English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 July 2005, 14:42   #1
fairchild
Registered User
 
fairchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 35
Any idea why gfxrip wont find palette?

Does anyone know why GfxRip sometimes fail to fidn the correct palette?

Perhaps we can make it possible to find it by modifying the source, i got the source and i can compile it etc so any suggestions let me know.

/fairchild
fairchild is offline  
Old 04 July 2005, 16:06   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
You can always copy the palette from a screenshot but I'm not against a perfect palette scanner if it can be done.
 
Old 04 July 2005, 16:13   #3
fairchild
Registered User
 
fairchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 35
Yeah, seems that with Action Replay you can get the exact colors, but i havent tried myself yet. But if Action Replay can perhaps GfxRip can with some small modifications...
fairchild is offline  
Old 04 July 2005, 21:34   #4
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
action replay can't always find the paletter and it works differently!
BippyM is offline  
Old 05 July 2005, 08:06   #5
tomcat666
Retro Freak
 
tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 51
Posts: 1,665
If someone gives me the algo that AR uses to find the palette then i can incorporate it. SO far I do this :

Simple method: Look for the sequence of bytes that starts with 0x0180 colour1 0x0182 colour2 and then set the colours to colour1, colour2, etc.

Complex method: (not really that complex ;-) ) finds the sequence of atleast 4 0x01XX colour (where XX is >= 80 and <=9f) in a row and then it fills the appropriate colours into the palette.

I guess the good way would be to actually check the UAE snapshot for copper address and check after COP1LC and COP2LC. This would eliminate a lot of bogus entries and you would be able to get the correct colours all the time (just by filling all colour register writes to the palette). Will look into that and see if it will improve it...

Edit: checked the format of the save state and the CHIP chunk contains the COP1LC and COP2LC, but one would need to find the appropriate chunk that holds those addresses... there is a simpler way that this - since the actual colour registers 0180-> are saved within the snapshot one could just read them out and set them... Will try implementing this asap - but you will be limited to the colours that were in the colour registers at the moment of the snapshot. Not too bad at all...

TC

Last edited by tomcat666; 05 July 2005 at 08:39.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 July 2005, 09:08   #6
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
That sounds like an excellent idea!
Just read the actual memory locations that hold the color palette info! Yeah! It'll be just like x=Peek(53280) on c64! (sort of)

Please test your new method on an AGA game too. As I seem to recall that the way the 256 color registers were mapped is screwey.

Also be aware that any game that uses split-screen technology of the copper then above method may or may not exactly work due to you might be peeking one of the 'screens' that isn't the one you are after. Well most games don't use split screens so this probly won't be a problem!

Best of luck to you!
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 05 July 2005, 11:47   #7
tomcat666
Retro Freak
 
tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 51
Posts: 1,665
Hi!

OK, I have included a direct palette rip from WinUAE (Uncompressed) save states. Basically two new palette search functions were added - one for ECS (the default selected one) and AGA. I tried with several save states and it always worked - YAY !

Link to version 1.05 : http://retrospec.sgn.net/game-links.php?link=gfxrip

Note: this will set the palette to the value that was at the time of snapshot. Sometimes it happens that some entries are wrong, because copper was at some position where it did some nasty stuff like copper bars or in some other bitmap (status display). If this happens just re-snap the game a few times

Here is a little AGA ripped screen with full 256 colours YAY...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Team17AGA.gif
Views:	273
Size:	10.5 KB
ID:	8811  
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 July 2005, 11:52   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,570
Statefile's hpos = vpos = 0 (beginning of new frame)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 July 2005, 11:57   #9
tomcat666
Retro Freak
 
tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 51
Posts: 1,665
Ahh, so basically it can happen that you will never get a good palette of the main screen if there is a status screen on the bottom which changes the main palette entries ? I haven't tried yet, just assumed it would be fixable
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 July 2005, 12:12   #10
tomcat666
Retro Freak
 
tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 51
Posts: 1,665
There was a bug with 'L' key (you had to use 'J' instead for modes E and A) - please redownload the package to get the proper release !
tomcat666 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GfxRip - My Tutorial Dj.Thunder project.Sprites 10 29 December 2012 23:42
Amiga 1200 wont find floppy nixxjsteve support.Hardware 3 07 September 2011 23:07
GfxRip Palette and Offset questions stef80 project.Sprites 2 06 July 2007 19:59
GFXRip requests BippyM project.Sprites 14 14 March 2006 13:09
gfxrip help with paradroid TTSAddict project.Sprites 10 15 November 2005 17:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:00.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07865 seconds with 14 queries