English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2024, 22:39   #1
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 290
WinUAE64 on Fedora 39 and Wine 9

Fedora 39
wine-9.0 (Staging)
WinUAE64.exe 5.2.0 (but also true with 5.0.0 and 4.4.0)


68020 JIT

JIT: Serious Error:
JIT: 64-bit pointer (0x101080000) at C:\projects\winuae\src\jit\compemu_support.cpp:2579 (fatal)

If I untick JIT, it starts and run well.
What's wrong ? (It's Wine the culprit )
Gilloo is offline  
Old 22 February 2024, 23:57   #2
dazzleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Hi


Can confirm the same error when I run it from the default wineprefix (.wine).


I'm on OpenSUSE Tumbleweed, probably latest Wine staging, and same error on 68040.


However, I usually run WinUAE through Lutris, and using a different wineprefix, and it works fine.


In fact, I've just tried it again and noticed that if I set the runner option in Lutris to "Wine Staging" I get the error, but I normally have it on "Proton Experimental" (I have Steam installed also) and it's fine with that one.



dazzleman
dazzleman is offline  
Old 23 February 2024, 11:15   #3
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 290
The line 2579 of the compemu_support.cpp matches with this:

return (addr >= uae_p32(kickmem_bank.baseaddr) ../..

static inline int isinrom(uintptr addr)
{
#ifdef UAE
return (addr >= uae_p32(kickmem_bank.baseaddr) &&
addr < uae_p32(kickmem_bank.baseaddr + 8 * 65536));
#else
return ((addr >= (uintptr)ROMBaseHost) && (addr < (uintptr)ROMBaseHost + ROMSize));
#endif
}
Gilloo is offline  
Old 23 February 2024, 19:52   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,534
I don't know what goes wrong with wine but due to way JIT is done, all data must be inside first 4G of process address space. (don't ask me, I don't want to know)

(I am not sure if Aranym updates got away with this limit. Done few years ago)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 February 2024, 20:00   #5
AmiRico
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 5
Yes, this is a Wine regression. I don't think you have to concern yourself about it, Toni. In any case, it makes no sense to try to work around it within WinUAE. This is something Wine must fix.

In any case, Wine development is progressing so fast at the moment, it is quite possible the bug will go away soon anyway. But I think it would be great to file a detailed bug report with the Wine development team at https://bugs.winehq.org. It seems it is not yet in their bugtracker. Who knows, might help them get rid of it and fix some other problems too. This may be something for Gilloo, because I think you know more about these system internals than I do.
AmiRico is offline  
Old 24 February 2024, 20:57   #6
midimax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 53
Btw. Someone told me "you have to *simply* run Wine as root and everything works".
I *simply* refuse to, so never tried myself, just for the record.
midimax is offline  
Old 25 February 2024, 14:00   #7
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 290
Thanks to all,

We'll see something here:
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=56371

The WinUAE64.exe 5.2.0 is running well on Windows
The tricky thing when changing application/winuae with alt-tab has disapear, the amiga mouse is functionning, before it was frozen and reborn with F12/cancel.
Gilloo is offline  
Old 25 February 2024, 16:35   #8
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
 
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cranbrook, Devon, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by midimax View Post
Btw. Someone told me "you have to *simply* run Wine as root and everything works".
I *simply* refuse to, so never tried myself, just for the record.

Tried running this as root and have not been able to as I needed to do that to get it to see USB memory cards behaving as hard drives. Spoke to the Wine team and they said it's something that will never be implemented due to security.
Yesideez is offline  
Old 25 February 2024, 17:06   #9
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yesideez View Post
Tried running this as root and have not been able to as I needed to do that to get it to see USB memory cards behaving as hard drives. Spoke to the Wine team and they said it's something that will never be implemented due to security.
And it is why I use a hostusb-windows-x86-64.dll to access the real usb stuff in Fedora, passing by a "usb" group. The root is not usefull for wine, it doesn't mean "administrator" for the Windows side.
Gilloo is offline  
Old 25 February 2024, 17:43   #10
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
 
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cranbrook, Devon, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilloo View Post
it doesn't mean "administrator" for the Windows side.
...which is exactly why I spoke to the dev group and they told me it was never going to happen. Wine can be run as root but nothing inside it can.
Yesideez is offline  
Old 25 February 2024, 19:56   #11
midimax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 53
Installed Lutris and its wine-GE-8-26 and strangely enough WinUAE with JIT works in this custom Proton version of Wine.

Thank you dazzleman for that tip .

But hopefully that get fixed in Wine itself and not somehow (re-)introduced into the coming Proton 9.

Finally it seems I'm able to get rid of the (slightly outdated and) heavily game focused FS-UAE and can use WinUAE on Linux which fits the more focused on emulating my old Machines than just games needs simply better.

Quote:
Wine can be run as root ...it doesn't mean "administrator"...
Maybe, but would not recommend either. It doesn't mean "administrator" it is even more dangerous, not just for security. As someone with over 20 years of Linux experience (not sure if I miss the "good old" have to build your kernel yourself days ) I prefer (and recommend) to run as little as humanly possible as root.

Last edited by midimax; 25 February 2024 at 20:20.
midimax is offline  
Old 26 February 2024, 16:22   #12
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 290
As I am just updating my old PC with Fedora, how to do install another version of Wine?
I suppose we can't install 2 or more versions side by side.
Gilloo is offline  
Old 26 February 2024, 17:38   #13
midimax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 53
Lutris has its own independent Wine versions.
But the installation is a little bit weird, because in the Lutris settings was a "no Wine installed, wine-GE-8-26 recommended" panel with a big "install wine-GE-8-26" button that did absolutely nothing

At the end I figured out that the "wine" entry at the Lutris main windows has a small, kinda hidden, "Manage Versions" button/symbol which allowed me to install that wine version.

After that I added a "locally installed 'Game'" (unzipped WinUAE) with the little "+" at the very top of the Lutris window, bound to that Wine version with its own wine-prefix, by setting the corresponding options at that "Add Game" Dialog to a empty/new directory. The prefix gets automatically created at the first start of the 'Game'. Disabled "anti-cheat" support just because ...

(all in all the One star "not very accessible..." rating for Lutris I see in my graphical software/apt store is probably for a good reason but I managed to get it working)
midimax is offline  
Old 28 February 2024, 22:07   #14
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 290
@midimax

I've installed lutris and tested with wine-ge-8-26 : it's working with WinUAE64 and the JIT activated.

Gilloo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE64 / Greaseweazle v4 / GoTek whyme968574 support.WinUAE 1 19 May 2023 22:03
WinUAE64 v4.9.1 and MiamiDx tygre support.WinUAE 6 04 January 2023 03:35
unadf for Fedora Linux? palaste support.Other 5 20 March 2021 16:51
winuae64.exe (4.0.0 & 4.0.1) Amiga68k support.WinUAE 5 21 July 2018 12:27
fedora & e-uae (nvidia) cybernoid support.OtherUAE 1 30 July 2008 14:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:47.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12159 seconds with 13 queries