English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2009, 21:13   #1
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Glitchy horizontal lines in Vanish's "Monoxide" demo plus list of older reports



I get these glitchy horizontal lines in Vanish's "Monoxide" demo when CE is on. The CRC32 for the ADF is 0F8F6A59, though happens with pouet's DMS as well.

1. Disabling CE prevents the lines from appearing.

2. Happens with the latest beta as well, and there's even more lines.

3. For some reason, loading the attached savestate (recorded with 1.6.1) with the latest beta when CE is off, causes the demo to freeze and display a guru meditation error. Yet another reason to always use CE


=========
On a completely unrelated note, from now on and for as long as necessary, I'll be reporting these type of gfx abnormalities on this thread so to make it easy to keep track of them. Here's the 4 unresolved ones from the Beta thread:

Rolling Ronny (A500)

Revelations (A500)

SILICONE-Aspartame (A500)

Nexus7 (A1200)


Cheers.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (10.2 KB, 160 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (8.1 KB, 174 views)
File Type: zip savestate.zip (320.9 KB, 166 views)

Last edited by Maren; 03 March 2010 at 20:13.
Maren is offline  
Old 13 December 2009, 06:02   #2
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567


Ok. This one looked so much like those damaged disk artifacts that I actually went through the pain of writing the adf to a real floppy so to be able to test it on my A500 and discard said possibility; unfortunately everything worked perfectly.

Disabling CE doesn't help and happens with the latest beta as well.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (10.2 KB, 136 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (7.2 KB, 157 views)
File Type: zip savestate.zip (158.5 KB, 168 views)
File Type: 7z Vogue-TechnoSoundCD.7z (367.6 KB, 164 views)

Last edited by Maren; 03 March 2010 at 20:13.
Maren is offline  
Old 13 December 2009, 13:18   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Yes, I know I shouldn't do last minute changes but TechnoSoundCD and Monoxide are fixed
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 December 2009, 13:25   #4
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Amazing, thank you
Maren is offline  
Old 20 December 2009, 02:27   #5
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
As usual, I can't tell if these glitches are related to WinUAE emulation whatsoever, in fact, disabling CE doesn't help in any of the cases so it could very well be something meant to happen on real Amiga hardware, given that it's mostly garbage frames flashing during scene transitions. It's worth noting that the glitches are also present in the latest beta 2.0.1.

The attached zips contain the bootlogs and respective savestates.

Disks used:

Kefrens Megademo 8 (1990)(Kefrens)[a](Disk 1 of 2).adf (CRC32: D49227D6)
Kefrens Megademo 8 (1990)(Kefrens)[a](Disk 2 of 2).adf (CRC32: 02C5F790)


"Gridder" (flashes when the scene starts)


"Hide Away" (case 1, flashes when the scene starts)


"Vector Maniac" (flashes when you left-click to quit the demo)


"Hide Away" (case 2, flashes when you left-click to quit the demo)


"Snake Bite" (case 1, flashes when the scene starts and it's probably just the image positioning itself)


"Snake Bite" (case 2, happens when you left-click to quit the demo. The image reappears briefly and incorrectly positioned right before the demo ends)

That's pretty much it.

Regards.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gridder.zip (236.7 KB, 171 views)
File Type: zip hideaway.zip (324.2 KB, 186 views)
File Type: zip vectormaniac.zip (203.5 KB, 152 views)
File Type: zip snakebite.zip (661.4 KB, 162 views)

Last edited by Maren; 03 March 2010 at 20:13.
Maren is offline  
Old 20 December 2009, 07:05   #6
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
These two are from a trackmo called "Burning Spear" by Dark Demon. The CRC32 for the disk used to record the savestates is F86B7066, but exactly the same happens with other disks.

Disabling CE doesn't help and happens with beta 2.0.1 as well.

Both the bootlogs and the savestates are contained in the zips.


First glitch; pretty much nothing to see here. Flashes as the scene with the blue spaceship starts.


Second glitch; notice the garbled vertical magenta lines in the background. These are rather static and remain there for pretty much all the subsequent routines, shifting colours depending on what else's going on the screen.
Attached Files
File Type: zip burningspear1.zip (228.0 KB, 170 views)
File Type: zip burningspear2.zip (180.9 KB, 191 views)

Last edited by Maren; 03 March 2010 at 20:14.
Maren is offline  
Old 20 December 2009, 10:28   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
Second glitch; notice the garbled vertical magenta lines in the background. These are rather static and remain there for pretty much all the subsequent routines, shifting colours depending on what else's going on the screen.
This is demo bug. Needs ECS Agnus. (A500 confirmed long time ago..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 December 2009, 10:43   #8
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Enabling ECS definitely gets rid of the glitch, so I still don't get how it's a demo bug instead of just a wrong setting (I was using OCS while it required ECS)
Maren is offline  
Old 20 December 2009, 10:55   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
Enabling ECS definitely gets rid of the glitch, so I still don't get how it's a demo bug instead of just a wrong setting (I was using OCS while it required ECS)
Because there is nothing that requires ECS, just bogus sprite position data (that works accidentally if ECS)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 December 2009, 18:19   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
As usual, I can't tell if these glitches are related to WinUAE emulation whatsoever, in fact, disabling CE doesn't help in any of the cases so it could very well be something meant to happen on real Amiga hardware, given that it's mostly garbage frames flashing during scene transitions. It's worth noting that the glitches are also present in the latest beta 2.0.1.

