English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 09 June 2020, 04:49   #1
videofx

A1200 and PCI Mediator

Just got my Elbox Blackbox case with Mediator and ATI Radeon 512k PCI video ca

When using the ATI video card VGA will the 1200 switch modes automatically or do I need to use the 23 pin video out on the 1200 motherboard?

Is there a best practices resolution and video drivers? ie Cybervision vs Picasso96?

Any help would be greatly appreciated since I have never used mediator before!

Thanks!
Old 09 June 2020, 07:59   #2
DanyPPC

You have to use a scandoubler and a switcher for the PAL and VGA Card output, if you use a Monitor, or simply use a TV/Monitor with Scart Input and switch through TV commands.

You have to use Picasso with the Radeon installed on a Mediator busboard.
Old 09 June 2020, 10:15   #3
TheMrKocour

Code:
Just got my Elbox Blackbox case with Mediator and ATI Radeon 512k PCI video ca

By Radeon 512K you mean what? Radeon 9200 have 128 or 256 MB RAM. Only supported cards are: S3 Virge, S3 Trio, Voodoo3/Benchee, Radeon 9200.

Code:
When using the ATI video card VGA will the 1200 switch modes automatically or do I need to use the 23 pin video out on the 1200 motherboard?

Mediator will not pass Amiga video. When you launch some game (whdload etc) video will go out from 23 PIN RGB. So you need Ratte Monitor Switch + Scandoubler or display with 15khz support.

Code:
Is there a best practices resolution and video drivers? ie Cybervision vs Picasso96?

Unfortunately Mediator doesnt support CyberGrapX from Phase5, only Picasso96

Code:
Any help would be greatly appreciated since I have never used mediator before!
Best practice https://mediators.github.io/
Old 09 June 2020, 10:19   #4
TheMrKocour