English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.AmigaOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2022, 21:17   #1
spawnterror
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Space
Posts: 7
PIPE: already mounted

Hello Amiga fans!

I have installed fresh 3.2 and I got an error upon boot:

Error: Device PIPE: is already mounted

I can not trace it anywhere in the startup sequence to be honest.

The only thing I have installed on the fresh system is the PCMCIA drivers and Directory Opus 4.

Could anyone give me a hint or solution please?

Thanks!
spawnterror is offline  
Old 05 August 2022, 21:27   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,085
3.2 should have some trace function built-in. Try early-startup-menu.
daxb is offline  
Old 05 August 2022, 21:53   #3
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnterror View Post
Hello Amiga fans!

I have installed fresh 3.2 and I got an error upon boot:

Error: Device PIPE: is already mounted

I can not trace it anywhere in the startup sequence to be honest.

The only thing I have installed on the fresh system is the PCMCIA drivers and Directory Opus 4.

Could anyone give me a hint or solution please?

Thanks!
It means exactly what it says. Apparently, you try to mount PIPE: somewhere, but the system already does that for you. The kickstart mounts PIPE:. Thus, somewhere or something attempts to mount PIPE: again, and this won't work. This is surely not the startup-sequence of 3.2, but some other part. Check for example S:User-Startup, check for a "mount" command, and just remove it.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 05 August 2022, 22:32   #4
spawnterror
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Space
Posts: 7
That's the problem, I couldn't find it in startup or user sequence.
spawnterror is offline  
Old 05 August 2022, 22:37   #5
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,746
dosdrivers?
zipper is online now  
Old 06 August 2022, 00:24   #6
spawnterror
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Space
Posts: 7
What do you mean? The fat95 for PCMCIA?
spawnterror is offline  
Old 06 August 2022, 10:29   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,592
No, Devs/DosDrivers/PIPE

It shouldn't be there in 3.2.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 August 2022, 12:39   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,085
If it is not in WBStartup then you will find it in S-S or U-S when you use the trace function. It should be really easy to find.
daxb is offline  
Old 06 August 2022, 20:26   #9
spawnterror
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Space
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
when you use the trace function. It should be really easy to find.
Haha. It would if I knew how to use the trace function
spawnterror is offline  
Old 06 August 2022, 21:13   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,085
As far as I know hold both mouse buttons on startup to get the early-startup-menu. Somewhere there should be an option that enables the trace function.
daxb is offline  
Old 06 August 2022, 22:16   #11
spawnterror
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Space
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
No, Devs/DosDrivers/PIPE

It shouldn't be there in 3.2.
Jackpot. I have no idea how it ended there in the first place. Maybe with the PCMCIA install disk? I ran it in expert mode, but didn't notice any prompts for it.
THANKS!
spawnterror is offline  
Old 06 August 2022, 23:21   #12
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 68
Posts: 7,488
As you were told OS 3.2 automatically mounts PIPE from KicKstart, which does not use the Mount command.

If you have that error it is because you have Mountlist somewhere that might be:

- Startup-sequence
- User-Startup
- WBStartup
- Storage/DOSDrivers

But it could also be anywhere else, with the Search program, try searching for the word PIPE, you will surely find where the Mountlist is.

If it is in Storage/DOSDrivers or other place other than the one listed then there will also be the command Mount PIPE:
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 07 August 2022, 20:23   #13
spawnterror
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Space
Posts: 7
I have no idea what a Search program or trace function is to be honest. I have already found the issue when dosdrivers were suggested.
spawnterror is offline  
Old 07 August 2022, 21:01   #14
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,829
Hold both mouse buttons while turning the system on, go to the boot options of the early startup screen, there enable tracing of the startup-sequence.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 08 August 2022, 00:23   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 68
Posts: 7,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnterror View Post
I have no idea what a Search program or trace function is to be honest. I have already found the issue when dosdrivers were suggested.
Ever heard of applications called Search or Find? these programs exist in all OS including cell phones

I attach a screenshot showing the shortcut how to run "Find" from the Workbench menu, open the GUI type what is shown in the screenshot.

Once this is done you will find the file named PIPE which you will need to delete including its Icon.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Find.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	128.7 KB
ID:	76265  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video recording - pipe to ffmpeg NoX1911 support.FS-UAE 2 21 October 2016 22:30
Pipe Mania (Empire) Avanze MarketPlace 0 11 April 2016 21:39
\\.\pipe\WinUAE boir support.WinUAE 17 23 October 2015 08:57
Amiga, vfork(), and pipe() tygre Coders. General 5 03 December 2011 01:35
Pipe Dream (original) MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 3 16 December 2010 22:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08654 seconds with 16 queries