English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2021, 13:08   #1
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 235
Giana Sisters copy protection

Finally got hold of an original Giana Sisters disk. Ripped it as CT raw with my Kryoflux but immediately after loading it in WinUAE, the power LED flashes and WinUAE resets. According to WinUAE's drive status, only track 0 is ever loaded. So the copy protection must be on track 0 side 1 because side 0 is obviously the bootblock and its checksum is OK and it is also identical to the bootblock of the Giana Sisters in SPS. So track 0 side 0 is fine.

So I guess that track 0 side 1 is faulty on the disk and that's why the copy protection kicks in? Or do I need some special options to rip this game using Kryoflux?

FWIW, in the bootblock there is this message: "CopyKillerIII - programmed by Th. Lopatic for Rainbow Arts"
mc68060 is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 04:45   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68060 View Post
Finally got hold of an original Giana Sisters disk. Ripped it as CT raw with my Kryoflux but immediately after loading it in WinUAE, the power LED flashes and WinUAE resets. According to WinUAE's drive status, only track 0 is ever loaded. So the copy protection must be on track 0 side 1 because side 0 is obviously the bootblock and its checksum is OK and it is also identical to the bootblock of the Giana Sisters in SPS. So track 0 side 0 is fine.

So I guess that track 0 side 1 is faulty on the disk and that's why the copy protection kicks in? Or do I need some special options to rip this game using Kryoflux?

FWIW, in the bootblock there is this message: "CopyKillerIII - programmed by Th. Lopatic for Rainbow Arts"
Sent me your CTraw file
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 21:11   #3
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 235
You've got a PM. Be quick, link expires in 6 days
mc68060 is offline  
Old 24 July 2021, 23:04   #4
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,803
Why rip as CT RAW with KF instead of say IPF?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 25 July 2021, 20:00   #5
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Why rip as CT RAW with KF instead of say IPF?
Kryoflux doesn't yet create IPF's, only Denis and SPS can create official IPF's. It's been in the pipeline for years to allow IPF creation for KF users but not actually happened yet, next best thing is disk-utilities for creating your own IPF's, think Giana Sisters uses same or similar format to Apprentice as the official IPF can be converted back to IPF using the 'apprentice' track format in disk-utilities!
BarryB is offline  
Old 26 July 2021, 14:53   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Mc68060 dump shows that his copy of Giana's has been tampered. Either the disk is dirty,and the SPS analyser is unable to recognize the Thomas Lopatic track format, or it has been written with a flux board that has modified the track data.

And yes, until SPS studio happens, Disk utilities is the best thing for IPF creation.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 July 2021, 14:59   #7
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,204
Doesn't Giana Sisters save the high score table to disk? So if the game was ever played with the disk write-enabled it would be modified.
mark_k is offline  
Old 26 July 2021, 15:18   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Doesn't Giana Sisters save the high score table to disk? So if the game was ever played with the disk write-enabled it would be modified.
i have found most tracks unrecognized.
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giana Sisters Special Edition - Giana Sisters overhauled on the Amiga Neil79 News 189 22 April 2019 10:59
The Giana Sisters v1.0 and v1.1 mr.vince HOL data problems 0 07 January 2010 14:01
Giana Sisters jimbob005 Retrogaming General Discussion 65 28 May 2008 03:06
Info: Wanna pay half of your rent with a copy of Giana Sisters? :D andreas MarketPlace 9 12 October 2006 15:04
Giana Sisters? Parsec request.Old Rare Games 5 07 August 2003 04:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07882 seconds with 13 queries