English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2014, 04:03   #1
The Brave Ant
Registered User
The Brave Ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Barcelona Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 38
From What year to what year You can use a stock Commodore Amiga 500?

Hello, I was wondering that, from what year to what year You can use a default Commodore Amiga 500 for videogames without needing 1 Mb of memory or more.

I don´t ask for a better CPU, only about using the Commodore Amiga 500 for playing the games that were in the market back in time. No more memory, no better chips, nothing more than the stock Amiga.

I imagine that there were games for the Amiga in all her life that only need a stock Amiga 500 to play, until the system was totally obsolote for various circumstances, but for You, What were that years? Maybe from the start of all in 1985 to 1990? I mean the comercially ones.

I don´t know, I never had one of such a great machines. I want to know the years that You only need one Amiga 500 and that´s all You need to play videogames in It.

Maybe the question is, What year was when You realized, oh! I need more memory or something like that.

Sorry for my bad english, this is off topic for the thread, but I have some dreams (wet dreams maybe ) of buying a stock Amiga 500, totally new branded, with the monitor new too, and start to buy some viodegames with the wrapper on it untill today unopened (I know that some videogames are like that, like they came from the factory today in 2014 from back then, some gems, but maybe not a great videogames, but at least they are waiting to be opened! and use the disks for first time in an Amiga 500).

Crap, I express myself so bad.
The Brave Ant is offline  
Old 10 June 2014, 08:58   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 47
Posts: 5,344
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
1987 to 2014. There are still games that run happing on an OCS 512k Amiga A500.
DDNI is offline  
Old 10 June 2014, 09:17   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,338
I realised very soon that I want more memory and a hard drive, although not just because of games But this was a couple of years after the A500's launch, so such things were already reasonably available.
ajk is offline  
Old 10 June 2014, 19:34   #4
ali-b
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: hampshire
Posts: 67
Out of the box in '89/90 I was already wanting an expansion. even if only for the extra music in interceptor!
ali-b is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 year 2012 iowtheme support.Hardware 5 12 September 2013 01:07
New Year New Amiga Blog! Amiten Amiga scene 0 02 January 2013 14:54
25 Year Amiga Party Holland sjakie43 Amiga scene 3 20 June 2010 18:16
What Amiga goodies will you be asking Santa for this year? Paul_s Retrogaming General Discussion 17 25 December 2008 14:57
5 year Amiga absence RoadWarrior New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 16 April 2003 15:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12484 seconds with 15 queries