English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2022, 12:13   #141
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
Thanks! I'll think about it later, but having both 2x1 and 1x1 would require a significant rework. For now I plan to take a break from Wolfenstein 3D so I can update the Blake Stone and Catacomb games.
What system do you have, is AmiWolf not fast enough on it?
BSzili is offline  
Old 06 March 2022, 14:03   #142
Jacques
Registered User
 
Jacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Posts: 202
I own two A1200's: Blizzard 1230-IV and Warp 1260 equipped. Obviously 060 is quick enough for AmiWolf (+RTG version), but it's not as quick as it could have been on 030.
I understand your need for a break, though, but it would be excellent to have quick and flexible conversion one day to suit different systems best.
Jacques is offline  
Old 03 April 2022, 21:21   #143
AgnusFatts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Gdansk / Poland
Posts: 5
Someone tried to run the game on A4000/040 Workbench 3.0, ROM 3.0 or 3.1. I`ve tried several version of Wolf 3D files and game won`t run
AgnusFatts is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 18:19   #144
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
"Won't run" is a bit too vague, could you describe the problem is more details? A screenshot would also be helpful.
BSzili is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 18:22   #145
LaBodilsen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 179
Any hint on how i can compile this code.. beeing a little new to c.
LaBodilsen is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 18:32   #146
Playaveli
GoalScoringSuperstarHero
 
Playaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 42
Posts: 156
Send a message via ICQ to Playaveli Send a message via AIM to Playaveli Send a message via MSN to Playaveli
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgnusFatts View Post
Someone tried to run the game on A4000/040 Workbench 3.0, ROM 3.0 or 3.1. I`ve tried several version of Wolf 3D files and game won`t run
Maybe the same monitor problem as I had. (DEVS)

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...6&postcount=95
Playaveli is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 18:36   #147
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaBodilsen View Post
Any hint on how i can compile this code.. beeing a little new to c.
First get Bebbo's toolchain:
https://github.com/bebbo/amiga-gcc
then build it with this command:
Code:
make -f Makefile.amiga
BSzili is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 19:20   #148
AgnusFatts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Gdansk / Poland
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
"Won't run" is a bit too vague, could you describe the problem is more details? A screenshot would also be helpful.

Im just clicking and game wont start. Any message or error. Just "attempting to load wolf3d" flashes for a second...and nothing happens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20220404_191009.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	877.0 KB
ID:	75215   Click image for larger version

Name:	20220404_190952.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	75216  
AgnusFatts is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 20:06   #149
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
I see, the data is definitely good. Did you try running it from the shell? Something like this:
Code:
stack 8192
wolf3d
SnoopDOS might also give some clues about what's happening.
BSzili is offline  
Old 04 April 2022, 21:19   #150
AgnusFatts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Gdansk / Poland
Posts: 5
OMG, i was so stupid....

lowlevel.library was missing.

Now everything working fine.... I'm sorry for taking up your time.
AgnusFatts is offline  
Old 05 April 2022, 06:38   #151
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
No worries, I'm glad it's working now. I should probably mention the lowlevel.library requirement in the readme, since the game runs fine on Workbench 3.0 otherwise.
BSzili is offline  
Old 05 April 2022, 09:15   #152
AgnusFatts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Gdansk / Poland
Posts: 5
Yes, it's a good thing to do because a lowlevel.library is a not standard part of WB 3.0. I didn`t noticed any problems with WB 3.0, game is running without any problems.
AgnusFatts is offline  
Old 05 April 2022, 13:24   #153
wairnair
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 355
Runs perfect on CD32+TF330 using a CD32 pad (KTRL32).

