English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2007, 07:07   #1
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,780
Winter Games (that works)

I had a Winter Games copy that seemed to work on my A500 but I got a virus on the disk and I had to delete the WG exe. Which is a weird copy as it was not the main exe, there was a blank file in devs: on the disk. The other copies online had no blank filename in devs:, it was just the WG exe of around 180k. Anyway, anyone have a good copy of this game that runs on a OCS A500? (512k chip/512k Fast)
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 08 November 2007, 09:35   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,103
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes i have this game tjlazer, i'll image it from my original tonight ok and zone it !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 12:39   #3
r6stu
Registered User
r6stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southampton
Age: 41
Posts: 112
I have 10 COPIES OF THE original if you want to pay postage?
r6stu is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 14:23   #4
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 45
Posts: 722
when will we get an hd fix for that ? whd guys, i know it's a hard one but please keep trying!!
pbareges is offline  
Old 17 November 2007, 08:02   #5
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,780
dlfrsilver, did u get a chance to image it?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 November 2007, 21:52   #6
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 896
@r6stu: are they boxed? if so i might be interested in one copy
fryguy is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 15:42   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,103
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ok TJ, after taking a look and see how it goes on the disk, i have a BAD news
for you. I have tried to image my original. Here is my findings :

- What you call a virus on the disk is not a virus, it's part of the copy-protection.
- The track 01 which is an amigaDOS longtrack, was meant to be checksum errored, and if you try to correct it, it crash the amiga when launching.
- The small file with no name in DEVS, is also present in my original which is 297 bytes.
- The protection can't be imaged with rawread.
A part of the WG file is in the protection track !! Which means you can't copy it under any file copier since it will bombs when reading the bad sectors where
the WG file part is.

Only chance is to use a cracked version....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 16:02   #8
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,780
damn, so you cannot ADF it??? I deleted the EXE cuz my virus executioner said it was a virus! What took can I use to salvage the file?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 16:25   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,103
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
this game can't be ADFed ! exactly and my original disk works well.

I have also tried VirusZ in order to check it, and no virus, just some unreadable blocks due to the prot.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 16:30   #10
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,791
As dlfrsilver already said, it´s not a virus. So, "salvation" doesn´t make sense.

I uploaded my version of Winter Games. It´s in .dms format.
Just unpack it with undms (http://aminet.net/search?query=undms) and give it a try.
viddi is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 16:33   #11
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,791
Arg, sorry.

Try http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/foss/xdms/ or search the aminet.
viddi is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 17:01   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi View Post
I uploaded my version of Winter Games. It´s in .dms format.
It's probably this AGA fixed version, right?

Winter Games (1987)(U.S. Gold)[f AGA Fix Ltd]
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 17:06   #13
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,791
Yes, that´s right.
viddi is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 17:15   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,229
A: The LTD AGA fix is crap, only this one works properly:

Winter Games (1987)(U.S. Gold)[f AGA Fix - Foxi]

B: TjLaZer wants a Amiga 500 compatible version.

I hope, Codetapper will finish the WHDLoad install someday.

You get it now, Denis?

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 18 November 2007 at 21:46.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 17:27   #15
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,791
Mhhh...he could try one of these Amiga versions:

http://planetemu.net/?section=recher...&rubrique=roms
viddi is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 19:07   #16
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,103
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
A: This AGA fix is crap, only this one works properly:

Winter Games (1987)(U.S. Gold)[f AGA Fix - Foxi]

B: TjLaZer wants a Amiga 500 compatible version.

I hope, Codetapper will finish the WHDLoad install someday.
Once it has loaded, type WG on the prompt and it works on A1200.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 20:06   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Once it has loaded, type WG on the prompt and it works on A1200.
The "ltd" AGA fix works without typing WG on my real miggy, but some graphics are garbled.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 21:17   #18
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,103
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the aga fix foxi is good with no graphics garbled.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 21:20   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the aga fix foxi is good with no graphics garbled.
LOL, Denis. Thats's what i've written in post #14.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 November 2007, 21:27   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 9,103
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
you said some gfx are garbled !! lool
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epyx Winter Games - ADF? quahappy request.Old Rare Games 5 29 May 2013 15:43
Winter games mai support.Games 1 25 February 2009 22:45
Winter Games preserved? Jerry project.SPS (was CAPS) 13 20 April 2006 19:06
WANTED: The Games - Winter Edition fryguy request.Old Rare Games 2 09 December 2005 01:22
Disk B of The games winter edition onkelarie HOL contributions 2 04 September 2004 03:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12697 seconds with 13 queries