English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2022, 05:02   #1
Steam Ranger
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 16
Pre-boot System Libraries?

I have 2 questions:

1 | Can libraries such as Intuition, DOS etc. be used without workbench? (Are they part of kickstart?)

2 | How do I make a program that inserts itself to boot before WB (Installed on HDD), and then can start workbench up itself later on.

Edit: |||
3 | Can Copper or Blitter copy things from the screen into RAM? Like say intuition used copper or blitter to put stuff on the screen, can another program retrieve what it put there?
|||

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Steam Ranger; 22 September 2022 at 05:49.
Steam Ranger is offline  
Old 22 September 2022, 06:57   #2
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steam Ranger View Post
1 | Can libraries such as Intuition, DOS etc. be used without workbench? (Are they part of kickstart?)
All libraries (but the workbench.library) can be used without the workbench. Whether the workbench is run or not only depends on the loadwb command in the startup sequence. The only thing ths program does is to open the workbench.library. The question you have may be which libraries can be used without having access to a boot partition (note that this is a different question). The dos.library is apparently not on disk as it is needed for accessing the disk. Intuition is currently also in ROM, but can be upgraded from disk and will be loaded from there if present from Os 3.2 onwards.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Steam Ranger View Post
2 | How do I make a program that inserts itself to boot before WB (Installed on HDD), and then can start workbench up itself later on.
By placing it into the startup-sequence. It would be rather unpleasant for the user if such a program starts the workbench itself. That is up to LoadWB.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steam Ranger View Post

3 | Can Copper or Blitter copy things from the screen into RAM?
The copper cannot copy anything. All it can do is load values at particular times into chipset registers. The blitter can copy RAM, but only chip memory, i.e. RAM regions where the chipset has access to (somehow a tautology, of course). It does not have access to expansion RAM of any kind.


AmigaOs does not implement any type of memory isolation, unfortunately, so from a purely physical perspective, any program can access any data from any other program, but that still does not make this a a good design. Typically, programs exchange data through data structures of the operating system, such as messages and message ports (or higher absractions that are build on such primitives, such as AREXX).
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 22 September 2022, 07:20   #3
Steam Ranger
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Whether the workbench is run or not only depends on the loadwb command in the startup sequence. The only thing ths program does is to open the workbench.library.
How can I programmatically insert a DOS file into the startup sequenc? For instance: A HD installer would copy its program onto disk, and then it would tell the startup sequence to run that file. How'd I do that?
Steam Ranger is offline  
Old 22 September 2022, 09:59   #4
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,400
Installer scripts can add commands to the user's User-startup script.

Doing that to the user's Startup-sequence script is not supported by the Installer, to discourage such practices.
Minuous is offline  
Old 22 September 2022, 21:17   #5
freakofnature
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Darksideofthemoon
Posts: 50
Judging from your questions in #1 i doubt you get anywhere, but a simple solution for your s-s question is to rename original s-s, write your own s-s with your dos commands and add a call to the renamed s-s at the end. These changes can be undone easily in case everything gets fucked up.
s-s means startup-sequence
freakofnature is offline  
Old 23 September 2022, 08:32   #6
Steam Ranger
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 16
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Installer scripts can add commands to the user's User-startup script.

Doing that to the user's Startup-sequence script is not supported by the Installer, to discourage such practices.
What's an installer "script", and is the user's user-startup sequence a file accessible using DOS?
Steam Ranger is offline  
Old 23 September 2022, 09:05   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 25,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steam Ranger View Post
What's an installer "script", and is the user's user-startup sequence a file accessible using DOS?
Have a look at the guide in this archive: https://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Installer-43_3
TCD is offline  
Old 23 September 2022, 11:18   #8
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steam Ranger View Post
What's an installer "script", and is the user's user-startup sequence a file accessible using DOS?

The installer is a program that comes with the Os that copies files from the distribution package to their destinations in the target system, let the user choose various configuration options and can also modify the user-startup for you. It is the preferred option to get software installed on the Amiga.


The installer script is the installation procedure. It is using a dialect of lisp to define how the installation works. It is not particularly hard to program.


The user-startup-sequence is surely accessible through the dos.library (as all other files), however the installer inserts particular markers into the file that allows the user (and the installer) to find out section of the file belongs to which program.
Thomas Richter is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga System Libraries include for VASM JuanLuis Coders. Asm / Hardware 8 07 June 2020 10:24
Opening system libraries in Blitz. peceha Coders. Blitz Basic 3 21 August 2018 12:10
Added a System But Now It Takes a Long Time to Boot Up..? spannernick support.Amiga Forever 13 09 July 2016 15:21
Pre-used A3000 Boot Issues Perran support.Hardware 1 30 December 2010 01:45
Pre-Ebay - Lovely A1200 System Methanoid MarketPlace 6 21 September 2004 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07767 seconds with 15 queries