English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

Old 06 October 2021, 01:30   #1
DanielAllsopp

Robocop AGA

Initial Update / Background

As I've enjoyed following the development threads for the likes of Rygar, Kung Fu Master, Pacman, Turrican 2 AGA etc. I thought I'd create a thread to document progress of my Robocop port for AGA Amigas.

Although I've been a high-level programmer for 20-odd years now, this is my first delve into 68k ASM and utilising the Amiga hardware by "banging the metal", and I must say it's bloody hard work!

I started with Photon's startup code and tutorials, and over the past 18 months have tinkered on, bent more experienced coders' ears (quite a lot) and through experimenting with various other ports and ripped graphics, settled on Robocop and came up with what we have today.

Now, please don't expect updates or the general development progress that you're used to seeing from the likes of mcgeezer, jotd or Muzza... I have nowhere near the experience that those guys have but I'll try and keep on top of this and post progress when I can.

The current engine is nothing special; it runs in 64 colours, utilising 64 pixel wide sprites for the background parallax on level 1, and a 4x fetch mode. Graphics were converted from the arcade originals, and reduced down with Paint and Photoshop into various banks of 16 colours; Robocop is 16 colours and I think the background right now is 32 colours although I could be wrong.

I use PPaint and PicCon on the Amiga, and Photoshop, Tiled and Aseprite on the Mac. Emulation is with FS-UAE.

My first test engine was an initial attempt at scrolling through a map using the hardware, and blitting into an offscreen column:

[ Show youtube player ]

This worked well, but I still had to implement the blitter restore routine for the main sprite. I was happy with my progress up to now though, so that head-scratcher could wait!
Old 06 October 2021, 01:33   #2