English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System > Coders. Scripting

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2016, 22:06   #1
tolkien
AmigaMan
 
tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 760
Angry MiamiDx Arexx port

Hello!

I'm trying to use an Arexx script so go offline with MiamiDX when I use WHDload.
The problem is that seems that never find de MIAMI port so no execute anything.
The script is very simple obviously. You can see It here.


/*
** Miami offline - arexx script for Miami TCP/IP
**
** $VER: MiamiOffline 1.0 (9.11.96)
**
** By Kenneth C. Nilsen (kennecni@IDGonline.no)
**
*/

options results

if ~show('p', 'MIAMI.1') then do
Say "Miami is already offline or cant find port!"
Exit 0
end

address 'MIAMI.1'

ISONLINE
IF RC=0 then do
Say "Miami is already offline!"
Exit 0
END

OFFLINE

ISONLINE
IF RC=1 then do
Say "Couldn't get Miami offline!"
Say "Please terminate TCP/IP clients and try again."
Exit 0
END

QUIT /* remove this line if you want Miami to still run after the
offline procedure. The Online script will however start Miami
again if the miami port is not found */

exit 0



I run the script with RX but always shows me that miami is already offline or cant find the port.
I have rexxmast and miami running of course.
tolkien is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 01:13   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,303
Type following in a shell to see if miami port really exists:
Code:
rx "say show('p')"
You can specify an interface with ISONLINE but normaly that isn`t needed. I don`t see something wrong with the script but you can use trace command to see what happens or goes wrong.

My go offline script for WHDLoad looks like this and should work. Maybe I`ve add the interface for some reason but can`t remember:

Code:
/*
 * If Miami is online it will go offline and quit.
*/

IF SHOW('P', 'MIAMI.1') THEN DO
    ADDRESS 'MIAMI.1'
    ISONLINE 'ppp0'           /* Check if online */
    IF RC THEN OFFLINE 'ppp0' /* Go offline */
    QUITFORCE                 /* Quits Miami */
END

Last edited by daxb; 24 January 2016 at 13:29. Reason: add a quote
daxb is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 10:06   #3
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,985
say show(p) is the best way to find out the name of Miami's port.

Check tooltypes, command line arguments and MUI settings. I am quite sure you can change the port name in any of these places. Perhaps you changed it some time ago and don't remember. At least you can disable ARexx in the MUI settings.
thomas is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 11:24   #4
tolkien
AmigaMan
 
tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 760
Using rx "say show....." shows various ports but miami. In miami MUI setting I have the arexx interface enable. Im going to see if there is a tooltype can help me.

Thanks mates, now I now is not a script fault but the miami arexx port.
tolkien is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 13:28   #5
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,303
The Miami ARexx port should be "MIAMI.1". I didn`t found a way to change the port name but maybe I missed it.

The MUI ARexx interface should be independent to other program interfaces. So if you disable MUI ARexx then e.g. Miami ARexx works furthermore, right?
daxb is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 13:37   #6
tolkien
AmigaMan
 
tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 760
Don't know the relaciĆ³n between mui and miami arexx.
I have a fresh install workbench 3.9 bb4. Perhaps is there a patch "closing" the miami arexx port?

Will try a simpler installation to see if It works.
tolkien is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 14:54   #7
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,985
Do show(p) without Miami running, then run Miami and do show(p) again. If the output does not differ, then Miami failed to open an ARexx port. If a port was added, the second show(p) should list it.
thomas is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 21:16   #8
tolkien
AmigaMan
 
tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 760
I have disabled some wbstartup things and now It shows more ports than before, MIAMI.1 included.
I think the evil one was cyberpatcher.
Thanks mates for the help. You all are the best.
tolkien is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Returning strings via ARexx port idrougge Coders. Scripting 11 09 October 2015 00:55
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 00:04
AREXX Help Zetr0 support.Other 2 26 January 2011 23:09
arexx help jimbobrocks92 Coders. General 4 19 January 2011 12:50
Arexx Seti Coders. General 2 05 August 2003 18:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:57.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07539 seconds with 15 queries