English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2016, 23:25   #121
Toffee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
All my current projects are developed for 1meg.. that's 512kchip + 512k of any other ram (chip/slow/fast)... i believe this is a realistic "target"

I am actually developing in a 1meg chip environment, so all code will be running in chip while developing.. therefore I don't rely on the extra speed of fast/fake fast/slow etc..
Dan what are you working ON ?
Toffee is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 04:54   #122
AndNN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 58
While sleeping on this discussion I'm actually warming up to the idea of doing an enhanced mode - basically offer the standard OCS limitations then give the user the chance to switch so fast memory can be used for code.

It makes me wonder why developers/publishers did not offer this at the time. And it would of been a way to get users to upgrade in a stealth way to fast memory. Going back to Stardust, or Alien Breed and such, it would of been awesome to have an EHB mode for users with fast memory. And at the time this really would not of had much impact on development done the right way.

My other thought on this is what happens if you want to go beyond 1meg... some game types will need more memory. For instance games like Wolfenstein... which is what I'm investigating on OCS. With fast memory it is possible to render 2x2 pixels at 64 colours running at 17fps. It's also actually possible to do 2x2 pixels at 16 colours on a standard OCS machine at 17fps but by doing that there is not much memory left for the actual game. So for something like this there's no choice but to use fast memory so in away the purest would never except that but on a technical point of view it would prove that it was possible to do that in 1985.
AndNN is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 08:12   #123
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
What I've been learing with rygar is that we're willing to sacrifice screen size, we'll have a extra boost on dma cycles. Since we spare 64 pixel, we have: 64/16 = 4 slots, each slots have 8 transfers cycles, so we have 32 cycles per 200 lines = 6400 cicles, if I did correct!!

Not BAD! with thi strick we can have Wolfestein on OCS 1x1 at 16 colors with decent speed
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 09:54   #124
Tigerskunk
Inviyya Dude!
 
Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
What I've been learing with rygar is that we're willing to sacrifice screen size, we'll have a extra boost on dma cycles. Since we spare 64 pixel, we have: 64/16 = 4 slots, each slots have 8 transfers cycles, so we have 32 cycles per 200 lines = 6400 cicles, if I did correct!!
Do you switch the Bitplane DMA off and on somewhere in the rasterline, or how do you manage to accomplish this DMA cycle boost?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
All my current projects are developed for 1meg.. that's 512kchip + 512k of any other ram (chip/slow/fast)... i believe this is a realistic "target"

I am actually developing in a 1meg chip environment, so all code will be running in chip while developing.. therefore I don't rely on the extra speed of fast/fake fast/slow etc..
As long as you don't use the other 512 k as DMA accessible, and it's running on a standard A500 config, all is good, I guess...
Tigerskunk is online now  
Old 17 November 2016, 09:55   #125
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Do you switch the Bitplane DMA off and on somewhere in the rasterline, or how do you manage to accomplish this DMA cycle boost?
Just closing view port to 256 pixel. I hope I did my calculation well
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 09:59   #126
Tigerskunk
Inviyya Dude!
 
Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Just closing view port to 256 pixel. I hope I did my calculation well
Ah, Diwstrt and Diwstop... Off course..
Tigerskunk is online now  
Old 17 November 2016, 10:01   #127
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Ah, Diwstrt and Diwstop... Off course..
Yes! With that in mind we can have a great conversions, allmost pixel perfect like our rygar, and we can do some good 3d game here!
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 10:24   #128
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Ah, Diwstrt and Diwstop... Off course..
ddfstart & ddfstop
DanScott is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 10:27   #129
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Thinak about now many conversion they could have been done with this simple thing in mind..
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 10:39   #130
Tigerskunk
Inviyya Dude!
 
Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
ddfstart & ddfstop
Damn, I shouldn't write stuff before my first coffee in the morning..
Tigerskunk is online now  
Old 17 November 2016, 11:50   #131
Master484
Registered User
 
Master484's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Vaasa, Finland
Posts: 525
Quote:
Just closing view port to 256 pixel.
I have examined the screen sizes used in various Amiga games, and it seems that many of them reduce either vertical or horizontal screen size to boost speed.

For example in Risky Woods the actual game area is only 287*176, and the static "game panel" area below that is 287*47.

