English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 27 June 2018, 13:42   #1
WayforgeCorp

My Amiga hardware project. I need some advice.

Hi everyone, first post here, it may be longer than I'd like! While I'm a grade A tech-head, this is all fairly new to me.

First of all, I'd like to say that I looked through the majority of boards which I thought were relevant and settled on this one being the closest match. My project kind of encompasses all aspects of the Amiga, so it's a square peg, round hole situation.

A Bit of Back Story (skip this if you're the TL;DR type!)

I've been building PCs since around 1996 and sort of missed out on the Amiga period, but did get to play with some as a child. Now I'm the ops manager/senior technician for a major MSP and deal exclusively with Mac and PC hardware running MacOS or Windows. I have to say, I'm pretty fed up with the state of the main operating systems, both mobile and otherwise. I main Slackware on my laptop, but rarely have time to use it due to work commitments being Microsoft based.

My most recent project was a performance PC build, and as it was the first I'd ever built new for myself (not customer or friend and not second hand parts) I thought I'd do it properly. So I went all out, within reason. 16 cores, 32GB RAM, 2x1080Tis SSD RAID arrays, water cooled... you know the deal.

The problem is that Windows 10 is an absolute dog. Both functionally and ethically. We are a MS (and Apple) partner and I've got more MS/Apple qualifications than I can count, and I hate it... MacOS too. I spent a long time getting the new hardware to work with Windows 7 instead of 10 by injecting drivers etc. Microsoft don't 'support' new architecture in 7, it's a 10 only deal to try to get you locked into it. It now works perfectly fine, with the usual W7 issues, as you'd expect.