English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2021, 01:41   #101
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 1,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
My Iso is 174 MB: https://mega.nz/file/K1dlRQIa#USkIgy...YyD8g9nmPMJSbg - game demos take 144 MB...
Great stuff, that's the one!

I wanted to start with the CD then apply the various patches next, just like Matay intended originally.

Thank you very much
jbenam is offline  
Old 01 July 2021, 23:20   #102
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
Hey everyone, does anyone have a RTL 8029 network card working in an AA3000+ - but with the updated Firestorm firmware?

I have tried two RTL 8029 cards - both working in other systems (Mediator/GREX), but on my AA3000+ with Prometheus w/Firestorm firmware, the cards will stall after a very short time. They can go online and ping, but as soon as you try to open a connection (eg. do a dir listing on FTP), or actually download a file from Aminet, the connection will stop working. Pings will suddenly stop working etc.

I am using the very latest 1.4 driver that was last available on Maytay's website. Tried the previous 1.3 driver as well. I am wondering if the Firestorm firmware is the issue.

Thanks
Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 02:01   #103
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 1,558
I do have a RTL8029 I intend putting in my A4000D (I have a 10Mbit thinnet LAN in my lab) along with a non-Firestorm (not yet, at least - I have a USB Blaster, though) Prometheus.

Will report back if I get the same issues with mine - as soon as I get to fix that damned 80000004 error I get when my system tries to initialise the Prometheus...
jbenam is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 03:59   #104
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
I do have a RTL8029 I intend putting in my A4000D (I have a 10Mbit thinnet LAN in my lab) along with a non-Firestorm (not yet, at least - I have a USB Blaster, though) Prometheus.

Will report back if I get the same issues with mine - as soon as I get to fix that damned 80000004 error I get when my system tries to initialise the Prometheus...
try putting cpu nocache before that happens, see if it helps. I had a similar problem with a Mediator once. I think the RTL 8029 should work with non firestorm firmware, but anyway let me know.

Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 11:30   #105
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
Hey everyone, does anyone have a RTL 8029 network card working in an AA3000+ - but with the updated Firestorm firmware?

I have tried two RTL 8029 cards - both working in other systems (Mediator/GREX), but on my AA3000+ with Prometheus w/Firestorm firmware, the cards will stall after a very short time. They can go online and ping, but as soon as you try to open a connection (eg. do a dir listing on FTP), or actually download a file from Aminet, the connection will stop working. Pings will suddenly stop working etc.

I am using the very latest 1.4 driver that was last available on Maytay's website. Tried the previous 1.3 driver as well. I am wondering if the Firestorm firmware is the issue.

Thanks
Darren
This is weird! I'm seeing the same, but with a RTL8139 via OpenPCI. I (usually) can initialize it fine with Roadshow, it reserves DMA space and retrieves the DHCP settings.

But if I start sending/receiving data through the card (ping is enough to trigger it), after 3 to 10, sometimes 15 packets, the system either freezes or gives me a 8000 0004.

Sometimes it freezes right away while initializing the card. I tried prometheus.library 3.1, which seems to be the most stable, but also the newer ones from Hedeon. The effect is always similar...

Gesendet von meinem XQ-BT52 mit Tapatalk
torsti76 is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 13:25   #106
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 1,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
try putting cpu nocache before that happens, see if it helps. I had a similar problem with a Mediator once. I think the RTL 8029 should work with non firestorm firmware, but anyway let me know.

Darren
Sadly it didn't help, I still get the dreaded 80000004. I guess I will keep replacing GALs on my motherboard until something changes
jbenam is offline  
Old 02 July 2021, 21:40   #107
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,635
I have a RTL8029 in my AA3000+ and it works fine. I used it to transfer 100s of MBs from my PC and Mac Mini during the time I had it. I did not upgrade the drivers. It were the drivers I had when my old A3000 was fitted with the old Prometheus. I just copied the whole HD over to an SD card (I use SCSI2SD now) and upgraded only the main library (and the .card and .chip but those are not related to RTL8029. They are related to RTL8139 however due do DMA being handled in the gfx drivers)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 05 July 2021, 00:20   #108
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
I have a RTL8029 in my AA3000+ and it works fine. I used it to transfer 100s of MBs from my PC and Mac Mini during the time I had it. I did not upgrade the drivers. It were the drivers I had when my old A3000 was fitted with the old Prometheus. I just copied the whole HD over to an SD card (I use SCSI2SD now) and upgraded only the main library (and the .card and .chip but those are not related to RTL8029. They are related to RTL8139 however due do DMA being handled in the gfx drivers)
Thanks Hedeon. I assume you are running Firestorm firmware on it. What version of the RTL8029 driver is it? Can you do a full version on it and post it here? Maybe email it to me?

Thanks,
Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 06 July 2021, 16:38   #109
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,635
Version 1.3 11.11.2002
Hedeon is offline  
Old 08 July 2021, 22:14   #110
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
@Hedeon, thanks. I'm currently running 1.4 (1/29/2005) but I believe I tried 1.3 with the same result. It is perhaps something local to my network, maybe going through multiple switches is causing some issues with the driver. I am behind two small 4 port switches which are connected to each other then to a 24-port switch, which is where my router is....I may try to simplify the setup to see if that helps. Otherwise I am pretty much at a loss. May try to reinstall everything, perhaps that will help.

