English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2021, 23:12   #1
avinitlarge
Registered User
avinitlarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rotherham
Posts: 62
Populous 2 WHDLoad problems

Does a working version of populous 2 for whdload exist?

I’ve tried 4 different versions for various sources but non work properly, 1 won’t install, 2 versions of the game plays too fast and the other black screens randomly but plays at the correct speed ?
avinitlarge is offline  
Old 09 May 2021, 23:54   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,993
do you have the latest .slave? it's been updated with speed regulation a few months ago
jotd is offline  
Old 09 May 2021, 23:56   #3
avinitlarge
Registered User
avinitlarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rotherham
Posts: 62
Yes, that’s the one that randomly blacks out/crashes
avinitlarge is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:13   #4
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,769
Blacks out ? Like stutters every once in a while ?
If so, is PRELOAD tool type enabled and do you have sufficient fast ram to preload the game ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:14   #5
avinitlarge
Registered User
avinitlarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rotherham
Posts: 62
Screen goes black, unresponsive and have to reset. A500 with 030, 2mb chip and 64mb fast
avinitlarge is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:31   #6
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,769
Have you tried the preinstalled game ?
http://grandis.nu/eabsearch/search.p...=&httplinks=on
Retroplay is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:36   #7
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,993
yeah probably missing preload issue. Game is made of insane number of small files. Without PRELOAD it probably flashes like crazy.
jotd is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:36   #8
avinitlarge
Registered User
avinitlarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rotherham
Posts: 62
I’m sure I tried both of them but they played too fast. I’ll double check tomorrow though.
avinitlarge is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 00:40   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,993
plays too fast: check the version of the .slave (what is displayed in the splash screen window, which version).

preinstalled packs sometimes have outdated slaves. Happens all the time.
jotd is offline  
Old 10 May 2021, 22:19   #10
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,769
Mine doesn't, at least not if grabbed from the constantly updated packs on the ftp.

Mileage may vary if from whdownload.com (which I have nothing to do with).

Last edited by Retroplay; 10 May 2021 at 22:26.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 04 December 2021, 09:53   #11
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 386
I have the same problem. Populous II installed with latest WHDLoad slave. There is a "disable speed regulation" option on the splash screen but checking or unchecking it doesn't change anything. Game is too fast. I am now on level 193 and it's impossible to play. My Amiga is A1200 + 040.
PopoCop is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Populous and WHDload source support.Games 8 16 February 2015 06:47
Problems with WHDload Kirirur support.FS-UAE 15 01 February 2014 14:52
Populous WHDLoad Install Not Working ricky500 project.WHDLoad 4 03 March 2013 00:56
Problems with WHDLOAD piemmeweb project.WHDLoad 0 20 May 2010 21:06
Problems with WHDLoad ThermalRunaway project.WHDLoad 10 20 September 2005 20:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07939 seconds with 15 queries