English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2021, 23:46   #1
Malakie
Registered User

Malakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 178
blizzard PPC 040

Hi,

I have a blizzard PPC 040 setup in an A1200. I am having problems in one way.. getting the thing to actually finish a boot and load to WB.

It boots and is clearly loading but about mid load, it stops. Just stops. No errors, nothing.

If I attach another bootable drive and boot off that and use HDToolbox to look at the still attached scsi connected drive from the Blizzard card, it shows it there, it is set to boot top priority, the drive appears on workbench just fine and I can read/write no problem..

it is hanging on something but I don't know what. Is there an easy way to diagnose or does anyone have a clue what it might be hanging on from past experience?
Malakie is offline  
Old 13 December 2021, 00:08   #2
Jpor
Banned

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malakie View Post
Hi,

I have a blizzard PPC 040 setup in an A1200. I am having problems in one way.. getting the thing to actually finish a boot and load to WB.

It boots and is clearly loading but about mid load, it stops. Just stops. No errors, nothing.

If I attach another bootable drive and boot off that and use HDToolbox to look at the still attached scsi connected drive from the Blizzard card, it shows it there, it is set to boot top priority, the drive appears on workbench just fine and I can read/write no problem..

it is hanging on something but I don't know what. Is there an easy way to diagnose or does anyone have a clue what it might be hanging on from past experience?
Are you using the correct libraries for the 68040?

When you say you are booting a drive. From what? Internal IDE or is the BPPC you have the SCSI version?

Have checked the SCSI settings on the BPPC is booting from the SCSI header? <Hold and press ESC key> on power up or after CTRL+Amiga+Amiga to get into the BPPC menu.
Jpor is offline  
Old 13 December 2021, 21:59   #3
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
Do you see any text on screen at all? If not, the likely culprit is the startup-sequence. You can find out by holding both mousebuttons and boot without it. If you get a DOS prompt the hardware and OS works fine.

I would just find where it stops and fix it so it boots to WB. But if you can't do this, I would backup the drive, then re-install the drive. Then you could make everything shiny and new with all the stuff you want (or don't want) as you like while still have the data preserved.

If you suspect the hardware, I would boot a MemTest disk such as MemTest87 (there are probably other trusted ones). But without more to go on, it sounds like the hardware is OK and it's a software problem.

Last edited by Photon; 13 December 2021 at 22:04.
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Blizzard 040/PPC problem wixet support.Hardware 4 17 March 2011 23:53
WTB: Blizzard PPC 040 with lowest PPC stachu100 MarketPlace 1 08 June 2010 10:26
BPPC 040/25MHz+PPC for Blizzard/DCE 1260. Sallinen Swapshop 7 13 October 2008 09:05
Upgradinga Blizzard PPC 603e 040 to 060 Vairn support.Hardware 5 23 January 2008 18:13
Blizzard PPC 040/25 + PPC 603 @160mhz + SCSI + BVision BippyM MarketPlace 14 04 August 2006 12:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08525 seconds with 15 queries