English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2022, 00:20   #41
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marce View Post
how do you tested the music in Gabriel knight ? winuae or real Amiga+ connected midi device?
A1200+nullmodem cable to PC, then hooked up with either Munt or VirtualMidiSynth.
Aardvark is online now  
Old 22 June 2022, 03:37   #42
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
I really wonder why this should be the case. Both do not need to emulate the CPU, but "only" need to patch MacOs. Then it depends mostly on the configuration, i.e. whether you have a file disk or a full partition, or whether you have an RTG graphics card or use native Amiga planar output. Without additional hardware, screen refresh through MuEVD is as fast as it gets without room for much improvement, and with an entire partition set aside for MacOs, IO speed is only limited by the hardware speed and not a function of the software.

It's not the case. Maybe Superscalar is turned off or something in this test? Switch to the Amiga side and look at FUSION's CPU info, that would tell you. As I stated, in all cases FUSION is much faster than Shapeshifter, especially with the FPU as I replaced all of Apple Pack 4 & 5 functions (written in C) with native hand optimized assembly code versions.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 22 June 2022, 12:01   #43
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
It's not the case. Maybe Superscalar is turned off or something in this test? Switch to the Amiga side and look at FUSION's CPU info, that would tell you. As I stated, in all cases FUSION is much faster than Shapeshifter, especially with the FPU as I replaced all of Apple Pack 4 & 5 functions (written in C) with native hand optimized assembly code versions.
Ok, i did new benchmarks, and it shows more comparable results.
I don't know what was off in the old benchmark, I've since updated my system from 3.1.4 to 3.2.1 with latest MMULibs and P96.

Aardvark is online now  
Old 23 June 2022, 09:39   #44
Marce
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: SA
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
A1200+nullmodem cable to PC, then hooked up with either Munt or VirtualMidiSynth.
but that's a crazy Franskestein way to play a game
I'm talking about something serious which the ppl can use to play GK , ie winuae
which config can be used for example to play GK for winuae and shapeshifter?
Marce is offline  
Old 23 June 2022, 10:48   #45
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marce View Post
but that's a crazy Franskestein way to play a game
I'm talking about something serious which the ppl can use to play GK , ie winuae
which config can be used for example to play GK for winuae and shapeshifter?
If you're using Winuae just use scummVM RTG which has native MIDI support in Winuae, I wouldn't even bother with Mac emulation.

https://aminet.net/package/game/misc/ScummVM_RTG
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 June 2022, 11:09   #46
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marce View Post
but that's a crazy Franskestein way to play a game
I'm talking about something serious which the ppl can use to play GK , ie winuae
which config can be used for example to play GK for winuae and shapeshifter?
Well, that's easy then. Forget WinUAE and use DOSBox.
Aardvark is online now  
Old 23 June 2022, 12:23   #47
Marce
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: SA
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
If you're using Winuae just use scummVM RTG which has native MIDI support in Winuae, I wouldn't even bother with Mac emulation.

https://aminet.net/package/game/misc/ScummVM_RTG
that's was what I recommended from the beginning,
play the DOS version

the Mac version of GK is really buggy and does not works fine in MAC emulators
is slow and the music gets corrupted

but the member Aardvark says that GK works fine, then I just want to know if he is trolling or he found a real way to play GK in mac emulators
Marce is offline  
Old 23 June 2022, 13:50   #48
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marce View Post
that's was what I recommended from the beginning,
play the DOS version

the Mac version of GK is really buggy and does not works fine in MAC emulators
is slow and the music gets corrupted

but the member Aardvark says that GK works fine, then I just want to know if he is trolling or he found a real way to play GK in mac emulators
Here is quick video of the game running in WinUAE+ShapeShifter+General Midi. [ Show youtube player ]

If the game is buggy and slow for you, then perhaps DamienD's preinstalled HDF can help you find the reason. It can be found on Turran FTP.
Aardvark is online now  
Old 23 June 2022, 19:09   #49
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,189
DamienD's version shows the same weird colours
(as Basilisk) if I click out of the game window.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	252.png
Views:	13
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	75858  
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 23 June 2022, 19:56   #50
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marce View Post
but that's a crazy Franskestein way to play a game
I'm talking about something serious which the ppl can use to play GK , ie winuae
which config can be used for example to play GK for winuae and shapeshifter?
See post related to the package DamienD uploaded to the TURRAN FTP weeks ago.

If you want Midi though then you'd need to add http://aminet.net/package/misc/emu/MidiShape and also enable in WinUAE.
vulture is offline  
Old 24 June 2022, 02:52   #51
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
Ok, i did new benchmarks, and it shows more comparable results.
I don't know what was off in the old benchmark, I've since updated my system from 3.1.4 to 3.2.1 with latest MMULibs and P96.

Something is still way off. Maybe you are trying to use the same system software with both? That will NEVER work unless you used the "Apple Universal Installer" CD and did a deliberate installation for "ALL MAC MODELS". If you didn't, you can't use the same SYSTEM hard drive with FUSION and Shapeshifter. In fact, you can't even boot it once by mistake on the wrong emulator without causing system resources to change. You CAN use the same data hard drives, just not SYSTEM.

