English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 November 2022, 06:42   #21
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 683
You can try building https://github.com/mheyer32/ADoom
As part of the build process it'll build doomsound_midi.library (and also CAMDoomSound). This version of ADoom is modified to look for doomsound_midi.library first, before looking for doomsound.library.
doomsound_midi.library library behaves the same way as doomsound.library except it'll play the music through CAMD.

Alternatively you can try starting CAMDoomSound before starting ADoom. CAMDoomSound will load doomsound.library and patch it to play the music through CAMD.

I have uploaded CAMDoomSound to the zone.
pipper is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 08:24   #22
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,860
Ah thx a lot pipper, I'll try this!
vulture is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 21:16   #23
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,860
@pipper

Thx to your help I've managed to make ADoom and DoomAttack to work too

One last question if I may, any idea how I could make native games (ie King's Quest V) to output sound correctly, cuse right now it's a mess? I guess they output @31250 and my PC com expects 38400 and that's why the music is garbled.

One idea is to get a usb-serial ftdi based converter, which is supposed to support 31250, any opinions on this?

Again, thx!
vulture is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 21:35   #24
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 683
These games probably don’t use CAMD and talk to the serial port directly. If there’s no way to redirect their output to another serial device, the only option would be to patch the game such that it talks 38400 to the serial port… this requires some hacking skills, but it might not be too hard. AFAIR, Sierra games use a small “driver” for music output, so disassembling and patching that one could be done fairly easily(??)

On the PC side one can then use a Serial-to-MIDI bridge like “Hairless” and forward the serial input stream to MUNT.

The beauty of this setup would be that no midi cable is needed. One can directly feed the PC via a simple NullModem cable.
For games that use CAMD in such a setup, I put a “NullModem” serial CAMD driver in the zone some time ago. Place it under DEVS:Midi/ and use the CAMD’s MidiPrefs program to select “NullModem” as driver. NullModem will spit out the midi stream at 38400 to the serial output.
pipper is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 21:40   #25
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,860
@pipper

Yes, I already have done that thanks to your help and your driver in another thread

Yes, Sierra games have a built-in driver to talk to the serial, I think it's the same for every game too, so, I think if you manage to make it work @38400, those will work correctly with a simple null modem cable!
vulture is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 21:55   #26
Aardvark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
One idea is to get a usb-serial ftdi based converter, which is supposed to support 31250, any opinions on this?
I use this solution. The FTDI driver needs to be hacked to support 31250 though, which then can cause problems with other devices that uses FTDI. Otherwise it works really well, even with Mac games via Shapeshifter.
Hack instructions for FTDI: https://forum.arduino.cc/t/midi-direct-via-usb/22119/3
Aardvark is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 22:09   #27
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,700
I have it from an MD that MIDI sound canvases causes actual damage to the ears, to the point where the listener can no longer hear the difference between good sounds and terrible sounds anymore.

Was gonna say, it'll be a list of PC ports, in some ways it's understandable that they had to suffer through MIDI sound canvases since AdLib was very expensive. On the other hand every PC user spent $2500-$4000 upgrading until their games ran half decent. Just not the sound card. And not components to run games well either. Kinda mad that they spent so much money on a home computer that could only do work.
Photon is offline  
Old 02 November 2022, 23:29   #28
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,860
@Aardvark

thx for the link m8

@Photon

vulture is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 09:19   #29
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 683
I put a modified mt32_38400.drv into the Zone. Tested with SpaceQuestIV; but it should work with other Sierra games, too(?).
It will set the serial port to 38400 baud and thus allow to redirect the Amiga's MIDI stream over a nullmodem cable to a PC running, for instance, MUNT.
As stated earlier one needs a Serial-to-Midi bridge on the PC side; I use the "Hairless MIDI-Serial bridge" tool for that.
pipper is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 10:12   #30
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,860
That's awesome pipper! Thank you so much!
vulture is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 10:36   #31
drHirudo
Amiga user
 
