English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 March 2021, 05:34   #81
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,883
@dkedrowitsch

Any cool pictures of this machine that you can share please?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 06:27   #82
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
There may have been a time when the A1200 worked with the OpenPCI audio drivers, but I've never had any of them working on an A4000+Mediator.
Unfortunately, neither that particular A1200 nor its CF card are still with me, so I can't cross-check.

However, with all the changes going on for the PCI stuff and given the fact that the latest, greatest openpci.library just sits there unaltered for almost 12 years now, it may well have worked once "by accident ".

Quote:
Maybe they can work on a Prometheus I have no idea.
For me, everything OpenPCI (ethernet, USB, sound) I try with the prometheus/Firestorm yields 8000 0003 or 8000 0004.

That's one of the reasons I came here in the first place ;-)
torsti76 is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 21:03   #83
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
I don't know of any documented cases where the SB Live! has worked in a Classic machine with openpci. I tested a SB Live! that was working in my Amithlon computer in my Amiga 4000's with openpci, etc. and I could barely get a beep tone out of it. It appeared to find it but it did not actually play any sound.

I also have another nearly identical SB Live! card and that one won't work in Amithlon OR my Amiga 4000, so go figure.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 16 April 2021, 15:49   #84
FREEMILK
Registered User

FREEMILK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 67
Hi, great thread.
I just picked up a prometheus and put it in my A3000D, i have firestorm firmware, and 3.1.library, installed.

Very hard to find info on this stuff but from what i have gathered so far...

1. i can only use OPENPCI drivers with DMA - IF i have a voodoo3, becasue they use the ram on the voodoo3?

2. RTL8029 should work on its owm, will test once i can find one. i only have 8139 so far.

3. S3 virge, will work, but not with the new firmware?

THanks for any help..

Keith
FREEMILK is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 18:24   #85
A10001986
Registered User

A10001986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: 1986
Posts: 55
Could someone please send me that keyfile for ArakAttack, too? Thanks!
A10001986 is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 19:20   #86
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by A10001986 View Post
Could someone please send me that keyfile for ArakAttack, too? Thanks!

Sent to your email
Wrangler is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 21:26   #87
A10001986
Registered User

A10001986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: 1986
Posts: 55
Thanks!
A10001986 is offline  
Old 16 May 2021, 22:08   #88
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by FREEMILK View Post
Hi, great thread.
I just picked up a prometheus and put it in my A3000D, i have firestorm firmware, and 3.1.library, installed.

Very hard to find info on this stuff but from what i have gathered so far...

1. i can only use OPENPCI drivers with DMA - IF i have a voodoo3, becasue they use the ram on the voodoo3?

2. RTL8029 should work on its owm, will test once i can find one. i only have 8139 so far.

3. S3 virge, will work, but not with the new firmware?

THanks for any help..

Keith
1. Yes. Only the Voodoo supports DMA atm.
2. The RTL8029 wil work on its own. No DMA required.
3. Should work as prometheus.card has been updated which sets up the addresses used by S3virge.chip.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 17 May 2021, 02:31   #89
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
I am updating a few of the components btw:

prometheus.library - bumped to 4.0
Prometheus.card - bumped to 7.600
3dfxVoodoo3.chip - bumped to 7.12

Not sure how that affects OpenPCI.

Last edited by Hedeon; 19 May 2021 at 01:03. Reason: Progress on the 3dfxVoodoo3.chip
Hedeon is offline  
Old 17 June 2021, 22:10   #90
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Plus openpci.does not have rtg drivers. Except the Radeon from Ratte.
OpenGFX - Permedia2 (also good for CVPPC & BVision with grex firmware)
https://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?threads/48710/
Ratte is offline  
Old 17 June 2021, 22:22   #91
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 327
A little usb mystery, the rest is up to you.

Now this is not OpenPCI related, but maybe it will give the right people the right ideas.

edit:
The listing shown still contains an error at l2.
The label belongs one line up.
Because D0 is destroyed during the loop, "the search" does not work again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	raetsel.png
Views:	223
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	72327  

Last edited by Ratte; 17 June 2021 at 22:45.
Ratte is offline  
Old 18 June 2021, 00:07   #92
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
EDIT: Removed answer. But the clues are USB, $089E and the text at label 19.

Last edited by Hedeon; 18 June 2021 at 00:14.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 18 June 2021, 00:25   #93
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
OpenGFX - Permedia2 (also good for CVPPC & BVision with grex firmware)
https://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?threads/48710/
Nice. Not sure what the exact difference is between this one and the Prometheus one.

Warp3D for pci cards does not work as the Warp3D Picasso gfx driver (not the HW driver) only looks at permedia as being cvppc/bvppc and if it finds Prometheus.card it assumes it is a Voodoo card as boardinfo struct does not return a chip name (actual returned string is 'unsupported').

After a hack I could show some simple stuff. Textures and color have wrong endian. But bus errors galore with more complex stuff like Quake
Hedeon is offline  
Old 18 June 2021, 00:59   #94
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 327
OpenPCI wonderfully unifies the programming of PCI cards.
With one (damn) exception, the graphics card(s) ...
I have documented these peculiarities here.

For all other PCI cards this is completely uninteresting, it is a pure graphics story.

So if you write drivers for OpenPCI, you cover all available PCI systems.
I think it's just awesome.



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	opci1.png
Views:	222
Size:	113.2 KB
ID:	72329   Click image for larger version

Name:	opci2.png
Views:	217
Size:	108.2 KB
ID:	72330   Click image for larger version

Name:	opci3.png
Views:	218
Size:	140.4 KB
ID:	72331  
Ratte is offline  
Old 18 June 2021, 02:16   #95
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
I thought that Mediator was no longer supported by OpenPCI?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 18 June 2021, 02:30   #96
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,634
Also, Mediator has two functions that are essential for cards that have on board nongfx memory and the rest has not I think. I added something similar to Prometheus library
Hedeon is offline  
Old 19 June 2021, 19:56   #97
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 1,555
Can anyone please upload the Prometheus CDROM ISO somewhere?

I've just got a Prometheus repro with the original FW on it - will update to Firestorm later as I want to play a bit with the original FW first.

The one on https://warpclassic68k.blogspot.com/p/blog-page.html seems to be broken.

It's only 16MB but it should be around 130MB in size. I can't actually open any of the folders and it seems the ISO is corrupt.

Thanks!
jbenam is offline  
Old 19 June 2021, 20:24   #98
shaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 194
i can confirm the iso is corrupt, there is no data in any of the folders. Tested with Poweriso.
shaf is offline  
Old 19 June 2021, 20:27   #99
shaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 194
DarrenHD ,
I've had the SB Live! card working with OPENPCI on Amithlon but it was the Original SB Live Card, there are many different Versions.

Shaf
shaf is offline  
Old 19 June 2021, 21:44   #100
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,722
My Iso is 174 MB: https://mega.nz/file/K1dlRQIa#USkIgy...YyD8g9nmPMJSbg - game demos take 144 MB...
zipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Practices in Localizing a Program? tygre Coders. General 3 29 December 2018 06:38
Looking for prometheus.library v3.0 jarob request.Apps 0 19 January 2012 11:31
Best practices for direct hardware programming ? weiju Coders. Asm / Hardware 27 31 October 2011 14:10
Prometheus vs Mediator? wXR Hardware mods 3 26 December 2010 21:33
Prometheus in A4000T Boot_WB Hardware mods 32 05 September 2009 21:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10829 seconds with 14 queries