English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2021, 19:02   #1541
Firestone
Registered User

Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz12 View Post
Is it possible to have "Update Rom Modules" unticked by default at every bootup? I'm using a Vampire and have to manually untick it each time otherwise I'll get a guru meditation error and the system won't boot?
Have you tried to load the kickstart with VampireMap? I assume you don't have 3.2 in ROM?
I got 3.1 ROM-chips on my motherboard.

On my vampire600v2 my first lines in S:Startup-sequence is:

Code:
C:VampireMap Devs:Kick32a600 >NIL:
Version exec.library version 47 >NIL:
If Warn
   LoadModule L:System-Startup ROMUPDATE
EndIf
Setpatch >NIL:
Firestone is offline  
Old 27 October 2021, 20:07   #1542
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 479
I've only tried the VampireFlash utility and successfully updated the core rom on my V1200 to Kickstart 3.2. I can try the VampireMap method instead and see if it makes any difference.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 27 October 2021, 21:53   #1543
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 479
Same result with VampireMap - during bootup get a guru error screen. At this point I'll look into the ROM-Updates mechanism Thomas was talking about and see where that gets me.


The weird thing is this same 3.2 installation works fine on my 060 Amiga but not on my V1200.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 27 October 2021, 22:15   #1544
Firestone
Registered User

Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 202
Do you know what line in Startup-sequence the crash occurs? Setpatch maybe?
Firestone is offline  
Old 28 October 2021, 00:52   #1545
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 479
Yes, if I comment out Setpatch it does bootup however then some functionality is lost such as copper-demon not working.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 28 October 2021, 01:03   #1546
Firestone
Registered User

Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 202
Right. Could it be a problem with 680x0 libraries in libs: since the same system boots fine on a 060 machine?
I got no active cpu library in libs:
Firestone is offline  
Old 28 October 2021, 01:39   #1547
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestone View Post
Right. Could it be a problem with 680x0 libraries in libs: since the same system boots fine on a 060 machine?
I got no active cpu library in libs:
Yes, that was it. I removed all 680xx libraries from libs and bingo, working perfect now. Thanks a lot for your help.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 15 November 2021, 04:10   #1548
vrxguy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 22
Would be good!
vrxguy is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 03:46   #1549
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 109
I read in FAQ about DOSDrivers/MACCD0, because I wanted to see my Mac partition under Amiga OS 3.2, but I could make it work. Is it only works with CDs with HFS?
I changed unit to 0 as my disk is. Can I see and use Mac partition somehow, for example the same way I am using my CF card with FAT and CrossDOS.. ?
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 23:32   #1550
Firestone
Registered User

Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 202
I think it's made to work with CDs with HFS, and not harddrives.

On my Amigas, I use CrossMac which is the equalent to CrossDOS for macintosh-stuff use.

In my mountlists for my mac-partitions, the mfm.device is used in combination with L:CrossMACFileSystem
Firestone is offline  
Old 05 December 2021, 20:38   #1551
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestone View Post
I think it's made to work with CDs with HFS, and not harddrives.

On my Amigas, I use CrossMac which is the equalent to CrossDOS for macintosh-stuff use.

In my mountlists for my mac-partitions, the mfm.device is used in combination with L:CrossMACFileSystem
Unfortunately there is only demo version on aminet
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 05 December 2021, 21:57   #1552
coldacid
WinUAE 4000/40, V4SA
coldacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Candinavia
Posts: 447
Full version's on the FTP, but you might need to find a serial for it.
coldacid is offline  
Old 06 December 2021, 17:41   #1553
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 504
Were there any changes made to the DBLNTSC and DBLPAL monitor device files between 3.1.4 and 3.2?

I have 3.1.4 installed on my two ReAmiga 1200's. I bought a few recent, new Viewsonic monitors that support 15kHz signals, but with these machines and AmigaOS 3.1.4, I found that the DBLNTSC High-Res No Flicker screenmodes worked great and gave a nice amount of screen real estate without flicker.

Fast forward to last night when I was working with my A4000TX that I got from Hese. I'd installed 3.2 ROMs in the board, and installed AmigaOS 3.2 on it. The machine was plugged into the very same Viewsonic monitors. Normal NTSC High-Res screenmode was good, but then I tried the DBLNTSC screenmode, the same as I did on my 1200's. The Viewsonic refused to play ball though and just showed an "Out of Range" error on the monitor. I tried all of the DBLNTSC modes and they all failed to work on the monitor. Got the same results with the DBLPAL modes.

I've bought a couple more of the Viewsonic monitors and might try setting up my 1200 and the A4000TX side by side and see if there are any obvious differences to check further. I just wanted to see if anyone knew of any changes in the monitor configuration files?
brett71 is offline  
Old 06 December 2021, 20:06   #1554
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,595
I have nothing on my list at least. This is just recompiled AFAIK.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 06 December 2021, 21:06   #1555
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,014
Try with/without VGAOnly.
daxb is offline  
Old 08 December 2021, 16:51   #1556
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,382
Somebody has been selling KS3.1.4 copies on Finnish ebay huuto.net

https://www.huuto.net/kohteet/amiga-...-rom/554416476

He has sold both A1200 and A500 versions.

He has proved his identity to huuto.net staff, so they know who he is.
utri007 is offline  
Old 08 December 2021, 17:03   #1557
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Try with/without VGAOnly.
So, I'm not exactly sure what I did, but DBLNTSC is working properly now. After posting my question, I went back to the system and installed some things like DirectoryOpus, ReqTools and MUI. Next thing I know, DBLNTSC is working as it does on my A1200's.
brett71 is offline  
Old 09 December 2021, 00:08   #1558
Firestone
Registered User

Firestone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 202
Remember to check if tooltypes has been changed between the installations.
Overwriting the dblntsc.info file will change the tool types too.
Editors like MonED changes these parameters.
Firestone is offline  
Old 21 December 2021, 20:40   #1559
boemann
AmigaOS 3.2 Developer

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Frederiksberg
Posts: 188
Update 3.2.1 is out now with fixes of many things that have been reported here and elsewhere. And also a handful of new features. Happy holidays
boemann is offline  
Old 21 December 2021, 20:41   #1560
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 2,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by boemann View Post
Update 3.2.1 is out now with fixes of many things that have been reported here and elsewhere. And also a handful of new features. Happy holidays
Wow, nice! many thanx
and Happy Holidays to you and the rest of the team.
eXeler0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaOS 3.1.x v 3.9 steve_mynott New to Emulation or Amiga scene 35 19 April 2020 07:23
AmigaOS 3.9 PoLoMoTo support.WinUAE 8 27 August 2011 19:06
AmigaOS 3.5 or 3.9 maddoc666 support.Apps 12 22 February 2010 09:02
AmigaOS koncool request.Apps 6 04 June 2003 18:45
AmigaOS XL sturme New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 15 January 2002 03:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12013 seconds with 14 queries