English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2017, 20:40   #1
PortuguesePilot
Global Moderator
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 538
A1200: Error reading boot block on Gotek

Hey, guys...

I'm not sure if this is the right place, but here it goes:

Recently I got an LBA error with my Gotek. My A1200 has always worked well up until a few days ago when it unexpectedly gave me a "LBA Change Test Failed ! Write Issue ?" message whenever I tried to boot from floppy (a 16GB USB stick on a HxC Gotek).

Thinking it was the USB stick, I changed it and the error persisted. Thinking that it could be the Gotek, changed it and the error persisted. Tried the supposedly faulty Gotek on my A600 and it worked. Changed the floppy and power cables from the A600 to the A1200 and the error persisted.

So it's not a USB stick error, it's not a Gotek error, it's not a cable error, so it's got to be a A1200 error. It does read the autoboot.hfe file but it halts at the LBA error and if I boot from the CF into Workbench and then stick the USB stick onto the Gotek (as if inserting a disk), Workbench displays it as "DF0:unreadable" instead of the usual name.

Now the dreaded question: what could it be? The floppy DMA? Some capacitor that leaked? Is it some sort of other problem?

For reference, it's a 1993 yet unrecapped rev.1D4 Commodore [as in non-Escom] Amiga 1200 fitted with custom Cloanto 3.X ROMs, a stock ACA1221 and an 8GB CF Card. It boots perfectly from the CF and the ACA is working well. Everything is as it should be except for the aforementioned problem. It does recognize the USB stick, it does read the autoboot.hfe but it displays the error right after the version number is loaded (bottom left of loader's menu). Tried to change the autoboot.hfe and the hxcsdfe.cfg file but it still gives the same error. Tried to flash a new firmware but the problem persists. I do think it's something on the A1200, unfortunately.

Any help is welcome.
Thanks.
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 01 June 2017, 20:25   #2
PortuguesePilot
Global Moderator
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 538
Anyone?
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 01 June 2017, 21:05   #3
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
It's always hard to diagnose a machine that has not been recapped as capacitors are usually the first culprit in any glitchy behavior on A1200s.
Can you try the Gotek on another Amiga?
Akira is offline  
Old 02 June 2017, 00:34   #4
PortuguesePilot
Global Moderator
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Can you try the Gotek on another Amiga?
I've done so. It works. Hence why I think the problem is with the A1200 itself.
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 02 June 2017, 00:40   #5
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,518
It sucks but I think your first course of action is recapping. Only with a fresh set of caps can you keep diagnosing.
Akira is offline  
Old 02 June 2017, 02:01   #6
PortuguesePilot
Global Moderator
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 538
Thanks.
PortuguesePilot is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dos-Error 205 (object not found) on reading Cogans Run? retrogamer project.WHDLoad 4 12 May 2016 17:14
Format cfcard block 0 error on win7 under winuae rampartsagain support.WinUAE 16 28 June 2012 04:13
Boot block examples? h0ffman Coders. General 3 04 March 2011 16:44
"block zero write failed!" Error message MoreGrog support.WinUAE 5 21 July 2010 21:30
Why can't I open the Topaz-font in a boot block? Leffmann Coders. General 13 19 May 2010 21:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08966 seconds with 13 queries