English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 May 2021, 00:02   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,186
The Amiga 1000 Chip RAM situation in 2021+

Howdy,
The amount of Amigas I have in my house is counted in double digits but only recently did I manage to get hold of a long sought after A1000.

There are some nice solutions for FastRAM out there and also full accelerators like the "Classic 520" which can be preloaded with kickstart etc.. Also, as mentioned in another thread, PiStorm on the A1000 is also a thing..
Ive seen people use an ACA500+ but Inividual Comp seems to advise against it.
So.. then what about the chip RAM situation. Fortunately, my machine has the 256k in the front.. But going beyond 512k chipram in A1000 used to be problematic.. from day 1. I'm only finding old info about stuff like the rejuvenator board, Phoenix board.. stuff that's just stupid rare etc..

But hey its 2021 now, and I'm trying to read up on what out there for the original Amiga. (Are there any Agnus adapter boards and other hacks that turn fastram into chipram (Like the ACA500+ does if you have the right Agnus))

If someone could suggest a few interesting products or projects (if they exist) that would be great.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 00:13   #2
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,152
I envy you, I never managed to even touch an A1000, let alone use or own one. To me, it's still kind of the holy grail of Amiga's

Sadly, I don't know of any projects for the A1000 that do what you want. However, there is one small detail I'd like to point out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
(Are there any Agnus adapter boards and other hacks that turn fastram into chipram (Like the ACA500+ does if you have the right Agnus))
The ACA500/ACA500+ can only transform Slow RAM into Chip RAM, it sadly can't change Fast RAM into Chip RAM. This is because Slow RAM is on the Agnus bus already and most A500's have a 1MB capable Agnus built in. Fast RAM is not on the Agnus bus, so it can't be accessed by the custom chips even with tricks like the ACA 500(+).

Well, at least not at present - never say never and all that
Hope you find a solution for your A1000 though!
roondar is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 00:26   #3
Firthy2002
2nd era...
Firthy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 38
Posts: 288
Send a message via ICQ to Firthy2002 Send a message via AIM to Firthy2002 Send a message via MSN to Firthy2002 Send a message via Yahoo to Firthy2002
I thought someone was working on recreating the Rejuvenator with modern components?
Firthy2002 is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 03:57   #4
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,802
Sadly there is no solution for this at all but yes Amigalove.com is supposedly working on a rejuvenator resurrection
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 03:59   #5
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,405
There's always the GBA-1000.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 05:15   #6
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 348
Go to Jens Schonfeld’s forum on his possible plans for the A1000
https://forum.icomp.de/index.php?thr...-aca500-ace1k/

Jens: I was tinkering a little with a real 2MB Agnus on the A1000, but due to the limited quantity of chips available, I Have dropped this idea. It will probably be an Agnus-implementation in an FPGA - some time next year. Sept. 2019
Signman is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 08:15   #7
Tigerskunk
Tigerskunk!

Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,366
I think our best chance is that new Rejuvenator board, if it ever materializes.
I am using the ACA500+ on my 1000 as well, worls like a charm.
I'd love to buy an upright ACA1000 though, that would hopefully not stand out on the right side like a sore thumb..
Tigerskunk is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 13:09   #8
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Sadly there is no solution for this at all but yes Amigalove.com is supposedly working on a rejuvenator resurrection
@Firthy2002 & @TjLaZer Yes, the resurrection of the rejuvinator has been going on for a while. I've also seen the attempts by AmigaLove but then sometime in 2019 that attempt ended.. However, now that I checked again, it seems he sent his board to some ppl in Germany ("Joethezombie" being the key figure) who have been hard at work with reverse engineering the board. As I understand it, the hardware part is "done", however there are some "locked" PAL chips on the board that they still haven't managed to figure out. Just recently (like this month) someone thought there were positive signs that it might actually be possible to figure out these PAL chips by probing the outputs..
https://github.com/psurply/ReGAL

So it seems this would be THE upgrade to get for all A1000 lovers out there.
So let us hope this goes well..
But if it fails, not sure if there is an obvious plan B (for chip ram) right now..?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 26 May 2021, 13:12   #9
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
I think our best chance is that new Rejuvenator board, if it ever materializes.
I am using the ACA500+ on my 1000 as well, worls like a charm.
I'd love to buy an upright ACA1000 though, that would hopefully not stand out on the right side like a sore thumb..
Someone modded a case from a dead A1010 drive and put the ACA500+ inside
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 18 January 2022, 21:17   #10
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,186
Btw, in case those interested still managed to miss this one..
They did it! The Rejuvinator is fully reverse engineered!
Upcoming tweaks to the design will most likely allow for less rare Fat Agnus versions as that is currently a real issue... (Also, the Video port is probably another thing that will be swapped for something more useful).
[ Show youtube player ]
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2022, 18:07   #11
deimos
It's coming back!

deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: comp.sys.amiga
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Btw, in case those interested still managed to miss this one..
They did it! The Rejuvinator is fully reverse engineered!
Upcoming tweaks to the design will most likely allow for less rare Fat Agnus versions as that is currently a real issue... (Also, the Video port is probably another thing that will be swapped for something more useful).
[ Show youtube player ]
But you need a 1000 with a daughter board to use it, so it's no good for most European / PAL 1000s.
deimos is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 00:42   #12
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by deimos View Post
But you need a 1000 with a daughter board to use it, so it's no good for most European / PAL 1000s.
Unfortunately.. yes... Though I guess there are plenty of NTSC A1000s in Europe by now. (9 out of 10 A1000 listings (if not more) on ebay are US NTSC machines).
But yea, not much joy for the rest from that valiant effort.

Seems PAL machine owners will have to decide between modern trickery that basically replaces most of the A1000 (PiStorm, Vampire, A1100 motherboard etc) or keeping it more genuine and accept the chipRAM limitations ("Classic 520", ACA500+).
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 10:18   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by deimos View Post
But you need a 1000 with a daughter board to use it, so it's no good for most European / PAL 1000s.
Really most? I've had I think five A1000s and only one was without the DB.

Perhaps it was different in the continent.
Jope is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 10:42   #14
Tigerskunk
Tigerskunk!

Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,366
Same here, got a daughter board one.
Tigerskunk is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 11:53   #15
deimos
It's coming back!

deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: comp.sys.amiga
Posts: 762
At least 50% of mine are without the daughter board.
deimos is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 12:10   #16
Tigerskunk
Tigerskunk!

Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by deimos View Post
At least 50% of mine are without the daughter board.
Are you living in Munich, Deimos?
Tigerskunk is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 12:24   #17
deimos
It's coming back!

deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: comp.sys.amiga
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerskunk View Post
Are you living in Munich, Deimos?
No... Should I be?
deimos is offline  
Old 20 January 2022, 12:39   #18
Tigerskunk
Tigerskunk!

Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by deimos View Post
No... Should I be?
Nah, just saw "monaco", and Munich is called "Monaco di Baviera" in italian I think.
So us Munich folks call our city like that sometimes in jest as well.

Would have invited you to our local Amiga meet ups if you were living here.
Tigerskunk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sidecar ram, plus fast ram, chip ram behavior kaluce support.Hardware 6 21 May 2019 17:38
Amiga 1000, RAM and Hard Drive Support JohnnyL support.Hardware 1 13 September 2010 00:21
Amiga 1000 Chip RAM dansalvato support.Hardware 3 27 April 2010 07:43
Amiga 1000 - 1MB RAM? dansalvato support.Hardware 3 21 June 2009 19:13
Amiga 1000 RAM hotwire132002 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 11 June 2004 00:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13455 seconds with 13 queries