English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2007, 08:33   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation Can't install Eagleplayer 2.03 - Script fault!

[mod: this belongs to *PROBLEMS - apps - sorry! TIA for moving]

When trying to install Eagleplayer 2.03 (beta) from Aminet, I get this:

"DEST: String argument expected in line 370"

This is the section in question:
Code:
(user 2)

    (set target (askdir (prompt #which-disk)
			        (help @askdir-help)
			        (default "Work:")
			        (disk)
    )
 )
(
	(makedir (tackon target "Eagleplayer")) 
	(copyfiles
		(source ("EagleplayerDir.info"))
[370]		(dest target/Eagleplayer.info)

	(set @default-dest target)
	)
)

Unfortunately, I'm not too familiar with install script syntax

I have Installer 43.3, which should be enough by far!
Have I really found a script bug which has been lurking in the package for years?

Last edited by andreas; 10 June 2007 at 09:39.
andreas is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 10:13   #2
TikTok
Registered User
 
TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 43
Posts: 657
At a guess I would say the target/Eagleplayer.info part should be in quotes (and possible brackets too?), just like the previous line.
TikTok is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 11:28   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks, but I think this is not a good guess. I was assuming the same thing at first but: target is an environment variable, while "Eagleplayer.info" is a value!
andreas is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 12:08   #4
TikTok
Registered User
 
TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 43
Posts: 657
Ah yes, should have spotted that, sorry.

Having said that, isn't Eagleplayer.info also acting as a variable unless it is enclosed in quotes?
TikTok is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 21:29   #5
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
[mod: this belongs to *PROBLEMS - apps - sorry! TIA for moving]
Done
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 11:27   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@Tik Tok
Yes I think so
But that's exactly my problem: I need a mix of a variable and a "hard-coded" value, and I do not know how!
andreas is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:12   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,340
I would suggest trying this change:
Code:
[370]		(dest (tackon target "Eagleplayer.info"))
I read a bit in this guide about copyfiles and tackon

Code:
(tackon <path> <file>)
Concatenates the filename to the pathname and returns resulting string.
That installer syntax guide is ok, but not written in very good english

If that doesnt work, try this:

Code:
[370]		(dest ("Eagleplayer.info"))
alexh is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:12   #8
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
I know nothing about writing or debugging installer scripts so excuse me if I'm wrong with my analysis...

Try changing the line to:

Code:
(dest (tackon target "Eagleplayer.info"))
From what I can see, tackon seems like an append function which returns a string of the 2 values joined together.

Of course, even with that done, you've got 2 other problems to worry about...

"EagleplayerDir.info" doesn't exist in the archive. So the install will fail there. Assuming you did what I did and decide you'll get any .info file for a directory and call it EagleplayerDir.info. Good thinking, except it does little good because right after the copy, we have a:

Code:
(exit)
Now, like I said, I don't know much about Installer scripts but I believe this exits, and sure enough, it did when I tried my "fixes".

I then tried removing the exit and reran. Another bug pops up. Somewhere else in the script it complains about tackon. I don't know where as my installer didn't give me a line number (I guess I should update my installer, eh?).

That's where I've stopped.
It may be a simple fix, or the script may be riddled with bugs. Any install script experts around?
AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:14   #9
AmigaBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 19 Jump Street
Posts: 238
Simultaneous posting by alexh. Mine's more right though, cause mine contains the word assuming.

AmigaBoy is offline  
Old 13 June 2007, 15:34   #10
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
There's no need to install it. Just copy it into a directory.
amiga is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eagleplayer question kkgarbod support.Apps 1 23 May 2010 13:11
EaglePlayer DyLucke request.Apps 2 27 December 2009 14:15
EaglePlayer under WinUAE Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 27 13 December 2008 13:08
Can't open install script's icon THX1138 support.Apps 14 01 July 2005 22:42
Eagleplayer now GPL Frog News 11 15 June 2005 15:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:05.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 1.53765 seconds with 15 queries