English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2021, 12:38   #21
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 41
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
well it is not that it is designed as "hehehe lets fuck around with those with...."

no. it would require the designer having ALL different equipment at home.. this is a unrealistic demand.

let me say like this: before the TF53x cards there was NO open 030 solution..
with thisthere is.

so what you say is: better not have a open 030 solution. better to have only the old cards that cannot be produced anymore as all data is lost since ever..

so welcome to 030 card costing many many hundreds of euros..


but I guess people are not thankful what there is...
I think its great that the TF cards have been made, are open and everything.

I just want to have a discussion around the the fact that designs which breaks the memory model, DMA, or what we want to call it creates lots of problems.

It should be ok to say that design which stops the computers expansion bus from working as intended/specified, is incompatible etc. Apparently, given the number of posts with people with this kind of issues, it is not talked about anywhere near enough.

If anyone needs testing this, any DMA card would do, they are plentiful.

The new TF cards, as I understand, do not put memory in the first 16MB area and thus avoids this problem, so that is awesome - the experience of the previous bad design has been used and everyone will benefit greatly from that!

As you, I don't understand why the old cards are being produced. If users were more informed about these issues with them, I doubt they would be selling them instead of the new ones.
patrik is offline  
Old 17 October 2021, 14:12   #22
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 1,027
well it is not "just" DMA. as GVP SCSI controllers seems to work. so yes. you need to test every hardware. it is not "bad design" it is simply that there are so many solutions outthere.. it is not possible to test all combos.
Chucky is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wtb Terrible Fire tf330 and expansion mount? butfluffy support.Hardware 2 06 October 2020 16:35
Terrible Fire TF530 CPU compatibility list? bugsymalone666 support.Hardware 6 28 November 2019 00:02
Terrible Fire Accelerators plasmab Hardware mods 4059 08 November 2018 07:05
TF328 & Kipper2K Riser v6.0 (Terrible Fire 328 for CD32) kgc210 MarketPlace 12 10 September 2018 22:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10192 seconds with 14 queries