Imagine that every Amiga model came with its own unique Workbench installation that was not fully (or at all) compatible with other Amiga models. So, the A500 Workbench would not work with an A2000, etc. That is EXACTLY what Apple did with ALL of their Mac models. Each machine came with hardware specific system software that only works on that Mac model (based on the base hardware and the ROM). It was not until the very end of the Mac's life when Apple finally created a Universal System Software Installer CD, starting with OS7.5.3.

FUSION uses different hardware resources, even if using the exact same ROM as Shapeshifter. So, you MUST have two different SYSTEM hard drives.

I see with your comparison that FUSION's CPU and video is slower, but the math functions are a LOT faster, but not as fast as they should be. Something is stealing mass amounts of CPU time with FUSION. What video driver are you using for FUSION? What video card?

I will say one thing for sure, and that FUSION is not officially compatible with OS3.2... that OS is a hack. They tried to get me to help fix the problems they had with whatever changes they made to Exec and they cobbled together some type of low memory reservation that is a kludge. There will be a new version of RsrvMem released with FUSION 4 that fixes these issues.

Last edited by JimDrew; 24 June 2022 at 05:49.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 24 June 2022, 13:34   #52
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
See post related to the package DamienD uploaded to the TURRAN FTP weeks ago.

If you want Midi though then you'd need to add http://aminet.net/package/misc/emu/MidiShape and also enable in WinUAE.

With " LoopMidi " ?
Zarnal is offline  
Old 24 June 2022, 19:21   #53
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Something is still way off. Maybe you are trying to use the same system software with both? That will NEVER work unless you used the "Apple Universal Installer" CD and did a deliberate installation for "ALL MAC MODELS". If you didn't, you can't use the same SYSTEM hard drive with FUSION and Shapeshifter. In fact, you can't even boot it once by mistake on the wrong emulator without causing system resources to change. You CAN use the same data hard drives, just not SYSTEM.
It is "All Mac models" installation, and the same Mac System partition is used by both emulators. Never thought it would be the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I see with your comparison that FUSION's CPU and video is slower, but the math functions are a LOT faster, but not as fast as they should be. Something is stealing mass amounts of CPU time with FUSION. What video driver are you using for FUSION? What video card?
My video card is Radeon 9200 with Mediator, and Fusion is using P96Refresh driver at 60fps. ShapeShifter was set to internal P96 driver with "Refresh rate" setting 1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I will say one thing for sure, and that FUSION is not officially compatible with OS3.2... that OS is a hack. They tried to get me to help fix the problems they had with whatever changes they made to Exec and they cobbled together some type of low memory reservation that is a kludge. There will be a new version of RsrvMem released with FUSION 4 that fixes these issues.
How about OS3.9? Does it have your blessing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
With " LoopMidi " ?
No, just select MIDI Out device on WinUAE's "IO ports" setting page.
Aardvark is online now  
Old Yesterday, 23:53   #54
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
It is "All Mac models" installation, and the same Mac System partition is used by both emulators. Never thought it would be the problem.
So, you are using OS7.5.3 or later and you deliberately changed the installer to be "all Mac models"? There is psuedo-secret menu you have to go to in order to do this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
My video card is Radeon 9200 with Mediator, and Fusion is using P96Refresh driver at 60fps. ShapeShifter was set to internal P96 driver with "Refresh rate" setting 1.
Set FUSION's refresh to 30FPS, that would be the same, and will definitely have a significant impact on CPU performance. I have never seen this video card before so I am not sure how much of the QuickDraw acceleration would be supported.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
How about OS3.9? Does it have your blessing?
Technically, no. FUSION only officially supports up the last version of Kickstart/Workbench that was released by Commodore. However, I do know that everything released before OS3.2 seems to work without any issues. OS3.2 needs patching.
JimDrew is offline  
Old Today, 04:22   #55
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
So, you are using OS7.5.3 or later and you deliberately changed the installer to be "all Mac models"? There is psuedo-secret menu you have to go to in order to do this.
The option is called "Universal System for any Macintosh" to be precise, no need to ask same question twice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Set FUSION's refresh to 30FPS, that would be the same, and will definitely have a significant impact on CPU performance. I have never seen this video card before so I am not sure how much of the QuickDraw acceleration would be supported.
ShapeShifter's P96 RTG driver is 60 fps, not 30 fps, at least on my GPU. This can be seen in my test video at 1:55:14 in the Mac game "Souls in the System". [ Show youtube player ]

Actually the ShapeShifter's "Refresh rate" setting doesn't seem to have any effect to it, so maybe it's for native graphics only.
Aardvark is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guru with ShapeShifter and Blizzard 1260 tygre support.Apps 8 18 February 2016 19:49
Sell Blizzard 1230 and buy Blizzard 1260 for A1200 gntavelis support.Hardware 29 29 October 2014 11:30
Apollo 1230-16 Outperforming Blizzard 1230-50?? DonFuego support.Hardware 17 20 November 2009 20:45
Gabriel Knight 2 - English subtitles patch laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 3 07 August 2009 02:46
Gabriel Knight 2 longplay laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 17 09 April 2008 07:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08547 seconds with 16 queries