English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2020, 00:18   #101
lesta_smsc
Registered User
 
lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,184
Game was mentioned on an Amiga channel which is broadcasting live right now!

[ Show youtube player ]

Tiny Galaga mentioned around 1:07 or so...
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 13:15   #102
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
Never , although I did program the Amiga waaaaay back ago.
But please don't be offended, I never meant to criticize.


However, I am just wondering. For example regarding CPU's. This game was written in C and compiled with GCC right? Isn't there a "universal" CPU setting that works with all CPU's? Surely there is a common set of instructions that are supported by all CPU variations. When programming in assembler I am sure it must be more difficult to avoid some instructions that are not supported on some CPU's. However, with C it should be easier as the compiler can handle it.

I compiled the game for 68000, so no instructions from later CPUs are used.
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 13:16   #103
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by khayoz View Post
@pink^abyss

Thank you!
Looks and play great!

Thanks khayoz!
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 18:45   #104
hexaae
Bug hunter
 
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 2,171
@pink^abyss
Adding P=Pause and native screen initialization (it freezes when starting from a Picasso RTG Workbench. Have to switch to native mode before launch)?
hexaae is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 23:06   #105
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 47
Posts: 1,416
Just an idea, include an option with different color schemes Gameboy (green), CGA etc.
nobody is offline  
Old 02 June 2020, 16:00   #106
Nightshft
Registered User
 
Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Just an idea, include an option with different color schemes Gameboy (green), CGA etc.

Excellent Idea.
Maybe also green and amber monitor, ...
Nightshft is offline  
Old 02 June 2020, 21:57   #107
Havie
Registered User
 
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,895
Played - excellent and really well done. Plays really smoothly and is very enjoyable. No sprites is impressive too!

I may be being stupid but it looks like at least 3 colours to me - white, black and grey? Surely this is 2 bitplanes?
Havie is online now  
Old 03 June 2020, 08:15   #108
nobody
Registered User
 
nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 47
Posts: 1,416
Maybe around 30 objects including bullets, I guess this is easy for the blitter and given that it's only using 4 colors, and small size of objects.
nobody is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 09:13   #109
Tigerskunk
Inviyya Dude!
 
Tigerskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 2,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Played - excellent and really well done. Plays really smoothly and is very enjoyable. No sprites is impressive too!

I may be being stupid but it looks like at least 3 colours to me - white, black and grey? Surely this is 2 bitplanes?
2 bitplanes = 3 colours plus background...
Tigerskunk is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 10:24   #110
Havie
Registered User
 
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,895
I get that but Pinky says that it is only 1 bitplane in his initial post so I wondered if there was something clever going on?
Havie is online now  
Old 03 June 2020, 10:27   #111
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
I get that but Pinky says that it is only 1 bitplane in his initial post so I wondered if there was something clever going on?
Everything is rendered on one bitplane, with that same bitplane being reused with a slight offset to create the subtle shadow.
britelite is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 11:00   #112
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
Everything is rendered on one bitplane, with that same bitplane being reused with a slight offset to create the subtle shadow.
Now thay you mention it I see it !

Very nice effect.

Would he only use a single buffer for that?
And just offset the second bitplane pointer?
Mathesar is online now  
Old 03 June 2020, 11:08   #113
Antiriad_UK
OCS forever!
 
Antiriad_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 418
Yep.
Code:
 00030d80: 0100 2200          	;  BPLCON0 := 0x2200
 00030d94: 00e0 0003          	;  BPL1PTH := 0x0003
 00030d98: 00e2 8d72          	;  BPL1PTL := 0x8d72
 00030d9c: 00e4 0003          	;  BPL2PTH := 0x0003
 00030da0: 00e6 8d42          	;  BPL2PTL := 0x8d42
2bpl screen, pointers to same bitplane buffer 30 bytes apart.
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 13:53   #114
JudasEZT
Registered User
 
JudasEZT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: mercury
Posts: 577
Great stuff. I love its smoothness and that shadow. =)
JudasEZT is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 14:18   #115
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 54
Posts: 4,488
You also need to set a horizontal shift (so the odd and even bplanes are not only vertically far):
Code:
0102 0020          	;  BPLCON1 := 0x0020
It's the easiest and most effective way (and requires practically no resources) to create shadows on characters with the Amiga
ross is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 18:50   #116
roondar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,436
I've finally been able to put a bit more than 5 minutes into this and I am even more impressed now than I was before. Not only is the executable tiny, but the game is really, really good. It's super smooth, the art style works and it plays like a dream.

Excellent stuff
roondar is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 19:58   #117
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
I've finally been able to put a bit more than 5 minutes into this and I am even more impressed now than I was before. Not only is the executable tiny, but the game is really, really good. It's super smooth, the art style works and it plays like a dream.

Excellent stuff

Thanks a lot. There are some rough edges here and there but overall i'm satisfied how it plays.
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 20:11   #118
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Maybe around 30 objects including bullets, I guess this is easy for the blitter and given that it's only using 4 colors, and small size of objects.
Here are some more details:

The maximum you can see in one frame is
64 pixel stars with different speeds

32 enemies
8 enemy shots4 player shots
2 player ships
1 bonus pod

The whole screen is 'cleared' with the blitter by copying the hud

onto the screen without mask. Then all bobs are blitted with mask and then all stars are plotted with the cpu.

Collision detection is done with Morton codes for broadphase culling and then simple aabb overlap checks.

If i remember correctly then the blitter used around 30% of available dma cycles. Most blitter time was spend for copy clearing.

The music/sfx replayer (PreTracker) takes around 35 rasterlines. The fx are programmed and not just samples.
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 20:12   #119
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by JudasEZT View Post
Great stuff. I love its smoothness and that shadow. =)

thanks Javier
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 21:44   #120
hexaae
Bug hunter
 
hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
@pink^abyss
Adding P=Pause and native screen initialization (it freezes when starting from a Picasso RTG Workbench. Have to switch to native mode before launch)?
Should I still hope to see at least RTG fix when starting from non-native screen?
At present I have to launch the game from degraders like "C:JST EXECUTE ays-galaga" which opens a PAL screen right before the exe is launched...

Last edited by hexaae; 03 June 2020 at 21:54.
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Invaders pink^abyss Amiga scene 44 23 May 2020 21:28
Tiny Launcher help -Acid- support.Other 0 08 July 2018 12:22
Tiny Launcher 1.7 gibs News 53 27 April 2014 21:48
Tiny Troops Dokugogagoji project.WHDLoad 3 23 November 2013 15:21
Tiny Troops Maverick357 support.Games 4 29 July 2001 18:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:07.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10339 seconds with 14 queries