English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2003, 12:48   #21
khephren
Junior Member
 
khephren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 128
I agree with the AsmOne crowd, the best without doubt. Don't remember any major bugs in it, was just not as annoying as DevPac or Argasm.

Anyone remember using one of the thousands of versions of Seka? Only reason I used it was because that was what Tec/CRB line source was written in it.

I used DICE C on the Amiga (sure it was called that, memory is fading quicker now).
khephren is offline  
Old 14 February 2004, 10:42   #22
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
Could someone please re-upload Slayers SAS/C 6.58 package to the Zone, it would be appreciated. I have been considering doing the four level upgrade tap dance but decided to ask if there is a kind person here who could spare me the trouble. I would probably endup breaking the keyboard on my forehead.
zerohero is offline  
Old 14 February 2004, 14:17   #23
Slayer
Amiga Member
 
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 57
Posts: 695
my pleasure

please check end of READ.ME for other neccessary
assigns...

good luck!
Slayer is offline  
Old 14 February 2004, 14:55   #24
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
Hey, thanks....

You spared my keyboard.
zerohero is offline  
Old 16 February 2004, 10:57   #25
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Post

Meanwhile I have made some experiences with (dis-)assemblers/debuggers concerning the CARE project.

For me the best disassembler is IRA. D68k is also great.
And the best and most compatible assembler is PhxAss.
With these great tools it's possible to rebuild a 1:1 executable.
I have the sources of all of these programs (these are not free). So it's possible to tweak them to my own needs.
D68k and PhxAss are programmed in assembler, IRA in C.
All of them are very fast.

The best low-level debugger is ... the WINUAE built-in debugger because it can be used in every situation.
With the last WinUae version the debugger became better and more useable. On a real (older) Amiga I would prefer
the Action Replay as low level debugger.
I don't use symbolic debuggers so I don't know what I would prefer.

Last edited by AmiGer; 25 November 2004 at 08:21.
AmiGer is offline  
Old 16 February 2004, 22:30   #26
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
I checked out your Care project page and i think it is commendable that you take the old amiga classics and improve them.

Interesting tools too, ira seems to be what i have been looking for I have tried Resource 6.06 but having problems using non standard gfx modes i.e. those provided by the picasso card so i have to run it in 640*512. Its cleaner with a cmd line tool compared to a messy gui.

What do you think of a asmpro 1.16i it was mentioned in the ira documentation that phxass was better suited for larger programs? and what linker do you use, phxlnk, dlink??

Do you repair broken disks?? i have a messed up music intro disk which refuses to load. I thought i might salve the disk and disassemble the loader?? do you have any advice?

Anyways, i thought the name "phxass" was cool, what happens if you say it real fast... hmmm

Do you have any new disassembling projects or do you plan on improving elite?

Last edited by zerohero; 17 February 2004 at 07:46.
zerohero is offline  
Old 17 February 2004, 08:06   #27
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
I think I remember that I had some compatibility problems with AsmPro.
The big advantage of using IRA and PhxAss is, that the authors (btw. both german) worked together until some years ago.
They tweaked their programs until they reached a 1:1 reassembling success.

Normaly I use the PhxAss build-in Linker or PhxLnk.

Disassemble/analyze/debug(winuae) boot block then the loader (if there is a seperate).
If it's a disk motor problem this could help.

To give you an idea: 50000 source lines compiled in less than 45 seconds that's fast... (on emulated A1200)

I concentrate on real life the most time now but I have a new project. I make good progress but it will take much time...
I don't want to reveal to much...
AmiGer is offline  
Old 18 February 2004, 12:01   #28
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
I started to try out winuaes debugger on Tosec, stolen data #8 which has a "software error/Task Held" after selecting the diskmag in the menu. It seems that the program goes into an eternal loop which consists of the following lines:

BSET.B #$0007,(A6,$0124) == $00c0039a #Test a bit and set
#Enable & wait for interrupts, user interrupt vector??
STOP.L #$2000
#Is this Branch, always terminate?
BT .B #$ffffffe6 == 00fc0f7c (TRUE)

Any idea how to proceed from here, perhaps Nop out BT?? and see what happens?
Attached Files
File Type: zip trace.zip (3.7 KB, 180 views)
zerohero is offline  
Old 18 February 2004, 12:25   #29
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,588
That is Kickstart's idle-loop which is run when there is nothing else to do..

Most likely reason for task held-message is illegal instruction, address error etc.. exception in loader program
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 February 2004, 14:58   #30
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
You are debugging the ROM... (look at the PC address e.g. $FC0E00...)

