English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2024, 15:25   #981
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,510
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I have this compilation, and indeed, the game is the same as the retail version.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 June 2024, 15:49   #982
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?
 
Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 49
Posts: 4,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopy1234 View Post
How do I state the input file in Disk Analyse when it is a Stream 00.0.raw folder?
If the files is named track00.0.raw etc

disk-analyse -f"(whatever format)" track "(name of disk).ipf"
Retroplay is offline  
Old 02 June 2024, 04:20   #983
Snoopy1234
Registered User
 
Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
I have this compilation, and indeed, the game is the same as the retail version.
Thanks for confirming that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
If the files is named track00.0.raw etc

disk-analyse -f"(whatever format)" track "(name of disk).ipf"
The tracks are in a folder in the d-a root folder, so would it be folder/track or just track? I've tried most combinations of folder/track(00)(*.raw) etc and I get Failed to probe input file. Edit: Folder/track works ok now. Thx.

Last edited by Snoopy1234; 02 June 2024 at 06:42.
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 02 June 2024, 12:45   #984
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
An example:

I dump all my games in a folder, so, if I'm dumping an Amiga game with my Kryoflux and say it's Cannon Fodder then the my dtc command is this:

dtc -p -fCannonFodder[Amiga]/CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_ -i0 -i5 -l8

So that will create a folder called CannonFodder[Amiga] and in that folder will be the the stream name of Disk 1 which will be CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_00.0.raw all the way up to CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_83.1.raw so 168 tracks on an 84 track drive! The starting track will automatically have 00.0.raw appended to the stream name then increment the track/head as it dumps!

To dump Disk 2 I just change the (1of3)_ to say (2of3)_ so the stream names will then say CannonFodder[Amiga](2of3)_00.0.raw

and for Disk 3 change (2of3)_ to say (3of3)_ and the stream names will say CannonFodder[Amiga](3of3)_00.0.raw

Now in disk-analyse I copy the folder into the same directory as the disk-analyse program and I use the command:

disk-analyse -f"Cannon Fodder" "CannonFodder[Amiga]/CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_ " "CannonFodder_Disk1.ipf"

That will create an IPF called CannonFodder_Disk1.ipf

The only thing to note is you do not need to specify the start track in disk-analyse so 00.0.raw can be omitted and it will automatically look for the stream starting with 00.0.raw

The only other thing to change is the number of the disk to reflect which disk you are creating in disk-analyse, so Disk 2 will need to say:

disk-analyse -f"Cannon Fodder" "CannonFodder[Amiga]/CannonFodder[Amiga](2of3)_ " "CannonFodder_Disk2.ipf"

and for Disk 3:

disk-analyse -f"Cannon Fodder" "CannonFodder[Amiga]/CannonFodder[Amiga](3of3)_ " "CannonFodder_Disk3.ipf"
BarryB is offline  
Old 02 June 2024, 12:56   #985
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
If you are dumping with Greaseweazle then you have to create the CannonFodder[Amiga] folder first then use this command for an 84 track drive:

gw read CannonFodder[Amiga]\CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_00.0.raw --revs=5 --tracks=c=0-83

Then change the (1of3)_ part to reflect the disk!!

I issue a few more commands with Greaseweazle and use the following in a .BAT file:

Code:
@gw delays --step 9000
gw seek 0
@gw read {folder}\{stream}00.0.raw --revs=5 --tracks=c=0-83
@pause
gw seek 0
Sets less aggressive stepping and seeks to track 0 before and after dumping!! Just edit in your folder name in place of {folder} and the stream name in place of {stream}
BarryB is offline  
Old 02 June 2024, 13:38   #986
Snoopy1234
Registered User
 
Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
If you are dumping with Greaseweazle then you have to create the CannonFodder[Amiga] folder first then use this command for an 84 track drive:

gw read CannonFodder[Amiga]\CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_00.0.raw --revs=5 --tracks=c=0-83

Then change the (1of3)_ part to reflect the disk!!

I issue a few more commands with Greaseweazle and use the following in a .BAT file:

Code:
@gw delays --step 9000
gw seek 0
@gw read {folder}\{stream}00.0.raw --revs=5 --tracks=c=0-83
@pause
gw seek 0
Sets less aggressive stepping and seeks to track 0 before and after dumping!! Just edit in your folder name in place of {folder} and the stream name in place of {stream}
@BarryB Thank You for a detailed example. I've bookmarked this page for future reference.
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 02 June 2024, 16:40   #987
haynor666
retro maniac
 
haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 45
Posts: 1,772
I'm using something like this:

Code:
@title amiga dump script
@set login=[your login]
@set pass=[your password]
@set uploaddir="[your upload directory"
@echo.
@timeout 1 >NUL
@set /p UserInputPath=What Directory would you like to use for dumping?
@if NOT exist "%UserInputPath%" (
      @mkdir "%UserInputPath%"
   )
:start
@echo.
@set /p GameName=Please input disk name?
@echo.
@if NOT exist "%UserInputPath%\%GameName%" (
      @mkdir "%UserInputPath%\%GameName%"
   )
@timeout 1 >NUL

