English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2021, 23:01   #1
alcomatt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: South Croydon
Posts: 28
Hippoplayer GURU on module playback

My beloved Hippoplayer have recently started crashing on my fs-uae emulated environment. (A1200 with Blizz IV 30/50, 64MB Z3 RAM, 2G Chip, Kick 3.1.4, PFSaio partitioned physical ssd, run via rdb mode in the emu)

The app will reset Amiga (GURU) on any module playback. The same modules play in other apps. GURU no. is non specific, just relating to memory allocation as it often is.

80000003 1084B600

I SnoopDossed as much as I can but I cannot pinpoint any suspect library or file.

It was working absolutely fine in the past and I am at a loss why it has gone wrong.

I have tried various emulated Amiga configs (down to barebone A1200 with 8MB Fast) and yet no change in the behavior.

Unfortunately I cannot test on real amiga atm as it is being recapped...

Perhaps someone have came across this issue before. I am beginning to pull my (very few) remaining hair out. I'd rather not have to re-build this hd install from scratch.

Thanks in advance.
alcomatt is offline  
Old 05 March 2021, 02:25   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,738
Have you tried re-downloading Hippoplayer from Aminet.net to verify it's not a corrupt executable?
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 05 March 2021, 10:19   #3
alcomatt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: South Croydon
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Have you tried re-downloading Hippoplayer from Aminet.net to verify it's not a corrupt executable?
Thanks for the reply!

Indeed i have tried that. No luck. Also replaced Hippoplayer groups files etc basically everything from the lha archive of aminet. The actual app starts up ok. I can see the gui, pick up any module and it instantly crashes. The same module will open happily in protracker and play without an issue.
Tried both OS and AHI replayers, same difference.
alcomatt is offline  
Old 06 March 2021, 00:26   #4
alcomatt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: South Croydon
Posts: 28
I have managed to solve this mystery. It was the hip.key file from aminet in L: that was the culprit. Upon removing it from its location Hippo started to work again... happy days!
alcomatt is offline  
Old 06 March 2021, 14:21   #5
andy2004
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hampshire
Age: 46
Posts: 188
Send a message via Yahoo to andy2004
have you looked in to the hippoplayer.key file in the L: folder.. use the one from the aminet
NOT from the hipkey generators. that will cause hippo to crash.. tested on my emulation.
andy2004 is offline  
Old 06 March 2021, 19:24   #6
alcomatt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: South Croydon
Posts: 28
Mine must have gotten corrupted because all started working once I had removed it. Bizarre...

Thanks for all the replies and suggestions!
alcomatt is offline  
Old 14 May 2021, 14:46   #7
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 28
I just recently went through the (mess of a) source code and found that the past me had implemented, among other clever things, some keyfile validity checks:

Code:
    
        tst.l	keyfile+40(a5)	
	beq.b	.zz
	move.l	tempexec(a5),a1
	addq.l	#1,IVVERTB+IV_DATA(a1)
.zz
This basically just corrupts the exec interrupt structures causing an instant crash, if the keyfile is not valid according to this test. There are several others, too. Sorry
koobo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HippoPlayer source code koobo support.Apps 49 Today 11:27
HippoPlayer very slow down system when playing module michaljarz support.WinUAE 6 21 February 2016 20:34
Old Hippoplayer versions? Whitesnake support.Apps 8 16 May 2012 18:56
HippoPlayer and AHI problem ami_stuff support.WinUAE 1 07 February 2009 19:57
Wrong playback of a ripped module Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 17 December 2008 17:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08288 seconds with 13 queries