I happen to have a keyboard but otherwise giving a name for a savegame would be blocking. My guess is not many CD32 users have a keyboard attached, maybe accepting an empty name / or a predefined save name would make it completely pad-controllable.
Just a minor observation, otherwise it really is perfect.
wairnair is offline  
Old 05 April 2022, 14:28   #154
LaBodilsen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
First get Bebbo's toolchain:
https://github.com/bebbo/amiga-gcc
then build it with this command:
Code:
make -f Makefile.amiga
Thank you for this hint. I have some ideas I want to try out, but my skills might not be up to the task

But i get this error:
sh: echo: No such file or directory
sh: *** [Makefile.amiga:166: id_ca.o] Error 127

Last edited by LaBodilsen; 05 April 2022 at 17:36.
LaBodilsen is offline  
Old 05 April 2022, 19:44   #155
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Runs perfect on CD32+TF330 using a CD32 pad (KTRL32).

I happen to have a keyboard but otherwise giving a name for a savegame would be blocking. My guess is not many CD32 users have a keyboard attached, maybe accepting an empty name / or a predefined save name would make it completely pad-controllable.
Just a minor observation, otherwise it really is perfect.
The game does accept empty save names, but good luck figuring out which one is which I didn't really think of adding automatic names as there are a few other actions you can't perform with a controller only, e.g. switching weapons. People with expanded CD32 systems usually have a keyboard too, and the game doesn't run well on a stock CD32 system anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaBodilsen View Post
Thank you for this hint. I have some ideas I want to try out, but my skills might not be up to the task

But i get this error:
sh: echo: No such file or directory
sh: *** [Makefile.amiga:166: id_ca.o] Error 127
You can try to remove the echoes from the makefile, but if that doesn't work then you'll likely run into other issues along the way.
BSzili is offline  
Old 11 April 2022, 16:15   #156
LaBodilsen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
You can try to remove the echoes from the makefile, but if that doesn't work then you'll likely run into other issues along the way.
Thanks..
i finally got it to compile. Had to configure vasm (vbcc) aswell, and change some include file paths in the c2p source files.

But now it works, and I have played it with my own compiled version. sweet!

Last edited by LaBodilsen; 11 April 2022 at 16:21.
LaBodilsen is offline  
Old 11 April 2022, 19:04   #157
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
That's nice, have fun with it!
BSzili is offline  
Old 12 April 2022, 11:58   #158
modrobert
old bearded fool
 
modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 56
Posts: 779
Runs fine on my stock A1200 (see details in sig) with 8mb fast RAM, getting 8 fps steady (TAB-D) with music enabled.

The conversion on first run took some time, the sounds were converted relatively fast but the music took roughly 200 seconds each on average (26 total).

Overall I think this runs faster on stock A1200 with 68EC020 at 14MHz than AmiWolf did with a 68030 at 33MHz (used to have an ACA-1232 installed, now bork).

modrobert is offline  
Old 12 April 2022, 18:17   #159
BSzili
old chunk of coal
 
BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,298
Thanks, I tried to get close the original requierements of the game. 8 fps sounds a bit low, I usually get 10-12 unless there are a lot of sprites on the screen. Did you increase the view size?
BSzili is offline  
Old 12 April 2022, 22:29   #160
modrobert
old bearded fool
 
modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 56
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
Thanks, I tried to get close the original requierements of the game. 8 fps sounds a bit low, I usually get 10-12 unless there are a lot of sprites on the screen. Did you increase the view size?
The default for me was a screen size which covers the fps counter, if I make the screen a tiny bit smaller so the fps counter is just above the screen then it's 9-10 fps.

I tried with a minimal startup-sequence, got same fps, doesn't seem to matter if CMQ030 is loaded or not either (that makes a difference with AmiWolf).

EDIT:

The version I downloaded was 1.0 from Aminet:
http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/wolf4amiga

Last edited by modrobert; 12 April 2022 at 23:23.
modrobert is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blizzard 1230 IV running at 1/3 clock speed (16.7 MHz instead of 50 MHz) pyksy support.Hardware 20 26 September 2015 05:36
FPU 68882 40 Mhz and crystal 48 Mhz paulo_becas support.Hardware 10 09 July 2012 16:47
68020 33 MHz Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 2 02 January 2012 19:21
For sale: APOLLO 630 33 MHZ for Amiga 600 - 33 MHZ with FPU (brand new) martin-flash MarketPlace 25 21 June 2005 10:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:08.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10598 seconds with 14 queries