@echo.
@echo ripping
@echo.
@timeout 1 >NUL
@gw.exe read --retries=50 --revs=5 --raw "%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\%GameName%00.0.raw" 2>>"%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\%GameName%GW.log"
@timeout 1 >NUL

@echo.
@echo converting to adf
@echo.
@timeout 1 >NUL
@DTC.exe -l15 -f"%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\%GameName%.adf" -i5 -m1 -f"%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\%GameName%" -i0 -e83 >>"%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\%GameName%DTC.log" 2>>"%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\%GameName%DTCerror.log"
@timeout 1 >NUL

@echo.
@echo packing
@echo.
@timeout 1 >NUL
@7z.exe a -y -r -ms=on -mx9 -mmt=4 -m0=LZMA2 -mfb=256 -md=384m -myx=9 "%UserInputPath%\%GameName%.7z" "%UserInputPath%\%GameName%\"
@timeout 1 >NUL

@echo.
@echo sending to ftp 
@echo.
@> ftp.txt echo Open ftp2.grandis.nu
@>> ftp.txt echo %login%
@>> ftp.txt echo %pass%
@>> ftp.txt echo cd %uploaddir%
@>> ftp.txt echo quote pasv
@>> ftp.txt echo binary
@>> ftp.txt echo send "%UserInputPath%\%GameName%.7z"
@>> ftp.txt echo disconnect 
@>> ftp.txt echo quit
@>> ftp.txt echo bye
@timeout 1 >NUL
@ftp -s:ftp.txt
@goto start
haynor666 is offline  
Old 03 June 2024, 15:45   #988
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
If you are dumping with Greaseweazle then you have to create the CannonFodder[Amiga] folder first then use this command for an 84 track drive:gw read CannonFodder[Amiga]\CannonFodder[Amiga](1of3)_00.0.raw --revs=5 --tracks=c=0-83Then change the (1of3)_ part to reflect the disk!!I issue a few more commands with Greaseweazle and use the following in a .BAT file:
Code:
@gw delays --step 9000gw seek 0@gw read {folder}\{stream}00.0.raw --revs=5 --tracks=c=0-83@pausegw seek 0
Sets less aggressive stepping and seeks to track 0 before and after dumping!! Just edit in your folder name in place of {folder} and the stream name in place of {stream}
Hi BarryB,

I find what you mention here to be very intriguing.
I have a Geaseweazle v4 and I have a couple of question as I am always trying to learn more about this:

1. What does setting less aggressive stepping do and what is the benefit? Does it change the result of the dump in any way? What about writing it back to a new disk?

2. I have my entire retail collection backed up as SCP. How does it compare to Kryoflux Raw? Would I be better off with RAW?

Thanks a bunch.

Last edited by sean_sk; 03 June 2024 at 23:16.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 03 June 2024, 20:14   #989
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
Uploaded to The Zone a dump of 'Top Cat Starring In Beverly Hills Cats' as there is no official IPF of this!

Unsure what the exact format of this is as 3 formats work in disk-analyse: Infestation, Rainbird and Robocod!!
BarryB is offline  
Old 03 June 2024, 21:09   #990
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?
 
Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 49
Posts: 4,136
hmm, interesting.

Only two differences found between infestation and rainbird generated ipfs and that's just the CAPS header not the actual game data.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 June 2024, 23:55   #991
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_sk View Post
Hi BarryB,

I find what you mention here to be very intriguing.
I have a Geaseweazle v4 and I have a couple of question as I am always trying to learn more about this:

1. What does setting less aggressive stepping do and what is the benefit? Does it change the result of the dump in any way? What about writing it back to a new disk?

2. I have my entire retail collection backed up as SCP. How does it compare to Kryoflux Raw? Would I be better off with RAW?

Thanks a bunch.
1. Just means the heads move slower when seeking or stepping to the next track which makes the read process smoother but longer. Compared to my Kryoflux a Greaseweazle seems to step a lot faster and I thought it was being too aggressive so Keir explained the delays / --step options!

2. SCP seems to capture as much information as RAW, I just use Kryoflux RAW dumps as that's the only format the SPS Team will process.
BarryB is offline  
Old 04 June 2024, 00:05   #992
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
hmm, interesting.

Only two differences found between infestation and rainbird generated ipfs and that's just the CAPS header not the actual game data.
Another Hi-Tec game: Yogi & Friends in the Greed Monster also works with either rainbird/robocod format!!
BarryB is offline  
Old 04 June 2024, 04:42   #993
Abaddon
Registered User
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 55
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Uploaded to The Zone a dump of 'Top Cat Starring In Beverly Hills Cats' as there is no official IPF of this!

