English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2022, 22:01   #1
nyteshade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Boulder Creek / USA
Posts: 42
AA3000+ Accelerator

Hey folks. I have a A3660/50 but I’m seeking an accelerator that has accelerator RAM (for speed) and the A3660 does not. What should I be looking for?

I have a Hese built AA3000+.

Thanks,
Brielle
nyteshade is offline  
Old 22 May 2022, 01:17   #2
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,803
Wait for the TF4060 card.

https://www.retrounlim.com/2022/04/2...r-a3000-a4000/
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 22 May 2022, 03:01   #3
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,711
There is an memory adapter in the works for the A3660. Haven't seen updates recently, though
Hedeon is offline  
Old 22 May 2022, 12:35   #4
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,154
I’ve got two of those A3660 memory boards being built up at the moment. Doubt they’ll work in an AA3000+ though (or 3000 or 4000T) due to scsi / no dma issue. So 4000D only.
trixster is offline  
Old 22 May 2022, 12:36   #5
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Or Matze’s new card. Word is the pcbs and BOM will be released this month
trixster is offline  
Old 23 May 2022, 20:39   #6
nyteshade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Boulder Creek / USA
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
Hey folks. I have a A3660/50 but I’m seeking an accelerator that has accelerator RAM (for speed) and the A3660 does not. What should I be looking for?

I have a Hese built AA3000+.

Thanks,
Brielle

Thanks everyone. As far as A4K vs A3K it’s hard to tell how much if any DMA is supported given it’s half an A4K
nyteshade is offline  
Old 24 May 2022, 09:04   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
Thanks everyone. As far as A4K vs A3K it’s hard to tell how much if any DMA is supported given it’s half an A4K
The DMA problem is with the A3660's RAM board. The AA3000++ SCSI will stop working if you don't have a DMA capable CPU card.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 May 2022, 21:40   #8
nyteshade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Boulder Creek / USA
Posts: 42
Wow I did not know that! Thanks.
nyteshade is offline  
Old 26 May 2022, 12:52   #9
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
Thanks everyone. As far as A4K vs A3K it’s hard to tell how much if any DMA is supported given it’s half an A4K
Half an A4K!

Damn it man....It's everything the A4K should have been when it was released.

Onboard SCSI, DSP Sound, PCI, blah blah blah...

I'd be leaning more towards Hese's AA3000+ being at least 1.5 x an A3000, maybe 2.0

Half indeed!
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 26 May 2022, 15:42   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The DMA problem is with the A3660's RAM board. The AA3000++ SCSI will stop working if you don't have a DMA capable CPU card.
This is quite likely a SW issue and might be possible to fix by modifying the A3000 SCSI driver in Kickstart ROM.

There were similar issues with the CDTV CD-ROM driver where it requested memory for DMA buffers but didn't specify it needed 24-bit DMA capable memory.

It was possible to HEXEDIT the driver find the AllocMEM calls and add MEMF_24BITDMA to the call.
alexh is online now  
Old 27 May 2022, 19:17   #11
nyteshade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Boulder Creek / USA
Posts: 42
You guys are awesome. Thank you.
nyteshade is offline  
Old 29 May 2022, 16:19   #12
Leon Besson
Registered User
Leon Besson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Anywhere and everywhere I have a contract
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
You guys are awesome. Thank you.
That’s what they do Mang! One of the reasons I joined on here
Leon Besson is offline  
Old 30 May 2022, 08:17   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
This is quite likely a SW issue and might be possible to fix by modifying the A3000 SCSI driver in Kickstart ROM.
DMA to chip RAM or Z2 RAM (if installed) will probably work by setting a narrow mask for the partitions.

I don't know enough about the super dmac to know whether it is possible to do PIO transfers with it.
Jope is offline  
Old 30 May 2022, 10:34   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
DMA to chip RAM or Z2 RAM (if installed) will probably work by setting a narrow mask for the partitions.
Yes I forgot about that. The right mask setting in HDtool box when partitioning the drive might prevent the driver trying to DMA outside of DMA capable RAM.

That wasn't possible with the CDTV CD-ROM driver
alexh is online now  
Old 31 May 2022, 14:43   #15
nyteshade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Boulder Creek / USA
Posts: 42
Who has more info on that bit?
nyteshade is offline  
Old 01 June 2022, 08:53   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
Who has more info on that bit?
What bit?
alexh is online now  
Old 01 June 2022, 13:14   #17
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
What bit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
DMA to chip RAM or Z2 RAM (if installed) will probably work by setting a narrow mask for the partitions.

I don't know enough about the super dmac to know whether it is possible to do PIO transfers with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Yes I forgot about that. The right mask setting in HDtool box when partitioning the drive might prevent the driver trying to DMA outside of DMA capable RAM.

That wasn't possible with the CDTV CD-ROM driver
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
Who has more info on that bit?
Maybe the Bold Bits....
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 01 June 2022, 15:39   #18
nyteshade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Boulder Creek / USA
Posts: 42
The proper mask settings. Of course.
nyteshade is offline  
Old 01 June 2022, 18:44   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyteshade View Post
The proper mask settings. Of course.
The HDToolbox mask is IIRC 1-bit for every bit of a 32-bit memory space. So by setting only 24-bits you're guaranteeing that the OS filesystem will never make DMA buffers outside of Chip/Motherboard Fast/ZorroII Fast RAM.

0x00FFFFFC

Last edited by alexh; 01 June 2022 at 18:50.
alexh is online now  
Old 03 June 2022, 00:01   #20
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 58
Posts: 656
First, this thread is off topic here and should be moved into support.hardware. Hopefully, a GM will do that for us.


Second, I hate to rain on the parade here, but if your proposed mask solution would have worked for the X-Calibur, then don't you think someone would have reported this by now?

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/xcalibur

The problem with mask is it only affects filesystem transfers. But what about SCSI direct transfers? In particular, reading the RDB from the drive, which of course needs to be done first in order to boot from the drive.
SpeedGeek is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AA3000+ Amiga 3000 AGA motherboard hese Hardware mods 83 10 February 2022 22:24
AA3000+ 80000005 Random Errors matt3k support.Hardware 20 23 November 2021 07:24
AA3000+ DSP emulation abu_the_monkey request.UAE Wishlist 45 02 September 2021 11:39
AA3000 + with installed mmulibs keeps crashing Cyberstormer support.Hardware 5 29 July 2021 22:52
Digital video out options for AA3000+? matt3k support.Hardware 2 17 December 2020 04:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09979 seconds with 15 queries