English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2021, 19:58   #1
pgru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Earth
Posts: 3
300 Kbit/sec and Amiga?

Hi and thank You for reply in advance
I have Y-E DATA floppy drive that have 300 jumper on board. It's 3,5 HD drive as far as I can find info on Internet(after watching the drive, and reading technical/jumpers info for other Y-E DATA floppy drives).


If I understand it well it will send data with 300 Kbit/sec transfer rate. Just trying to find if it:
1) Work in HD mode(e.g. 2 MB unformatted floppies)
2) if above yes - would Amiga read data, e.g. from HD floppy disk, formatted as HD?
Are there any drives, or other software/hardware Amiga things needed for it? I guess that probably to run as external drive it would need at least some chip that will tell Amiga that this is HD drive, correct moving of Disk Ready and maybe Disk Change(but Disk Change can be done by WB, isn't it?), of course Drive Select. But there are probably jumpers for Disk Ready, and Drive Select on floppy drive.
pgru is offline  
Old 18 May 2021, 18:48   #2
Firthy2002
2nd era...
Firthy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 38
Posts: 287
Send a message via ICQ to Firthy2002 Send a message via AIM to Firthy2002 Send a message via MSN to Firthy2002 Send a message via Yahoo to Firthy2002
The Amiga's custom chip Paula was never upgraded to natively support HD floppy drives. HD floppy drives for the Amiga have been modified so that they spin at half speed. There are only a few models that are compatible, and they are fairly scarce.
Standard PC floppy drives can't be used with the Amiga's native floppy controller to read HD floppies. However they can be used with other floppy controllers such as CatWeasel.
Firthy2002 is offline  
Old 18 May 2021, 22:42   #3
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 873
That 300 jumper probably means 300 rpm, which is the normal floppy rpm for both DD and HD disks. To halve the data rate to make a HD disk work with Paula, the drive needs to spin at 150 rpm. This is how Amiga HD floppy drives work.

External USB floppy drives like the common Y-E Data ones have a floppy controller in the dongle/case that often supports 2X data rate -- i.e. 600 rpm operation. That 300 jumper is probably to force the drive into regular 300 rpm mode.
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 300 + ACA630 cosmiq support.Hardware 5 26 August 2015 08:36
Amiga cd32 screen ok for 3 sec pixel_fantasy support.Hardware 1 08 February 2014 14:19
Amiga 600 Kickstart 37.299 to 37.300?? johndoe3500 support.Hardware 5 19 August 2005 10:50
$300 amiga monitor? Unknown_K Retrogaming General Discussion 6 04 February 2004 22:52
300+ boxed Amiga games Nausea MarketPlace 4 16 November 2001 14:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10450 seconds with 15 queries