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 472
Thanks for the list. I plan to make playthrough videos of these games, with audio output to my Korg PA50 with MIDI interface. I remember (will check again) that I was able to make King's Quest (not sure if the original game or the remake) to work with MIDI by renaming one of the libraries on the disk. Will check again for my hack, if only I can find the Gotek with the USB flash drive on it.
Is it possible to make other Sierra games to work with MIDI by renaming the libraries?
drHirudo is offline  
Old 13 December 2022, 20:22   #32
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 683
There’s typically an “Install” program in the games’s directory. Running it after the actual install allows you to update the name of the sound driver - no need to rename the driver file itself! The installer just writes the name into a text file next to the game executable. You could also edit this file manually.
pipper is offline  
Old 31 August 2023, 10:57   #33
mahen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 473
Hi ! I'd be interested in a recent build of doomsound_midi.library outputting to external MIDI devices :-)
I tried the patch in the zone, but I couldn't get it to work properly. I get midi music in ADoom but no more SFX and display got super slow (I guess the CAMD rerouting takes tons of CPU time ?). Couldn't get it to work in DoomAttack...
(A1230@50 + SC55mk2)

Also, which .MID player would you recommend (with CAMD support) ? Apart from the command line one from CAMD_Toolkit... Thx a lot !

Last edited by mahen; 31 August 2023 at 11:21.
mahen is offline  
Old 07 November 2023, 10:34   #34
Seiya
Registered User
 
Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzball View Post


List (in progress):

Castle of Dr. Brain
Chocoloate Doom port by Novacoder (includes Heretic, Hexen and Strife)
Conquests of the Longbow
Descent (Christian Sauer's port)
Duke Nukem 3D (AmiDuke RTG version only)
Gold of the Realm
Heroes Of Might and Magic II
Hoyle's Official Book of Games: Volume 3
King's Quest (1991 remake)
King's Quest V
Leisure Suit Larry 5: Passionate Patti Does a Little Undercover Work
Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards (1991 remake)
Mixed Up Mother Goose (1991 remake)
OpenDune
Police Quest III
Quest for Glory II: Trial by Fire
ScummVM port Novacoder
Space Quest (1991 remake)
Space Quest III
Space Quest IV
Ultima VII (Exult port by Novacoder)
this are the only games that support midi from original developers. New games that are ported from PC to Amiga could support MIDI through Camd.library as many PC games support MIDI.
Me too i try to search for other titles, but it seems that this list could be finished.
Well, i can add that also recent port of Dark Forces use midi with camd.library as option.

Last edited by Seiya; 07 November 2023 at 10:50.
Seiya is offline  
Old 07 November 2023, 10:48   #35
derSammler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,667
When talking about original games, only the Sierra titles from around 1989-1992 support MIDI on the Amiga. That's it. Which is a shame, given that the Sierra games suck on the Amiga anyway. They are better be played on a PC.

Modern ports like Descent, Duke3D, Blood etc. often have music packs in OGG format ready that have music recorded from an SC-55/88, so MIDI support is not needed even when present (unless you can't play OGG due to performance).

IMO, MIDI and Amiga just don't fit together well.
derSammler is offline  
Old 07 November 2023, 10:52   #36
Seiya
Registered User
 
Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by derSammler View Post

IMO, MIDI and Amiga just don't fit together well.
i agreed
Seiya is offline  
Old 07 November 2023, 10:56   #37
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee
 
TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 32,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by derSammler View Post
When talking about original games, only the Sierra titles from around 1989-1992 support MIDI on the Amiga. That's it.
TCD is online now  
Old 07 November 2023, 16:17   #38
Estrayk
Registered User
 
Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 517
"Gold of the realm" and "Lost Dutchman Mine" both have MIDI in Atari ST, seeing that this one: Gold of the realm, have Amiga MIDI, maybe Lost Dutchman Mine too. anyone can check it?
Estrayk is offline  
Old 07 November 2023, 16:28   #39
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee
 
TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 32,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
"Gold of the realm" and "Lost Dutchman Mine" both have MIDI in Atari ST, seeing that this one: Gold of the realm, have Amiga MIDI, maybe Lost Dutchman Mine too. anyone can check it?
The notes in French indicate that MIDI support is only available on the ST: https://amiga.abime.net/games/view/l...n-mine#manuals
TCD is online now  
Old 07 November 2023, 16:46   #40
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,482
It might be advantageous to add midi as either a feature or audio in the Advanced features of HOL?
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
add midi/MT32 support jotd HOL suggestions and feedback 24 26 April 2020 10:58
FS-UAE and midi support? shax71 support.FS-UAE 16 29 December 2019 19:19
Amiga Tracker with MIDI support? 1230/32 Hellrun Amiga scene 21 10 June 2012 03:44
Scummvm amiga port with native midi support? Lutz G support.Games 2 07 March 2010 22:10
What was the first Amiga tracker to support external midi instruments Kola Amiga scene 3 09 December 2008 19:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:55.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15297 seconds with 13 queries