The attached zips contain the bootlogs and respective savestates.

Disks used:

Kefrens Megademo 8 (1990)(Kefrens)[a](Disk 1 of 2).adf (CRC32: D49227D6)
Kefrens Megademo 8 (1990)(Kefrens)[a](Disk 2 of 2).adf (CRC32: 02C5F790)
Tested and happens on real Amiga A500.

Quote:
"Snake Bite" (case 2, happens when you left-click to quit the demo. The image reappears briefly and incorrectly positioned right before the demo ends)
This was real bug (undocumented feature), fixed in 201b2.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 December 2009, 18:16   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
First glitch; pretty much nothing to see here. Flashes as the scene with the blue spaceship starts.
Happens on real A500 too. (zero bitplane pointers showing whatever is in start of chip ram, garbage type depends on memory configuration)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 December 2009, 12:57   #12
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 60
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Happens on real A500 too. (zero bitplane pointers showing whatever is in start of chip ram, garbage type depends on memory configuration)
Sort of begs the notion that people check as much on REAL hardware before calling a bug.

Might give Toni more sleep as he gets real grumpy without it
Mclane is offline  
Old 27 December 2009, 13:04   #13
Kyon
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SOS Brigade
Age: 30
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Kyon
yes , yes . he is hardworker . and he needs too much sleep
Kyon is offline  
Old 27 December 2009, 14:19   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
Sort of begs the notion that people check as much on REAL hardware before calling a bug.

Might give Toni more sleep as he gets real grumpy without it
Nah, these kinds of real demo bugs are usually rare except in older demos.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 January 2010, 01:28   #15
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
Sort of begs the notion that people check as much on REAL hardware before calling a bug.

Might give Toni more sleep as he gets real grumpy without it
Did I even claim to have found bugs in this thread? I generally have no idea what's behind these apparent graphical abnormalities thus I limit myself to reporting what I'm seeing with a lil bit of detail to give him a chance to skip over the post if there really isn't something that seems genuinely wrong. Unfortunately writing adf's back to floppies is not a process that I can carry out reliably here so most of the time I'm stuck with WinUAE for testing.

Trust me it's not my intention to waste his sleep
Maren is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 05:07   #16
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567


Here's a minor glitch in "Megademo 2" by 2001 Datakill. Notice the garbage on the top of the fourth sphere from left to right. Works correctly with CE off, happens with the latest beta as well and the CRC32 for the adf is 6ADDF205

Download the 7zip containing the log files, the config and the savestate from here
Maren is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 11:51   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
Here's a minor glitch in "Megademo 2" by 2001 Datakill. Notice the garbage on the top of the fourth sphere from left to right.
Happens on my real A500 too.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 January 2010, 20:03   #18
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Thanks a lot for looking into these Last one completely fooled me because the glitch didn't happen with CE off.
Maren is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 11:43   #19
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567


This is a garbage frame from "Enigma 2" by Anal Intruders. I actually have vague memories of this also occurring on the Amiga where I first watched it, but vague memories are exactly that, vague.

Disabling CE, increasing memory, switching to ECS, etc, nothing helped. Happens with the latest beta as well. The CRC32 for the adf is CB48CF8F.

Log files, savestate and config can be downloaded in a single 7zip from the link below.

http://www.fileshost.com/download.php?id=342F25611

Cheers.
Maren is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 17:08   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
No real A500 test (yet?) but having 1 external floppy drive enabled "fixes" the problem.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FOUND: Monoxide by Vanish] Searching for a demo quahappy Nostalgia & memories 2 09 March 2013 12:48
Last Ninja 2 tune "inspired" by an older tune, "Midnight in Tula" laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 7 27 March 2012 00:29
Glitchy Horiz Lines With WinUAE2000 Ed Cruse support.WinUAE 34 18 December 2009 23:06
"Eye of Beholder 2" older slave Groundhog project.WHDLoad 18 05 May 2008 22:08
Is there a way to "fix" an older g-rex1200 to have 2 DMA slots? keropi support.Hardware 12 24 May 2006 18:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10941 seconds with 16 queries