Last edited by DarrenHD; 08 July 2021 at 22:21.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 08 July 2021, 22:51   #111
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,635
Mine goes from network card to switch to power socket adapter (2x) then to router-modem. Not sure what is new in 1.4?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 09 July 2021, 07:20   #112
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Mine goes from network card to switch to power socket adapter (2x) then to router-modem. Not sure what is new in 1.4?
It may be my software setup. I should try a clean install, although on the same software setup an AmigaONE PCI wireless card works with the Prism2 driver (although it's very slow - but it works fine).


I am not 100% sure what is in 1.4, just "fixes" by Neil Cafferkey I read. I should also try the card in my other AA3000 to see if it also stalls.


It's almost like it can't make some connections. Like I can browse Aminet fine using IBrowse 2.5.4, but as soon as I try to download a file it stalls. Similarly I can login to an ftp site, but as soon as I try a directory listing or to download a file it stalls. I can ping no problem.


Strange.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 12 July 2021, 20:04   #113
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
So I've tried a RTL8029 network card (actually multiple cards) on two AA3000+'s and they both do the same thing: I can get a DHCP address and ping, and I can even browse aminet, but as soon as I try to download something the connection stalls, pings stop working. Similarily with command line ftp: I can login to the site but as soon as I try to do a directory listing it hangs the connection.

In the same machine a C= 2065 zorro card works fine, as does a PCI based AmigaONE wireless network card, although the wireless card is dog slow, but it works.

So either I have incompatible RTL8029 cards (I did try two different 8029 cards) or something else is going on either with the Firestorm firmware and/or RTL8029 driver. I tried two different drivers. 1.3 and 1.4.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 15 July 2021, 11:40   #114
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
So I've tried a RTL8029 network card (actually multiple cards) on two AA3000+'s and they both do the same thing: I can get a DHCP address and ping, and I can even browse aminet, but as soon as I try to download something the connection stalls, pings stop working. Similarily with command line ftp: I can login to the site but as soon as I try to do a directory listing it hangs the connection.

In the same machine a C= 2065 zorro card works fine, as does a PCI based AmigaONE wireless network card, although the wireless card is dog slow, but it works.

So either I have incompatible RTL8029 cards (I did try two different 8029 cards) or something else is going on either with the Firestorm firmware and/or RTL8029 driver. I tried two different drivers. 1.3 and 1.4.
This sounds like an MTU issue. What type of internet connection do you use?

Gesendet von meinem XQ-BT52 mit Tapatalk
torsti76 is offline  
Old 16 July 2021, 19:26   #115
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
This sounds like an MTU issue. What type of internet connection do you use?

Gesendet von meinem XQ-BT52 mit Tapatalk
Cable internet. I tried the RTL 8029 card in both my AA3000+'s and they both behave the same. I also tried a clean OS install and it didn't help.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 21 July 2021, 06:27   #116
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
This sounds like an MTU issue. What type of internet connection do you use?

Gesendet von meinem XQ-BT52 mit Tapatalk
I tried changing the MTU in Roadshow to 1460 and also 1500. No change. Same issue. I also tried a 3rd RTL8029 card and it behaves the same. So now I have the same behaviour in two AA3000+'s, one with C= 3640 and one with a Cyberstorm MK3. I've tried different versions of the driver. I've tried Roadshow and Miami, both behave the same (by the way, Miami's MTU was 1500 to start with). I am using real 3.2 roms.

I can only conclude that there are issues with the cards that I have tested (that are all RTL8029 but different variants) and they are are not working in my machines in this combination of Prometheus/Firestorm firmware, OS/ROM, and TCP/IP Stack. I am also using a Voodoo 3 in this machine and have DMA memory allocated (but not used). I did disable that but again no change.

As to how Hedeon got his RTL8029 working....I wish I could replicate!)

Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 24 September 2021, 01:06   #117
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 377
Can someone with a AA3000+ do me a great favour?

Please install the latest prometheus.library from the Sonnet7200 thread, take out all boards from the Firebird, and run showboards.

Then switch off the machine, take out the entire Firebird, switch the machine on again, and run showboards again.

Do you see any "ghost" PCI cards with weird IDs in either or both tests?

Thank you very much to whoever will do this for me!
torsti76 is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 13:27   #118
Hedeon
WarpOS Custodian

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,635
Updated prometheus.library to 4.1

Fixed multi-functional PCI card recognition/set-up (e.g. NEC USB 2.0 cards)
Fixed PCI(e) bridge recognition/set-up

See http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=997765&postcount=1
Hedeon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Practices in Localizing a Program? tygre Coders. General 3 29 December 2018 06:38
Looking for prometheus.library v3.0 jarob request.Apps 0 19 January 2012 11:31
Best practices for direct hardware programming ? weiju Coders. Asm / Hardware 27 31 October 2011 14:10
Prometheus vs Mediator? wXR Hardware mods 3 26 December 2010 21:33
Prometheus in A4000T Boot_WB Hardware mods 32 05 September 2009 21:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10120 seconds with 16 queries