English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2002, 22:08   #1
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
Happy I am an A1200 newbie :D

Ok, I want to do lots of things with this beast. So I call upon all you A1200 experts for your advice. here's some of the stuff I'd like to know:

- Are there any games which I can use in a Productivity screen?
- What patches/upgrades/etc. do you recommend me to install? I have downloaded MUI, MCP and Scalos.
- Should I fix my 1084 or buy a scandoubler?

Hmm.. all I can think of right now... there will be more questions
Akira is offline  
Old 17 February 2002, 23:42   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
What are the specifications? You probably posted it already but I missed it. Sorry. With a 020/2Chip A1200 I could not use much extra tools. The ones I had installed were Magic Workbench, MUI and Directory Opus 4.xx

I attempted to play avi and mov files with CyberAVI and CyberQT. The result was not good but it used to work

As for the 1084, these monitors are made to make you blind. Seriously, a VGA monitor would be much better.
 
Old 18 February 2002, 00:35   #3
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Games that use productivity screenmodes

Only "system-friendly" games lets you use those screenmodes. Things like Foundation and HBMonopoly, mostly. Certainly not action-games, as those screenmodes are really too slow for that kind of thing, especially with 256 colours.

Fixing the 1084-monitor vs. buying a scandoubler

I don't know, as I've never got a scandoubler. However, I have heard that it's not so nice with interlaced screenmodes, as it draws every other line at a time.

Besides, there's nothing like a real 1084-monitor. At least, that's my opinion.
Puzzle is offline  
Old 18 February 2002, 02:07   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Puzzle
Besides, there's nothing like a real 1084-monitor. At least, that's my opinion.
And that opinion roxxxxx right awayyyyy .....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 February 2002, 08:29   #5
ptrchiappe
Registered User
ptrchiappe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cagliari / Italy
Age: 59
Posts: 186
Send a message via AIM to ptrchiappe
Re: I am an A1200 newbie :D

Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
What patches/upgrades/etc. do you recommend me to install? I have downloaded MUI, MCP and Scalos.
I suggest you install BlitzKick (if it has a Blizzard board), BlazeWCP and FBlit.

Also you can use FastView (from Aminet) to display various image formats (if you need it).

Talking of formats, don't forget all the datatypes you can find on aminet, they're very useful .
ptrchiappe is offline  
Old 18 February 2002, 11:10   #6
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,421
Fblit is interesting patch...............

I've 040 40mhz A1200, FBlit makes workbench so much faster.

It's fully possible to play Heretic in a window on dbpal screen.

Word of warning read the guides!

And wellcome to OS tuning scene ;-)

Get the Nec 3d monitor or similar can show PAL, NTSC, dbpal, dbntsc,,,,

Or if you don't find one buy scandoubler.
utri007 is offline  
Old 18 February 2002, 14:52   #7
kriz
Junior Member

kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 40
Posts: 2,998
Quote:
Originally posted by s4murai




No. These monitors kill your eyes. I now wear glasses because of that.
yeah, those monitors are way too old and flickery

My advice is to get an external scandoubler and a nice 17" or something
like that... so much better
kriz is offline  
Old 19 February 2002, 00:01   #8
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
I think 1084 monitors are great, been using mine for 12+ years and I have no sight problems because of that.

I have to score one of those Nec monitors, I always liked them

BTW, more questions... email clients? recommended browsers? I only have Voyager.

My setup is A1200, 030@50, 32MB Fast, 1GB HD. Thew board is not Blizzard, it's Microbotics. Can I still use Bluitzwhatever ?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2002, 00:06   #9
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 3,704
AFAIK you can use BlitzKick only with Blizzard Boards and that btw. is a softkicker for Kickstart

EMail Client : Yam
Browser : IBrowse

RetroMan is offline  
Old 19 February 2002, 18:49   #10
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
Talking about softkickers, which one should I use?? I tried TUDE but it severely locks up the 1200... perhaps there's a new 030-friendly version or something?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2002, 18:51   #11
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 3,704
Me personally uses SKick (Aminet)
RetroMan is offline  
Old 19 February 2002, 19:10   #12
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
I have Skick but I forgot to copy the reallocation tables :P

Anyway, now about Icons... can I use NewICons or GlowIcons on my setup? Would it be overkill?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2002, 19:32   #13
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 3,704
Sure you can use New/Glow-Icons ! I never recognized any speed difference to my old WB setup
RetroMan is offline  
Old 20 February 2002, 07:09   #14
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
Very interesting.. I want a WB like that of Frog! it kicks mucho arse

Let's see what I come up with next.. I've got to install Miami so I surely will have net questions afterwards I installed it before on my 600 anyway (made a ppp serial connex with my linux), so i wont have any probs.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 February 2002, 08:39   #15
ptrchiappe
Registered User
ptrchiappe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cagliari / Italy
Age: 59
Posts: 186
Send a message via AIM to ptrchiappe
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Sure you can use New/Glow-Icons ! I never recognized any speed difference to my old WB setup
You can use GlowIcons too on KS 3.0/3.1?

How do you obtain it (i always get the black spot) ?
ptrchiappe is offline  
Old 20 February 2002, 08:42   #16
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 6,064
The black spot! An old seafaring summons, if I'm not mistaken. You'll be seeing Long John before long, I fear...
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 20 February 2002, 10:36   #17
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,421
Glow icons for 3.0/3.1

Yes there was Glow icons for 3.0/3.1 on Aminet. Seems that archive is deleted to aminet lately.

Author released them orginaly to "old wb's"

Probaply something to do with Amiga inc.
utri007 is offline  
Old 20 February 2002, 20:15   #18
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
Argh! FUCK Amiga Inc.. see what they do??? ARGHH I'll have to go with NewIcons...
Akira is offline  
Old 21 February 2002, 08:09   #19
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 381
1084s vs Scandoubler.

Akira: Go for the scandoubler and get yourself an excellent quality 17inch monitor and you will _never_ look back. I've had a 1084s and a scandoubler .. and the scandoubler wins hands down.. hope that helps.


Sorry retroman .. I know how much you like the real deal.. dont get mad
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 21 February 2002, 08:20   #20
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,421
I've Glow icons set fo wb3.0/3.1

I just need to find it, I'll put it to zone. Tomorrow? means friday
utri007 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie Mogsy Member Introductions 19 09 November 2012 15:31
Another newbie! dash Member Introductions 8 04 October 2010 16:17
Newbie A1200 owner questions Old Fool support.Hardware 26 27 August 2010 15:43
Please help - newbie here mekon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 21 September 2006 10:50
Newbie Avinitlarge New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 18 November 2001 22:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14698 seconds with 15 queries