English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2019, 17:39   #121
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
I think you underestimate the amount of game logic in SF-II. It's got some kind of scripting engine and I believe it does all the hit detection logic even for skipped frames.

https://sf2platinum.wordpress.com/
I think you are overestimating the complexity of that system

Honestly, that's a really simple system, and quite easy to code efficiently

Just a simple scripted state-machine...
DanScott is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 17:56   #122
zero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 428
So for each frame it

- Runs the script engine
- Calculates animation frames, which are also scripted
- Calculates movement
- Does hit detection

In the highest turbo mode it does that at 120Hz, i.e. twice per rendered frame.

And on the Amiga it also has to

- Control the blitter
- Play the music and sound effects
- Read the player's inputs, including complex move detection like the fireball motion
- Do any graphical flipping required if RAM constrained

I think it's a tall order. The blitter is stealing a lot of memory access cycles, if you want more than 16 colours then so is DMA. At least on the A1200 you have an instruction cache and 2MB RAM, but even then...
zero is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 18:44   #123
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
So for each frame it

- Runs the script engine
- Calculates animation frames, which are also scripted
- Calculates movement
- Does hit detection

In the highest turbo mode it does that at 120Hz, i.e. twice per rendered frame.

And on the Amiga it also has to

- Control the blitter
- Play the music and sound effects
- Read the player's inputs, including complex move detection like the fireball motion
- Do any graphical flipping required if RAM constrained

I think it's a tall order. The blitter is stealing a lot of memory access cycles, if you want more than 16 colours then so is DMA. At least on the A1200 you have an instruction cache and 2MB RAM, but even then...
If you reduce screen area and bob's size you'll have all the cicles that you need.
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 01:52   #124
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
If you reduce screen area and bob's size you'll have all the cicles that you need.
Awaiting your demo showcasing this feat....

however, reduce screen size and bob size, and it's no longer Street Fighter
DanScott is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 12:26   #125
Retro1234
Phone Homer
 
Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,808
Street Fighter 2 Arcade uses scripts for AI

https://sf2platinum.wordpress.com/20...the-ai-engine/
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 16:32   #126
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes, and the game logic is running while the GPU takes care of the display !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 18:04   #127
Retro1234
Phone Homer
 
Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
yes, and the game logic is running while the GPU takes care of the display !
So have to have a go at ripping that data also need some Graphic rips.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 June 2019, 07:27   #128
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
Awaiting your demo showcasing this feat....

however, reduce screen size and bob size, and it's no longer Street Fighter
A ok. But a few pixel less don't hurt the game!

I did a small demo to test if it's possibile to make it run at 50 hz, and it does!
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 10:26   #129
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 944
I'd personally be happy with a 1:1 SF2 conversion that ran the original code for the core gameplay, with the only changes to the code being in I/O, graphics, and sound. It obviously would not run on a stock A500 but might be doable on 68030+AGA+Lots of fast RAM.

Sort of like how Super Mario Bros. got ported to the C64. The graphics were adapted to the C64's chipset, but the core game code is pure straight from the Nintendo original. It doesn't run full-speed on a stock C64, but with a Turbo Chameleon or a SuperCPU it runs more or less 1:1 perfectly, the only giveaway that it's on a C64 coming from the lower horizontal resolution.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 13:51   #130
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes i agree with this. Our best coders have the knowledge to use the original arcade code patched to run on AGA + 68030 + Lots of fast RAM + Hard drive PFS3AIO.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 07:58   #131
Faserone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4
Original SSF2T arcade rom full size character animation on AMOS

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

Original game music full 16 channels but slows down in full screen. As shown by seko, could be done on 3 or 4 channels with good results.

[ Show youtube player ]
Faserone is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 11:08   #132
zero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 428
Nice work. How much RAM are you using for that sprite?

4 channels of audio turned out to be a bit of a bottleneck. Seemed incredible at the time but if you need two channels for sound effects (one per player) then two for music is a bit thin. Could still sound decent.
zero is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 12:16   #133
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Ryu on CPS2 takes 1,1mb of rom with around 400-500 frames.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 15:09   #134
zero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Ryu on CPS2 takes 1,1mb of rom with around 400-500 frames.
Are you use? I just checked the CPS-2 ROM and it's 7 MB of data, assuming each chip is 100% full. That includes all the sound and graphics for stages etc, plus 12 characters.

For confirmation the near arcade perfect PC Engine version is an 8MB ROM.

If Ryu alone was 1.1MB then there is no way all that would fit into 7MB of total ROM.
zero is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 17:41   #135
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
Are you use? I just checked the CPS-2 ROM and it's 7 MB of data, assuming each chip is 100% full. That includes all the sound and graphics for stages etc, plus 12 characters.

For confirmation the near arcade perfect PC Engine version is an 8MB ROM.

If Ryu alone was 1.1MB then there is no way all that would fit into 7MB of total ROM.
Everything is stored as tiles. The CPS-2 rip of Ryu of 1,1mb. Otherwise stored as tiles, Ryu is 850ko alone.

Each character has a different size. one stage is around 120kb.

SSF2 CPS2 is a 12mb game (GFX+SOUND ROMS+CODE)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 18:11   #136
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
Nice work. How much RAM are you using for that sprite?

4 channels of audio turned out to be a bit of a bottleneck. Seemed incredible at the time but if you need two channels for sound effects (one per player) then two for music is a bit thin. Could still sound decent.
In the right hands (not necessarily mine) decent results are possible, of course with some compromises...

[ Show youtube player ]
saimon69 is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 18:17   #137
Retro1234
Phone Homer
 
Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,808
Do you have these CPS graphics?

Last edited by Retro1234; 02 August 2019 at 18:23.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 19:46   #138
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Do you have these CPS graphics?
Well no, i would need to crawl inside the CPS2 arcade code for that.

Better use a custom tool, validating each sprite frame and then export.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 20:25   #139
Retro1234
Phone Homer
 
Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Well no, i would need to crawl inside the CPS2 arcade code for that.

Better use a custom tool, validating each sprite frame and then export.
Have you got any Character sprites stored in Tiles I'd like to see it I also heard the Neo Geo stores Sprites like this.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 20:34   #140
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,505
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Have you got any Character sprites stored in Tiles I'd like to see it I also heard the Neo Geo stores Sprites like this.
I have not started anything, a tool is needed to get all you want without spending tons of hours to get them.
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A good port of Super Street Fighter II Turbo on CD32 Rochabian project.CD32 Conversion 35 05 June 2022 14:43
Street Fighter 2 weirdreams Retrogaming General Discussion 4 20 June 2012 23:15
Super Street Fighter 2 Retro1234 project.Sprites 94 12 December 2008 11:20
street fighter stuntpup project.WHDLoad 5 30 August 2007 20:45
[Fixed] Street Fighter II Amigaboy HOL data problems 5 30 December 2002 21:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:42.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11029 seconds with 14 queries