the @ross Beach Volley bootblock seems works also with this one

prolly many others too, amazing work
kremiso is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 07:38   #3
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 293
Also a fix for Commando is needed on A500+/A600.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 07:45   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 42
Posts: 4,375
Retroplay dumped The fix for Aaargh in the zone.

I havent test Commando adfs yet but if it fails I can only ask he add the fix to Commando and re post to the zone when he can
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 24 July 2021, 11:32   #5
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 293
Thanks
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 14:10   #6
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,716
It doesn't work on any of the Commando cracks I've tried (Oracle/Quartex/Red Sector Inc).
Game will just stop at the title screen and not go any further or respond to any input.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 03:50   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,159
Commando

Set WinUAE to also have 512k of slow ram as well as the standard 1 meg of chip ram for A500+ and it will work on all versions.

Buggy memory detection routine doesn't detect 1 meg of chip ram but expects slow ram.
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 25 July 2021, 03:52   #8
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 42
Posts: 4,375
The reason for this request is so that I can havew a working copy for a real a500+ using a gotek drive
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 25 July 2021, 08:44   #9
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 42
Posts: 4,375
Another game that is not compatible with a500+ is Starglider. Ill ask in DM..

2 games outstanding now for 500+ fixes

... Startglider
... Commando

Last edited by ransom1122; 25 July 2021 at 10:31.
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 25 July 2021, 10:30   #10
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Commando

Set WinUAE to also have 512k of slow ram as well as the standard 1 meg of chip ram for A500+ and it will work on all versions.

Buggy memory detection routine doesn't detect 1 meg of chip ram but expects slow ram.
seems a bad crack issue, the original .ipf loads fine with only 512kb on A500, and on A500+ also
winuae test
kremiso is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 12:06   #11
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 280
@ransom1122 i have zoned a Starglider adf with the great ross bb added
it is ok here
kremiso is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 12:20   #12
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 42
Posts: 4,375
Thanks I'll test starglider tomorrow
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 25 July 2021, 12:53   #13
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,468
Into the Zone! Commando fixed for 1M chip machines (QTX crack, Slipstream trainer).
Require 1MB total ram minimum.

Please test it.
ross is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 13:04   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,159
Saves me a job lol
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 25 July 2021, 13:46   #15
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 51
Posts: 3,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Saves me a job lol
It's a really lazy patch but hopefully enough (at least for now).
ross is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 17:37   #16
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Into the Zone! Commando fixed for 1M chip machines (QTX crack, Slipstream trainer).
Require 1MB total ram minimum.

Please test it.
You are a God
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 26 July 2021, 02:04   #17
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 42
Posts: 4,375
I know how 2 working copies of...

... Startglider
... Commando

for the 500+ Great job folks
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 26 July 2021, 19:04   #18
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 49
Posts: 3,304
Perhaps time to get extra memory for A500+?

Probably only reason I did not have those issues - had extra memory. (which was kind of nice later with A590 to run games from HD)
Anubis is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100th Shit Game Time: AAARGH! (AMIGA) ZEUSDAZ Retrogaming General Discussion 25 18 September 2020 11:48
A500 issues Vypr support.Hardware 3 04 February 2019 01:43
How to get Aaargh! working? Minuous project.WHDLoad 9 12 February 2012 13:21
Aaargh! TheBoss HOL data problems 6 17 July 2009 09:22
Aaargh! Magix HOL data problems 3 02 October 2003 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12529 seconds with 15 queries