And in Toki the game area is 224*176, and the panel area is 224*24.

And Midnight Resistance has a 288*160 game area + a 288*40 status panel.

So it would seem that reducing the screen area was a common practice back then, and it surely increases speed, so we should definitely use this trick.

---

Also according to the Wikipedia article of Rygar, it uses a 256*224 display. So just to achieve "arcade perfect" accuracy you should reduce the game area to this value, and maybe put a separate status panel to the remaining screen area.

Many arcade machines have a smaller display than the Amiga's 320*256. For example Black Tiger arcade is also 256*224. And also almost every Super Nintendo game uses 256*224, which should make any SNES to Amiga conversion a little bit easier too.

A 256*224 screen area is 30 % smaller than full 320*256, but still looks good. Even Toki looks OK with it's 224*176 screen, because the status panel below it creates an illusion of a bigger screen.

Last edited by Master484; 17 November 2016 at 11:55.
Master484 is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 11:58   #132
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,946
That's something i don't get, if using lower res screens gives games a boost, why didn't a lot of Amiga games that used a lower resolution get 'zoomed in' i.e displayed on the whole tv screen, if SNES games were on the most part only 256x224 they were displayed full screen (bar pal games!) Amiga games that didn't use overscan looked poor in comparison to console games despite being in a higher resolution in most cases?

I.e Flink on the CD32, the graphics are the same resolution, but because the Megadrive version gets displayed full screen its looks better despite the pixel art being the same.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 13:05   #133
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
if using lower res screens gives games a boost, why didn't a lot of Amiga games that used a lower resolution get 'zoomed in' i.e displayed on the whole tv screen

because you could not do that....
DanScott is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 13:25   #134
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master484 View Post
I have examined the screen sizes used in various Amiga games, and it seems that many of them reduce either vertical or horizontal screen size to boost speed.

For example in Risky Woods the actual game area is only 287*176, and the static "game panel" area below that is 287*47.

And in Toki the game area is 224*176, and the panel area is 224*24.

And Midnight Resistance has a 288*160 game area + a 288*40 status panel.

So it would seem that reducing the screen area was a common practice back then, and it surely increases speed, so we should definitely use this trick.

---

Also according to the Wikipedia article of Rygar, it uses a 256*224 display. So just to achieve "arcade perfect" accuracy you should reduce the game area to this value, and maybe put a separate status panel to the remaining screen area.

Many arcade machines have a smaller display than the Amiga's 320*256. For example Black Tiger arcade is also 256*224. And also almost every Super Nintendo game uses 256*224, which should make any SNES to Amiga conversion a little bit easier too.

A 256*224 screen area is 30 % smaller than full 320*256, but still looks good. Even Toki looks OK with it's 224*176 screen, because the status panel below it creates an illusion of a bigger screen.
Thanks! Great Info here. In fact our rygar run nicelly!
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 13:53   #135
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 47
Posts: 1,416
out of topic but 16 colors could be enough for Black Tiger

-->
nobody is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 13:56   #136
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
out of topic but 16 colors could be enough for Black Tiger

-->
With HS Sprite we can have 32!
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 13:58   #137
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 47
Posts: 1,416
32 colors would be almost identical to arcade machine.
nobody is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 14:02   #138
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
32 colors would be almost identical to arcade machine.
Maybe we rygar engine, we can do miracles
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 15:21   #139
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,511
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
With HS Sprite we can have 32!
The part you have choosen is one of the less colored of the whole game.

Some parts use 87 colors (and unique colors !)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 November 2016, 15:41   #140
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 47
Posts: 1,416
this is the original picture, 69 colors and my conversion. I added some things like an enemy and an item to be even harder


nobody is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Critical Mass by Parallax, what machine will it run on? Leffmann support.Demos 16 11 August 2021 19:41
Lionheart Parallax question trydowave Retrogaming General Discussion 19 03 February 2020 08:24
Parallax scrolling layer with sprites possible? phx Coders. Asm / Hardware 21 12 July 2015 18:15
Parallax scrolling meant nothing to me until... killergorilla Amiga scene 26 12 February 2006 16:40
Parallax scrolling in DPaint (tutorial) Stein Retrogaming General Discussion 2 17 January 2006 22:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11134 seconds with 14 queries