Unsure what the exact format of this is as 3 formats work in disk-analyse: Infestation, Rainbird and Robocod!!
Infestation just calls psygnosis_a with a different track length (5120) and if I recall there is only 1 sync whereas rainbird uses a double sync

Robocod has special checksum routine, sums the data and adds 1 to the checksum if the carry is set for each addition. The other 2 use standard amigados checksums.

I will have to take a look at the loader for Top Cat to verify which is the correct format, but more than likely it is rainbird.



Update: I just checked the loader code for Infestation and Top Cat....they are identical. The psygnosis_a decoder handles single and double syncs. I will probably remove the Infestation entry and change the format to rainbird. Top Cat does indeed use rainbird based on the checksum calculation.

Last edited by Abaddon; 04 June 2024 at 05:12.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 04 June 2024, 06:37   #994
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,510
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Another Hi-Tec game: Yogi & Friends in the Greed Monster also works with either rainbird/robocod format!!
Rainbird ZZKJ format yep.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 04 June 2024, 08:41   #995
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Infestation just calls psygnosis_a with a different track length (5120) and if I recall there is only 1 sync whereas rainbird uses a double sync

Robocod has special checksum routine, sums the data and adds 1 to the checksum if the carry is set for each addition. The other 2 use standard amigados checksums.

I will have to take a look at the loader for Top Cat to verify which is the correct format, but more than likely it is rainbird.



Update: I just checked the loader code for Infestation and Top Cat....they are identical. The psygnosis_a decoder handles single and double syncs. I will probably remove the Infestation entry and change the format to rainbird. Top Cat does indeed use rainbird based on the checksum calculation.
Thanks for checking, seeing as one other Hi-Tec title used rainbird ws wondering if Top Cat did as well!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Rainbird ZZKJ format yep.
Is the dump good enough for an unofficial SPS IPF?
BarryB is offline  
Old 04 June 2024, 09:19   #996
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,510
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the dump is all fine
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 04 June 2024, 15:03   #997
BarryB
Amigaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the dump is all fine
Good news, i've uploaded an unofficial IPF to The Zone using the rainbird format
BarryB is offline  
Old 05 June 2024, 00:49   #998
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
1. Just means the heads move slower when seeking or stepping to the next track which makes the read process smoother but longer. Compared to my Kryoflux a Greaseweazle seems to step a lot faster and I thought it was being too aggressive so Keir explained the delays / --step options! 2. SCP seems to capture as much information as RAW, I just use Kryoflux RAW dumps as that's the only format the SPS Team will process.
Thanks for the explanations, really appreciate it. Will try it out.

I noticed that SPS has only one version of Lotus 2 in it's database which is the earlier version. I have the later version, which I have as part of the Lotus Trilogy collection (and was also the version included in later retail boxed versions of Lotus 2). It features the number "2" instead of the "II" in its loading screen and also the "Gremlin" and "Magnetic Fields" intro screens.

Is it worth uploading a dump of that to the zone for you guys to look at and making an IPF out of?

Last edited by sean_sk; 05 June 2024 at 10:48.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 05 June 2024, 08:37   #999
rygar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_sk View Post
Thanks for the explanations, really appreciate it. Will try it out.

I noticed that SPS has only one version of Lotus 2 in it's database which is the earlier version. I have the later version, which I have as part of the Lotus Trilogy collection (and was also the version included in later retail boxed versions of Lotus 2). It features the number "2" instead of the "II" in its loading screen and also the "Gremlin" and "Magnetic Gields" intro screens.

Is it worth uploading a dump of that to the zone for you guys to look at and making an IPF out of?
Yeah....please upload your dumps
rygar is offline  
Old 05 June 2024, 14:10   #1000
Snoopy1234
Registered User
 
Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_sk View Post
Thanks for the explanations, really appreciate it. Will try it out.

I noticed that SPS has only one version of Lotus 2 in it's database which is the earlier version. I have the later version, which I have as part of the Lotus Trilogy collection (and was also the version included in later retail boxed versions of Lotus 2). It features the number "2" instead of the "II" in its loading screen and also the "Gremlin" and "Magnetic Fields" intro screens.

Is it worth uploading a dump of that to the zone for you guys to look at and making an IPF out of?
Not meaning to tread on your toes bud but I hadn't seen any developments on the question so - Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 (Lotus Trilogy)(Gremlin) stream 5 revs and d-a IPF in the zone
Snoopy1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPFs of games I own antonvaltaz project.SPS (was CAPS) 22 28 May 2009 12:28
Mounting IPFs killergorilla project.SPS (was CAPS) 16 06 August 2005 00:32
Downloadable IPFs killergorilla project.SPS (was CAPS) 15 27 August 2003 15:59
How exactly do IPFs get out in the first place? MethodGit project.SPS (was CAPS) 2 15 July 2003 22:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:00.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12436 seconds with 14 queries