You have debugged too far... Which instructions/library calls/direct hardware accesses etc. of the >user< program caused the jump to this routine... !?
AmiGer is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 00:11   #31
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by AmiGer
For me the best disassembler is IRA.
I have to agree with this. I tried Resource - the so-called creme de la creme of Dissasembling, even v6. No luck whatsoever. I'm sure if you know what you are doing this is the better dissasembler (manuals anyone!?) but IRA worked the first time.....well, actually the second when I downloaded the latter version.

Make sure you get from Aminet the 1.05 version named "ira105_src.lha" as it does contain the exe too, and not the older 1.02 version.
 
Old 19 February 2004, 07:58   #32
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim
I have to agree with this. I tried Resource - the so-called creme de la creme of Dissasembling, even v6. No luck whatsoever.
I don't know "Resource". Is it only for disassembling or for resource extraction, too ? Where can I get it... ? Is it free... ?

Quote:
Make sure you get from Aminet the 1.05 version named "ira105_src.lha" as it does contain the exe too, and not the older 1.02 version..
Sorry, the newest version is 1.07beta. No sources or manual available (lost by author). I don't know the differences but this version is from 1997... Please PM who's interested...
AmiGer is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 08:50   #33
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
>That is Kickstart's idle-loop which is run when there is nothing else to do..

Yep, that explains the eternal loop, i'll continue debugging tonight
I'll set my breakpoints a bit earlier.

I'll upload Resource to the zone if you want it..?
zerohero is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 08:58   #34
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally posted by zerohero
i'll continue debugging tonight
Good luck.

Quote:
I'll upload Resource to the zone if you want it..?
I found V5 on my own but if you have a newer one (what is the newest ?) an upload would be nice...
AmiGer is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 11:12   #35
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
I think 6.06 is the newest version and i have applied a hex patch found on aminet, can't find it now, but i will upload what i have
when i get home from work
zerohero is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 12:16   #36
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
Resource 6.06 + patch + manual is in the zone..
zerohero is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 14:47   #37
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by zerohero
Resource 6.06 + patch + manual is in the zone..
Thanks

Will see how far I get with this one.....
 
Old 19 February 2004, 14:55   #38
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Thanks from me, too.

For me it looks like V5 but with big installation process and many addons...
Unfortunately it seems that it can't handle overlay hunks completely, but it's good anyway...
AmiGer is offline  
Old 19 February 2004, 23:31   #39
zerohero
Registered User
 
zerohero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: schtaan/sweden
Posts: 57
Ok... i have had another debugging session and i started this time setting breakpoints in the menu selection loop and it seems
to be an illegal instruction.

JSR.L (A6,$fdd8) == $00dfedd8 # prefetch fdd8 (ILLEGAL) 4eae (JSR), is this a failed memory alloc? AlloAbs(bytesize,location)(d0,a1)

The offset $fdd8 seems too large? is it two complement btw?

See attached logfile for more details.
Attached Files
File Type: zip log2.zip (2.8 KB, 190 views)
zerohero is offline  
Old 20 February 2004, 08:08   #40
AmiGer
Registered User
 
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
prefetch fdd8 (ILLEGAL) 4eae (JSR)
0005e494 4eae fdd8 JSR.L (A6,$fdd8) == $00c0004e
next PC: 0005e498

I don't know anything about these prefetch messages (ask Toni) but this JSR is
a standard exec _LVOOpenLibrary and that call was ok in your debug session (look at the return address in D0)...
It opens the dos.library !
The $FDD8 is not a large value. It's just a negative word: _LVOOpenLibrary EQU -552

The second JSR is an dos.library LoadSeg:
_LVOLoadSeg EQU -150

Then the program jumps into this new loaded routine.
Your fault is that you are debugging with the command "z" at the last JSR (A0). Use "t" and continue debugging...

Which disk image you're using exactly ?
AmiGer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assembler for Amiga OS 3.9 NubeCheCorre support.Other 2 22 February 2012 01:39
Amiga Macro Assembler Canyon Matt request.Apps 0 06 January 2009 18:40
Total Amiga Assembler pmc Coders. General 7 24 May 2007 09:40
Comp Pro Amiga Classix Bundle amigakit.com MarketPlace 1 15 November 2006 02:27
comp.sys.amiga.games kolorabi Amiga scene 19 29 September 2003 19:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:04.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.19430 seconds with 14 queries