English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2021, 22:43   #1
samplist
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 74
P96 Native issues on OS 3.2

I'm creating an enhancement pack for OS 3.2 and I'm using the Native chipset driver for P96. I'm getting these artifacts on the screen, they seem to appear in images. For example, the close icon in TextEdit is not displaying, the images inside amiga guide docs and the delete requesters are displayed mangled.


Anyone else experiencing this?









Last edited by samplist; 15 June 2021 at 23:16.
samplist is offline  
Old 16 June 2021, 00:35   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 68
Posts: 7,356
What graphics card and what video resolution are you using?

I don't have that problem on WinUAE and UAE Zorro III

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 30 June 2021 at 16:26.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 June 2021, 07:33   #3
samplist
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 74
I am using WinUAE as well, no graphics card.
It only happens when the Native driver is present in Devs/Monitors.
samplist is offline  
Old 16 June 2021, 07:37   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 68
Posts: 7,356
P96 should not be used if you do not have a graphics card, can you attach your WinUAE config?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 June 2021, 08:08   #5
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
P96 should not be used if you do not have a graphics card, can you attach your WinUAE config?
He’s using the P96 native driver. That should be fine.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 02 January 2022, 21:12   #6
deluxe1260
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 6
Having the same issues.
P96 is up to date.
OS 3.2.1
Amiga 1200
deluxe1260 is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 10:23   #7
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,745
This looks like an issue of BltMaskBitMapRastPort(), which performs a blit through a mask. Unfortunately, this call had a defect in Os 3.9 and below by expecting an interleaved mask for an interleaved bitmap, instead of a planar mask. P96 and Os 3.1.4 fixed this issue (probably almost simultaneously), but it could be that some application programs still get it wrong and assume that they need to work around a defect which no longer exist. I assume the Os is fine, but what - just to give an example - is creating this icon in the requester? This does not look like the native Os requester, but some patch on top of EasyRequest().

Identify this program, and remove it. Also, Multiview should hopefully be fine when displaying graphics, but that is another call to the Os team to check for proper usage of BltMaskBitMapRastPort() and the mask.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 11:53   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Unfortunately, this call had a defect in Os 3.9 and below by expecting an interleaved mask for an interleaved bitmap, instead of a planar mask.
This was not a defect and it is broken now. There is no point in using interleaved bitmaps if you don't do interleaved blits. And the only way to do an interleaved blit through mask is to use an interleaved mask.
thomas is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 14:27   #9
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,745
Olaf thinks otherwise, and I agree with him. The modulo of the mask should not depend on which type of bitmap you blit to. Actually, BltMaskBitMapRastPort() is not even implemented as "blit through a mask", but as double-xor trick as the blitter does not implement a second source for a mask.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 17:29   #10
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
The shots above are OS components. AsyncWB and Multiview showing a guide file with embedded image or icon.

These defects do not occur with RTG cards.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 18:44   #11
deluxe1260
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 6

Here is issue in Palete Preferences. Yes, this is not RTG. I installed Native driver for gaining some free chip mem. And 400k(in my case) is a lot.
Two versions ago of P96, there were no issues.
I tested it yesterday, when I completely uninstall latest version and then install an older one. (I think it was 2.95?)
deluxe1260 is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 19:42   #12
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,745
Thanks, that reproduced the issue. It is BltMaskBitMap() passing in the wrong modulo for the mask bitmap to the low-level function. I've fixed that for the 3.2.2 release. If you want a beta, please file the bug at iComp.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 03 January 2022, 21:41   #13
deluxe1260
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 6
Great. Thank you for quick response.
I will wait for 3.2.2 then.
deluxe1260 is offline  
Old 17 January 2022, 23:27   #14
deluxe1260
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 6
Yes. 3.2.2 is much much better. But still there is an issue in AmigaGuide. Boingball in reference manual for example(look in the first post). If I open that iff in MultiView, it opens just fine.
For now, I found this glitch only in AmigaGuide.
deluxe1260 is offline  
Old 24 January 2022, 20:50   #15
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,187
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by deluxe1260 View Post
Having the same issues.
P96 is up to date.
OS 3.2.1
Amiga 1200

I just tried 'Native chipset driver for P96' by ThoR on aminet last night with latest P96 from Individual Computers, A1200-030@50 and OS3.2.1 and I'm getting constant boot looping ...had to remove the Native driver in Devs:Monitors to get it to boot normally again


..I noticed the Native file didn't have an icon...not sure if that's the issue?

Last edited by klx300r; 25 January 2022 at 17:34.
klx300r is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 09:23   #16
deluxe1260
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
I just tried 'Native chipset driver for P96' by Thor on aminet last night with latest P96 from Individual Computers, A1200-030@50 and OS3.2.1 and I'm getting constant boot looping ...had to remove the Native driver in Devs:Monitors to get it to boot normally again


..I noticed the Native file didn't have an icon...not sure if that's the issue?

http://aminet.net/package/driver/moni/Native
There is no icon for native driver on aminet.

I also have had boot looping problem after updating to OS3.2.1. Didn’t know that native is the reason. I thought the new s-s is causing it.
But after using maprom function with blizzkick, boot is ok.
deluxe1260 is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 11:47   #17
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
I noticed the Native file didn't have an icon...not sure if that's the issue?
Normally that shouldn't be a problem but you can copy an icon from an other monitor file to the missing one and see if that makes a different.
daxb is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 13:37   #18
Solskogen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Skien / Norway
Posts: 77
I'm not quite understanding what the native driver really does? What's the reason for using P96 if you're not using a RTG card?
Solskogen is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 13:46   #19
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,095
With the P96 driver you can load image data into FastMem instead of ChipMem and you can use the CPU for processing the data instead of calling blitter functions. That's faster in most cases and can save ChipMem.
PeterK is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 17:33   #20
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Normally that shouldn't be a problem but you can copy an icon from an other monitor file to the missing one and see if that makes a different.

just tried this and unfortunately no difference...only way to get my A1200 to boot up is to remove the Native monitor driver file from DEVS:monitors


@ deluxe 1260


interesting that solved the issue but I don't have maprom option on my M-Tec-Viper 030 card at least I don't think so?
klx300r is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New or old version of P96? fxgogo support.WinUAE 6 31 December 2020 22:27
P96: What's the right way to do X? Warty Coders. General 2 21 December 2020 00:00
No native AGA screens on PIV since P96 v3 upgrade LoadWB support.Apps 0 30 October 2020 01:57
P96 Piccolo64SD slk486 project.WHDLoad 26 14 October 2011 11:36
P96 Screen and Sound Issues hurtz project.WHDLoad 9 10 November 2007 09:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10076 seconds with 13 queries